We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and dogs allowed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Chapel Terrace

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage External living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
The Cottage
External living
The bathroom
The open plan kitchen
Great walks
Beautiful surroundings
Crystal clear water
Dogs welcome
Pets Welcome
Rear view
Stunning scenery
Bedroom
Bedroom
Fantastic area
Dining area
Lots of wonderful walks
St Lawrences Church in the village
Church
Mother nature at her best
Glorious
Scenery
Complimentary selection of toiletries
Rear view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Crosby Ravensworth, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen W
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and dogs allowed”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at chapel terrace for 3 nights, the cottage itself is very tastefully decorated and the owner left freash bread, milk, tea and coffee, upstairs the bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in, again very tastefully decorated . Towels, shampoo , shower gel etc was also supplied. Outside in a spacious garden overlooked by sheep are two sets of garden furniture and the very warm extravagent hot tub which was fantastic,
The village pub is a two minute walk and the locals are very friendly,its a very pretty village with some nice walks and drives, we would highly recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazaratty
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here in August for a week. Such a beautiful place to stay and all amenities were top notch. When we got there we were greeted by the lovely friendly owner who showed us around the cottage and we were even left with bread, milk and butter, such a nice touch.
The cottage is beautiful inside, there is a fabulous fitted kitchen with a huge island in the middle. The bedrooms are spacious, well thought out and beautifully decorated. The bath upstairs has the wow factor! I may have to come back in the winter months just to have a soak in it!
There is also a little hidden luxury as you enter the cottage and that's the shower room. The shower is so powerful, so after any lovely long walks in the local area you can help those muscle unwind.
The garden is large and there are plenty of tables to sit out and have a brunch. Also the hot tub was a bonus with my two girls, they were in it every night, so hot and very comfortable.
There is a wonderful, friendly pub about a five minute walk away from the cottage and the food is unbelievable, especially there Sunday Lunch!! Yum!!
It isn't too much of a drive away from the Lake District too, I would recommend you go to Ulswater Lake, the scenery is outstanding and you won't be dissappointed. They don't tend to rip you off unlike the other lakes which are very commercialised especially Bowness on Windermere.
We also took the dogs which is always a bonus for us it means we can enjoy the holiday even more. Such a wonderful place to stay and I can't wait to go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polster28
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with 5 of my friends in June this year.
We found the cottage very easily thanks to great directions from the owner.
The kitchen is very well equipt and the open plan aspect makes it very spacious. There's plenty of room for 6 adults.
In the welcome pack was a nice bottle of wine which we enjoyed on the patio. That was a nice touch.
The bedrooms are spacious. 2 doubles and a twin and an upstairs bathroom. All decorated and furnished to a high standard. There's also a shower room downstairs,again finished to a high standard.
The hot tub is an added bonus and was enjoyed by us all!
This all looks out onto a lovely big garden.
Just a short walk away is a fantastic pub that does great food if you fancy going out.
All in all this is a great place to stay. It is very rural and tranquil.
I would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren J
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite simply - a stunningly beautiful cottage :)”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Can`t put into words how much we enjoyed our family holiday this year at `ONE CHAPEL TERRACE` It was amazing. The cottage is in a rural setting which was perfect for us as we both work long hours. Modern fittings and movement inside with some beautiful quirky features of the old building still remain. The kitchen and open living area is just amazing - we don`t have that at home so this was a taste of what we might have one day - fingers crossed. Loads of bedroom space for our 2 teenage children who loved lounging around doing nothing but relax....and of coarse we all loved the hot tub. My daily routine for the week was go for a run in the morning, come back, jump in the hot tub, have a lovely shower and then breakfast with my family....It was just bliss, can`t wait to go back next year, we were even allowed to take our 2 little dogs...You will just love it here :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Going home :(
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate K
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pointless”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It's hard for us to get away, care in for my mother, working around everyone's jobs, animals to sort out, you get the picture - so it's important that things go well! Important to me anyway but apparently not to this cottage manager!

I should have known it boded ill when we pulled up at the accommodation, to see all the rubbish and recycling from the last guests, piled outside the front door; what a mess it looked but we opened the key lock (something I really like on a rental, lovely to just let yourself in, no stress) and ventured inside.
The kitchen is impressive, spacious with a lovely island, the pictures don't do it justice and the living area is roomy too, with plenty of space to lounge and eat. It's all a bit dusty and things don't work and the TV is at an odd angle off the wall and there's an out of order log burner dumped there but overall, it's comfy,

The housekeeper had left a note that the dishwasher hadn't finished when she left! 'how hard can it be to time the dishwasher?' I thought but I emptied it and put everything away.
Most of the cleaning products were running out, there weren't many toilet rolls, or towels and in the fridge was a small loaf and a tiny milk, which was pointless imo.

The stairwell leading upstairs is gorgeous, beautifully finished in wood and glass but again, upstairs it's only 'ok', squeaky beds and not enough lamps and things don't work but the upstairs bath is nice - speaking of bathrooms, there's another one downstairs in the entrance hall, good shower and great to have a downstairs loo but the seal round the bottom of the shower was rotten and filthy and the tiles are porous and damp, I'll post a picture.

The cottage has a nice flow, it's a good layout with patio doors onto the outside area at the back, which is where the hot tub is situated. Hmmm, the 'hot' tub? it was 34 deg when we arrived and felt cool, anything lower than body temp. 37.5 will feel luke warm and it did!
and it just got worse from there.
What a let down, we persevered thinking it might warm up and had somehow got cool on the last guests watch but it never did. The family arrived that first evening and again the next morning and shot off to put their bathing stuff on but I knew they were going to be disappointed and they were! Their faces when they got in the tub were a picture, I was embarrassed.
I rang the manager Adele [--] on Sunday morning, when I'd finally found a phone signal by walking down the street and she was cold, unfriendly and barely interested, she waffled something about the controls, as if to blame US!? and then said she'd email me some instructions.
Absolutely terrible customer service. It's easy to get instructions from the net, the point was we tried and it just wasn't working. The impression Ms [--] gave, was that any interest she did have, was in 'getting the engineer out' for the NEXT guests!

We all sat in the cool tub that last night discussing the cold water, making a half hearted attempt to make the best of it but as Paul's son's say, 'staying at that place was pointless.'
There's no view to speak of, it's a communal garden at the back, the washing line is by other people's cottages far away from yours, it's quite noisy from next door; the utensils in the kitchen leave a lot to be desired, there were essential things missing and the microwave was a health hazard, the metal stripping from the inside....don't bother

I've made a complaint to Adele [--] since and she's been very abusive and evasive and i'm now trying to obtain a refund via my credit card company.

There are hundreds of lovely cottages with hot tubs in Cumbria, so do yourselves a favour and choose one of those - and avoid Chapel Terrace like the plague.

Stayed 6th - 8th Sept 2014. Kathryn, Paul, Shane, Lizzie, Michael and Ben the Border Collie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen decor
Liked least: The 'cold' hot tub!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Hello, Again i apologise that you found such issue with our cottage.
As we are a self catering property, the welcome pack and toiletries are entirely complimentary to enable our guests to freshen up and perhaps enjoys a cup of tea or coffee after their journey.
We are part of a beautiful rural community and we pride ourselves on recycling as much as possible after every stay, as not only is this environmentally friendly but it raises much needed funds for our village school.
In our listing we inform our potential guests that beyond each private patio area there is a large shared garden, this is to make the most of the rolling Cumbrian Hills to the rear.
The Hot Tub had merely been placed on 'Sleep Mode' and can easily be corrected by pressing to buttons as I explained in our telephone call and emails, Im sorry this wasnt carried out.
As you know, I part refunded your stay as a goodwill gesture as we wish to every guest to feel at home and fully enjoy their stay at our cottages.
Please contact me again if you have any further issues/questions and I will do my utmost to please you, kind regards Adele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois D
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolute gem of place this was.

We had a fantastic weekend stay here. 6 of us stayed for 2 nights as we were competing in Total Warrior in Shap. This was ideally located as it was easy to get to and not far from the event.

The cottage is lovingly decorated to a very high standard, was immaculate and very clean. There is a huge kitchen with all necessities and kitchen equipment provided, even had the lovely little touch of providing bread and milk. The space made it easy when cooking on mass for 6 hungry mouths.

The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable - plenty of room for everyone to move about and get ready in. Bathrooms were both good sizes and to a high standard.

The hot tub was the high point for us! We absolutely loved it!

There is also a spacious back garden area which would be ideal for when the weather is good - we had torrential rain so sadly didnt get chance to appreciate it.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough - will definitely be returning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: ran out of hot water for showers quickly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Can't rate this place highly enough, its so good we rebooked within the week to return in Autumn with friends at their cottage next door.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing