We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY HERE”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE IN A MILLION YEARS AGAIN The hotel was average at best but it was the sheer bad management and total lack of respect shown to myself and clients which blew me away I honestly thought I was on a windup show!!! The rudeness shown was almost playground. The manager and his wife were beyond rude to everyone and I'll be very suprised if the place isn't closed by the end of the year. I would hate it if the spoiled anyones Big day with their god awful attitude.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank jazz099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    55
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
88
87
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

we stayed at the Gretna Chase hotel for my best friends wedding, so decided to for a bit of luxury to book one of the three bridal suites, one arrival the receptionist was helpful and we went to our room, which looked very nice but was quite cold, which we understood as it is in scotland in an open place, so we put up the radiators to full pelt, only for it to get warm at 11.30, the next night we found that the heating had been turned off, and yes as the receptionsit rightly said she fixed that, but had the heating not been turned off there would have been no need.and on the last day the hot water ran out not much good complaining when your halfway through a shower and all you want to do is go home

when you looked closer at the room all i can say is that had i been the one who had been married and stayed i would have been most upset, the bathroom walls have what looks like damp patches behind the wallpaper, the bedroom ceiling has a large crack and tear in it and one of the main window curtains seemed to be hanging off, surely someone should have checked this and sorted the defects, and as another reviwer stated the plumbing makes a horrendous noise, the bed was large and comfortable, you received complimentary robes and chocolates but i dont think it was worth the extra money we paid.

The food was almost spot on, we had room service, from the bar menu, my partner said that the pastry was the best he had ever tasted (he is a chef) and i had delicious scampi with a gorgeous home made tartare sauce, the only let down was the cooked breakfast, the sausages look anemic the bacon was streaky so very fatty but the coffee toast and cereal was good, and the staff were very friendly.

Overall not a bad hotel,short walk to shops, outlet centre, so not cut off, staff again courteous and friendlyish, but the bridal suite was the biggest let down

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badwolf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Stayed and held our wedding reception here from 04/04/08-06/04/08. It was excellent ours and our guests rooms (the double delux) were brilliant lovely and clean and spacious gorgeous bathrooms with seperate bath and shower. Breakfast was really nice, Bar meals were lovely and our wedding reception meal was just absolutely brilliant, food was really good and very nicely presented. could not fault it at all,. The staff were also very friendly and never made us feel not welcome.
The gardens are really well kept and if your staying for a wedding they make an excellent backdrop for photos, kids are also safe as there is no immediate access onto the main road from the lawns (although i dont think kids are allowed to be left running riot in the gardens as as i said they are very well kept!).
We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet bridal suite on our wedding night-very traditional room bed very comfy, excellent views over the countryside towards the sea. Only one complaint which is the noise from the bathroom (drains) when you empty water from the sink/bath or flush the loo. We would stay here again and reckon it is the nicest hotel in Gretna Green to hold a wedding reception. All our wedding party enjoyed their stay and were comfortable.

  • Liked — Ver clean and spacious traditional features
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We stayed at this hotel the year before for our Wedding. We had the Paola & Francesca Suite. The room was wonderful, big sumptuous four-poster, huge spa bath, chocolates, decanter of sherry..infact anything you could want.

We went back the year after, just for an overnight get away. They remembered us..and during Dinner (in our room!!) we were sent a bottle of chilled champagne with the hotels compliments!

We have stayed in a couple of Gretna hotels, but none ever come up to the standard of The Gretna Chase!

  • Liked — The bed & the bath!!!!! ; )
  • Disliked — Coming home!!
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilsonx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gretna Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gretna Chase Hotel

Property: The Gretna Chase Hotel
Address: Gretna Chase Hotel Sark Bridge, Gretna DG16 5JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gretna Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Scottish / English border, Gretna Green is world famous for its runaway marriages and in the mid nineteenth century there was much rivalry between the various marriage house proprietors ... The Gretna Chase Hotel was built by John Murray, an extremely successful businessman in the marriage trade, and tenant of Allison's toll-bar. Completed in 1856, Murray built the hotel opposite the toll-bar. It proved very popular with clients, being the first in the area to offer stabling for horses. Today, The Gretna Chase Hotel offers modern amenities, but retains much of its original character. All bedrooms have pleasant views of the surrounding countryside, and public rooms are furnished in a style in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Fully licensed, privately owned and completely supervised by the owners, this small but extremely comfortable hotel offers the discerning guest a carefree informality away from city pressures. We would be delighted to show you around the hotel by appointment , to highlight all the facilities we have to offer and discuss your personal requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gretna Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gretna Chase Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing