We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restful weekend”

Old Home Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sparkwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Home Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Sparkwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This B&B in darkest Devon is an absolute gem. Penny and Dragon are wonderful hosts who make you feel at home from the moment you arrive.
We arrived on a friday having travelled over 5 hours from Thame and feeling slightly weary. We were greated by a two friendly if not very busy faces and Penny and Dragon bake (what seems like for the whole village" fresh bread and pizza's.
I highly recommend this B&B if you like to relax and have a chilled chat over a glass of wine with lovely home made food. The breakfast was lovely with home made grenolla and yoghurt, fruit compote and also smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
We were booked into the Treby Arms, which is 1 min walk down the road, on sat night for supper which was exceptional as well. All in all a great weekend away in Devon.
Em and Nick

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a huge fan of The Old Cottage's bakery.

As a local I have not stayed at the B and B personally but I was cheeky enough to ask to be shown the rooms when we attended a family baking workshop.

They seemed peaceful and quaint, my favourite being the one with the old safe in the room.

The owners are really great bakers and I can only imagine waking up to the smell of their bread would give a smile to any visitor!

My insiders tip- book a Friday as they do great pizzas!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here last night and just had to give a great review. Penny and Dragan are so friendly and welcoming. The Garden Room was lovely with everything you need. Bottled water each side of the bed, tea and coffee facilities with a jar of shortbread on the side. The bed was very comfortable and made up with fresh, crisp, white linen covers. You can expect a beautiful home-made breakfast as they both teach bread-making in their home. Ours consisted of home-made muesli, grains, fruit compote and yogurt. Also freshly made bread and conserves. Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon is made in front if you if you want a cooked breakfast. Everything is served elegantly. To be honest we felt very much like real house guests with Penny and Dragan chatting as she cooked. We'd definitely recommend this as one if the best B&B we've stayed at in the past.
The Bakers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomswithviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Found this lovely place because we were visiting The Treby Arms and it is on that website. Penny and Dragan are the hosts and are very warm and engaging - we had a really good conversation over breakfast about bread and organic food ethics! We stayed in the Garden Room - wonderfully comfortable big double bed and although not centrally heated we were easily warm enough with the use of the portable radiator (make sure you unplug this at night otherwise it makes pinging noises!) No shower but big deep bath (complimentary bath soak and soaps). Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous - wonderful tea (assam/Earl Grey mix), juice, quality grain cereals, lush yoghurt and jams, dried fruit compote (prunes, orange rind etc - my favourite), gorgeous toast and Penny made some scrumptious fresh soda bread, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (think Penny would done eggs otherwise if you had wanted). It might be worth checking ahead with Penny and Dragan about use of the lovely sitting room with real fire - it might not always be convenient for them to share what is part of their living area. They sell take-away pizzas on a Friday night - we didn't use but they look gorgeous if the pictures are anything to go by. They also run bread cookery schools and I think sell bread locally in the village. They've sent us links to bread making since we returned home. We'd definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SearchForGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not the easiest place to find on the internet - in the end I found a link on the nearby masterchef-run Treby Arms' site. The Old Home Cottage website describes it perfectly and I felt instantly at home on entering.

Until the internet can allow us to experience taste, texture and smell it may help to know that the breakfast was quite amazing with its freshly baked bread, butter (not 'spread'), perfect scrambled eggs, home-made Seville orange marmalade, fruit compote, granola and so on.

They do a fair trade in their own pizzas on a Friday night and also provide an evening meal on request.

For me, much depends on the hospitable welcome provided and the interesting and charming hosts just top it all.

All was quiet and comfortable and warm. There are only two rooms for guests so I'll be pretty disappointed if they are full next time I need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy_Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Home Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Home Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Old Home Cottage, Sparkwell PL7 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sparkwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sparkwell
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique bed and breakfast in 200-year old cottage on the edge of Dartmoor National Park yet only 25 minutes drive from the fabulous South Devon Coast. Beams, wooden floors, wood burning stove, vintage fabric, bags of warmth and character. Also home to The Artisan Bakery School, so guaranteed great breads for breakfast! Fabulous foodie pub 5 mins stroll away. Large private gardens for relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Home Cottage Bed And Breakfast Sparkwell, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing