We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the gables for 1 night for the wedding fayre. From the minute you step into the hotel from the staff to the rooms and food was impeccable could not fault anything . We are both very excited for our family and friends to discover this gem when we get married in june x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review.Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay prior to the wedding fayre.
We will see you in June for your wedding celebrations,

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    181
    75
    38
    17
See reviews for
207
468
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A party of eight went to the gables for a wedding for new year 2014. On arrival we received tea and cream cakes and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and of a good standard. The food is excellent and there is plenty of it, during our stay there way entertainment consisting of a disco and singer.

The hotel is a short walk from the shopping centre and located near the motorway. Overall a very enjoyable and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjcBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Many thanks for your review and your party of eight enjoyed your stay at The Gables and you had a most enjoyable and memorable stay.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We chose this hotel for our wedding guests 20 including ourselves to stay for two nights and our wedding venue for the reception as had the best reviews in Gretna! It is in a brilliant location, ten minutes drive from the rail station. A 5-10 minute walk from the Gretna wedding bureau, hairdressers, florist, bakers etc and 5minute drive to Gretna Green Blacksmiths workshop where we got married.
The staff were friendly and couldn't have been anymore helpful- I often phoned before our wedding with questions and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were fantastic- only criticism was depending where your room was you could hear loud people in the wedding function rooms into early hours of the morning or perhaps just the fact they were being inconsiderate. Food was good both in the bar, at breakfast and for our wedding meal- breakfast was exceptional. The only thing was we kept having to get our own drinks during the reception as they don't provide you with a waiter to keep you topped up. However, having a tab at the bar and pre-ordering drinks for the table beforehand was beneficial. They catered well for children and although we don't recall seeing a lift when it came to bringing our luggage in the hotel we were able to park around the side of the hotel closer to where our room was upstairs. The bridal suite was lovely as was its en suite with jacuzzi corner bath! Only wish we were there longer! The hotel had a fab back garden but due to the weather we couldn't go out there. We used the borders restaurant for our reception room and this was better than expected- more intimate and just the right amount of room for our guests, cake table etc. It was beautifully decorated by Gretna flower basket, they did a fantastic job plus did it themselves so we didn't have to worry.
I also had a local wedding dress steam service come to the hotel to do my dress on the eve of our wedding- it seems a well organised town with local businesses of all descriptions going to great lengths to make a couples wedding day go smoothly.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone getting married or not.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

How pleasing to read your review ,and you had a great experience here at The Gables for your wedding,and that we are an ideal venue , I also agree that Gretna is a well organised area whom local businesses of all descriptions cater for guests and go to great lengths to ensure that all goes smoothly and hopefully take some of the stresses away.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed just one night at this hotel and it was just excellent. From the moment we arrived the staff were great. The room was lovely and spacious and the food certainly did not disappoint. They even had Warsteiner, one of my favourite German biers on draught. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungerSchwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you kindly for the lovely review that you have left us.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests at the Hotel & we will be delighted to have you come back and stay with us again.
Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very nice hotel and the receptionist was very nice,we hadn,t booked but got a very nice room.













Lovely room the receptionist was very helpful we had not booked just arrived hoping.We ate in the bar and the food was very good.Just one downside the walls in the rooms are paper thin you can hear tv,talking etc.And most of all something on doors to stop them slamming shut.We always manage to get a room next door to people who will let the doors slam.

Room Tip: We were at the front but not bothered by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishpastyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi CornishpastyCorn

Many thanks for the nice review that you have left us. We as a Hotel have taken your review on board regarding the Banging Doors and hope to have this rectified in the near future.
Please do come and stay with us again if you are ever in the area.
Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We ate a family meal at The Gables in Gretna last night and the food was incredibly disappointing and very poor. Reheated and days old at best, 'hand cut' fresh chips were questionable and the oil had not been changed for a long time. Prawn cocktail was 6 prawns on a very uninspiring salad which worked out at £1 per prawn. What made it so disappointing was the boasting about the top chef being one of the top 300 master chefs in the country and how if there was any problem with the food how they pride themselves on wanting feedback. Feedback was met with apathy at best and the chef didn't acknowledge our complaint. 5 out of 6 dishes returned half eaten. We paid and left a tip for the serving staff who were lovely and friendly and have had to resort to trip advisor as the complaint was completely unacknowledged by the kitchen staff. Do not eat here if you genuinely are looking for good local sourced food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Head Chef at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review online as I take all comments seriously. Firstly please accept my deepest apologies for your disappointment on Friday evening. I know you dont want to hear excuses but unfortunately we had a very difficult service in the kitchen , we had a couple of pieces of equipment go just before service, I know this wont make up for your disappointment but may help to explain some of the reason.

I was not informed of your disappointment until later on in the evening and by this time your party had already departed. If I had known earlier I certainly would have come out and spoken with you and tried to resolve the situation there and then as I am sure you will agree if we could of done something on the night we may have avoided you going away disappointed.

Please once again accept my apologies and if you would give us another chance if visiting the area , I will ensure im on duty and speak to you .

I have only been here a few weeks and now in the position to start making changes and I hope if you do give us another try that you may become a regular customer

Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I got married at the Anvil Hall Gretna Green this week. we all stayed at The Gables Hotel, Gretna Green and also had the Wedding reception at the Gables. I cant praise the Hotel enough, it was spotlessly clean, beautiful bedrooms, excellent food and the staff couldn't do enough to help us all. If we ever go to Gretna again we will definitely be staying there.

Room Tip: The Bridal suite is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi

We are so pleased and happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding here at The Gables , The Bridal suite is lovely especially for a wedding or celebration. See you next time you are in the area or your 1st anniversary.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
The Gables Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing