We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just come back from a night away at this hotel and what excellent value it was. The room was spotless and comfortable and our evening meal was of a very high standard. The staff were all very friendly and the hotel had a welcoming feel. The grounds are well kept, with a mass of lovely bedding plants coming into bloom. All in all an excellent break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747DebraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review , and in all had an excellent break

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    175
    72
    37
    17
See reviews for
203
461
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Searched for a hotel from Castle Douglas to Gretna, they were overpriced or shabby that is until we found the Gables. Nice welcome from Aimee, and a good price (well it was a Sunday Night and not a lot going on). We ate in the Bar, good food, excellent attentive service and reasonable prices. We had to leave early the next morning and breakfast was ready at 07.00 which was half an hour ahead of the stated time. Room was sparkling and had everything, nice and quiet and a good nights sleep. Plenty of safe parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewhoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi
Many thanks for your review ,
Lovely to read that you had a nice welcome and enjoyed your visit.

JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as part of a wedding party. The welcome was lovely and extremely friendly. The entrance to hotel is clean and well set out.

The normal double rooms are quite basic and more like a small B&B standard. The furniture is old fashioned pine and the beds aren't the most comfortable. Bedding also needs to be replaced as duvet and pillows were very thin. The rooms really should be priced around £70 and no more. The rooms are very clean and functional.

The rest of the hotel is very clean and again well set out. The garden and surrounding seating area are well set out. The outside needs more seats to accommodate the number of guests at the hotel.

Breakfast was prompt and very good.

Staff very polite and smart.

I wouldn't stay at hotel again but only due to high cost of bedroom but all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsonn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi

Thanks for your comments in which we have taken on board, overall thank you for a pleasant review.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at The Gables for two nights and held our wedding reception there and couldn't have picked a better hotel.
The staff were friendly, professional and really helped our wedding day go off without a hitch. The Dovetail suite was just the right size for our small party of 10 and we were so glad we didn't go elsewhere.
Just one thing, although it didn't affect us, be aware that the function rooms are quite close together, so check if there are any other weddings on the same day and what time.
But all in all, a fantastic hotel and staff, whom we can't thank enough for all of the effort they put in.

Dave & Lisa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi
Thank you very much for your review , we are all pleased that you had a perfect wedding.
Hopefully see you again

Many Thanks
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the first time I had been in the gables and I must say from the outside it looks impressive, but unless you are there for a formal occasion its ok but not amazing. Went there for a meal and was expecting to be blown away with the food and table etc... to find we were sat on plain wooden (very plain) tables right by the door. Staff not exactly looking like they wanted you there, when served service was ok and food disappointing. Ordered this vegetable tempura after my first choice wasn't available, to find it was mainly blooming peppers, one mushroom maybe a piece of broccoli as well. Oh and no sweet chilli sauce, of course I wasn't even told this till after it arrived and got this almost sloppy sauce instead which tasted horrid. Main meal was ok, I expect if you asked there is a more formal, fancy area which we were kept away from. Haven't gone back yet so it might have changed by now but just don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review ,Since your last visit the bar menu has changed twice, and we also have a new chef, The bar area in which you dined was recently refurbished with hand made wood bespoke table and chairs , We hope you will dine with us again to sample our new bistro menu , or if you prefer more formal surroundings please reserve a table for our table d hote restaurant.

Kind regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely night at the Gables hotel. Staff were very helpful. We had a really tasty dinner and lovely big family lunch the following day.?The room was very clean and fresh. There was a huge fancy bath tub in our room too.

Will definitely go again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joboydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi

Great to read a lovely review, Hopefully see you again on a repeat visit.

Many thanks
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding.. and wow what a stay it was for ariving to the moment we left was total amazing.

We arrived on a thursday and as soon as we arrived we where greeted wi a big smile and very friendly polite and helpfull staff. Within a matter of monents we where greeted by caroll the wedding planner at the hotel to discuss our plans for the next day she also was amazing..

The bridal room we had was fantastic and could not off wished for more very cleaned and spacious and the bath what can i say wow!!!

Our wedding day was totally perfect and can not thank james and the rest of the staff enough for everything they did you all made our day truely amazing!!! All our 30 guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to!!

This hotel is worth its weight in gold my partner and i can not thankyou all enough for everything you did for us our wedding was perfect bliss in which we have memories which will last a lifetime..

Can i also send a big thankyou to all at the gretna wedding bureau u guys made everything possible also john the piper your amazing, the 2 hairdressers from hype that came and made me and my family look beautiful sorry guys can not remember your names and last but not least tartan carriages simon zoe what can i say you guys and your horses are also worth you weight in gold words can not explain how amazing you guys truely are thankyou for everything.. and to anyone we forgot thankyou.

A truely magical stay at a stunning hotel!!!

Rachael and angela x

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rachybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi

Wow... What a wonderful review , It is a pleasure that we exceeded your expectations and you both had a fabulous time.

Many Thanks

JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
The Gables Hotel Gretna, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing