We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Crake Trees Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crake Trees Manor
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Myself and fiancee booked this for my birthday and our last break before our wedding in 5 weeks time. Just what we needed- we stayed in the shephards hut which is a wonderful consturcktion with a small and mighty stove. We have a stove at home and were both taken by surprise how much heat it can kick out! The bed although high(for the vertical challanged) is one of the most comfortable we have slept in and was large enough for both of us.
The surroundings of the hut are beautiful, the house, the ruins with Millie the horse and the cows in the field. Aswell as the two cats who made friends with and the 3 resident dogs, one whom made friends with us at breakfast and was lovely.
Breakfast was brilltant and accomdating for those with allegies, the separate bathroom and tv room was ace,clean and lovely decorated. Mike's wood work which is used though the hut and the house is fantastic and the table in the dinning room is amazing.
A must stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay at Crake Trees manor.
You both seemed to get the hang of the stove, it certainly is very efficient.
the lovely pictures are appreciated also
......ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Crake Trees Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent two nights recently at Crake Trees Manor and if it is any evidence of a larger trend then something amazing has happened to the world of bed and breakfast establishments. This is a superb getaway nestled in the midst of fantastic yet easy walks. One comes back to a beautifully appointed space with a marked Scandinavian flavour that is also Cumbrian. Excellent food within easy walking distance at the extremely friendly community owned pub the butchers arms. The breakfasts were to die for. The hosts are helpful, charming, knowledgeable but not intrusive. We stayed in the hugely romantic Shepherd's hut, which was extremely special. In short I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Thank you to the Tuers for a wonderful few days! We will be back!

Room Tip: The shepherd's hut is fabulous but has no electricity and the facilities are across the courtyar...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picky_and_discerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Will be back the Shepard’s hut is quite a magical place to stay and you are made most welcome by Ruth & Mike.
Breakfast is excellent you won’t go hungry

Room Tip: The rooms for B&B are very nice but for a stay with a difference try the Shepards hut.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We've just returned home from a 1 nights stay in the Shepherds Hut. We came down from the mountains in blizzard conditions not really knowing what to expect of the Hut, but oh boy were we surprised. It is just fabulous. Comfy, clean, cosy and warm--our little nest! We slept like logs in gale force conditions, even our dog did not stir.
Butchers Arms pub is highly recommended, food and drink spot on.
Our host Ruth sent us on our way after a wonderful breakfast, eaten in the amazing barn.
We can't wait to go back again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The shepherds hun was stunning,it was so tranquil.The views were fantastic,the facilities in and out of the hut were spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkangelcake71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut which was quaint and very comfortable. The views from the hut were beautiful and the setting was ideal for celebrating our anniversary. It rained during the night, but we weren't disturbed. The cake on arrival was lovely and the facilities were ideal. We'd recommend this place for a holiday in lovely surroundings. Good value for money, lovely breakfast. We were booked into the local pub for dinner, it was a lovely place with excellent food for a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naomi_B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I am reluctant to share Crake Trees with everyone, because it is a little place of blissful relaxation that we don't really want to share. We arrived in the wind and rain to a very warm welcome. We stayed in Micklebank in a super comfy bed with pillows you sink in to. The Butchers arms...0.7 miles walk, has a good atmosphere and great food. (Booking is advisable). We enjoyed a lovely breakfast around the big wooden table in the company of the other guests and the adorable Jack Russell, Maisie. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVandRueben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosby Ravensworth
5.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
16.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
16.2 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shap
83 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crake Trees Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crake Trees Manor

Address: Crosby Ravensworth | Near Penrith, Crosby Ravensworth CA10 3JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Crosby Ravensworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crosby Ravensworth
Price Range: £94 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crake Trees Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfull barn conversion at the centre of our family farm.Modernist design with an easy mix of antiques modern art and handmade oak furnishings.Bed &, Breakfast in 3 rooms with superb views over the rolling farmland to the mountains beyond. Or sleep in The Shepherds Hut, down by the pond , just right for romantics of adventurous spirit. Crake Trees Manor is remote and peacwfull , yet only 15 mins from the M6 in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crake Trees Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crake Trees Manor Hotel Crosby Ravensworth
Crake Trees Manor Cumbria/Crosby Ravensworth, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing