We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bar meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gretna Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bar meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went there about a month ago for a bar meal.Turns out that Thursday is also steak night along with bar meals and specials board.We decided to try the steaks(on offer at £25 for two AND a bottle of wine)! Have been again since and would recommend on value for money and good food

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    53
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
86
85
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our parents and brothers on 13th and 14th December for our wedding. I am so glad I chose the Gretna Chase as part of our wedding package as the hotel is superb and the staff are an absolute credit - very friendly and cant do enough for you. My husband and I stayed in the Paulo and Francesca suite which is amazing, the nicest room we have ever stayed in - it has a four-poster bed and a huge jacuzzi bath with a massive TV and DVD player! We also had complimentary Guylian chocolates and sherry in the room. All the meals we had were so tasty and perfectly cooked, the breakfasts were lovely and our wedding meal of steak and dauphinoise potatoes was the best meal I've ever had - I am so impressed! We really cant thank you enough for making our special day so perfect and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Paulo + Francesca suite is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katemichelle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

stayed 13/14 dec for daughters wedding, staff could'nt do enough for us to make our stay a memorable one,excellent service,good food,clean rooms, would highly recommend a visit, it was our first but it won't be our last.you have staff to be proud of.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking, nearly missed a good meal and a good nights sleep as it looked too cheap, it is worth many times more than I paid. Friendly Staff, Quality Surroundings, Good Food. The cheese and onion soup is excellent, and you did read that right. I will go back, even if I had to pay full price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We popped in to the hotel for a quick lunch on Tuesday this week...we had a lovely light lunch which was excellent..the shock came when I paid the bill which was £4.60 for four cups of tea out of a pot of tea for two..we thought this was excessive and mentioned this to the waitress who just said that's the price..I looked through the menus and couldn't find a price anywhere..it makes costa look cheap!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsparkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We often visit the Gretna Gateway outlet, and always make a point of calling in to the Gretna Chase for lunch.
Called in Yesterday after doing some christmas shopping. It was fairly busy, and i opted for one of their lunch specials - cumberland sausage with mashed potato and onion gravy. Partner went for one of the board specials - smoked haddock fishcakes with chips. It was only after i had ordered that i realised i had opted for one of the supposedly smaller portion options - but i neednt have worried - as always the portions at Gretna Chase are very generous - my meal was served in a soup plate with creamy mashed potato, delicious cumberland sausage and really tasty gravy - plenty for a lunch. partner had two large fishcakes, serves with a wee bucket of hand cut chips, and lots of fresh veg - cabbage cooked with bacon, carrots and brocolli. Nothing fancy but everything piping hot, cooked well, and very tasty.
Service was also good. Only thing i think could be improved is the seating in the bar area - many of the small stools are very shaky and i think some new seating is called for. Thats just a small point, overall this is a great place to stop off for a lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Gretna Chase Hotel for three days in November 2013. We were married at the Crichton Church, and we used the Gretna Chase as our home base. It is a quaint hotel, within walking distance of the Outlet Mall and the wedding bureau. The hotel staff are helpful and affable people. The restaurant food is delicious (be sure to have the chicken/leek/bacon pie and the BLT)--and the chef was kind enough to write out a recipe for me. Our room the first night (our wedding eve) was a regular double room, and it was very nice, but the Adam and Eve Bridal suite that we stayed in for the remaining two nights was absolutely fabulous. The Jacuzzi bathtub was a special treat: very relaxing. I highly recommend staying in the bridal suite. Our one slight concern was that the shower drain seemed to be clogged, and we had to take extremely quick showers to avoid standing in a pool of water, but it was a negligible concern. The bathtub more than made up for the clogged shower. We very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank English18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Chase Hotel

Property: The Gretna Chase Hotel
Address: Gretna Chase Hotel Sark Bridge, Gretna DG16 5JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gretna Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Scottish / English border, Gretna Green is world famous for its runaway marriages and in the mid nineteenth century there was much rivalry between the various marriage house proprietors ... The Gretna Chase Hotel was built by John Murray, an extremely successful businessman in the marriage trade, and tenant of Allison's toll-bar. Completed in 1856, Murray built the hotel opposite the toll-bar. It proved very popular with clients, being the first in the area to offer stabling for horses. Today, The Gretna Chase Hotel offers modern amenities, but retains much of its original character. All bedrooms have pleasant views of the surrounding countryside, and public rooms are furnished in a style in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Fully licensed, privately owned and completely supervised by the owners, this small but extremely comfortable hotel offers the discerning guest a carefree informality away from city pressures. We would be delighted to show you around the hotel by appointment , to highlight all the facilities we have to offer and discuss your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gretna Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gretna Chase Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing