We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave everything behind”
Review of Areias do Seixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Areias do Seixo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Rarely in life do you find places like this, so close to home, that just makes you wish you could leave everything behind and stay forever, this augmented by the fact that such a perfect heaven is found in my country, a Portugal gem near Lisbon and by the sea, this is Areias do Seixo.

This magic spot is located in Santa Cruz, a mere 30 minute drive from Lisbon. A coastline populated with gracious wild beaches and historic towns like Óbidos, known as the West Coast. Read my full review at: http://www.wlifestyle.net/areias-do-seixo.html

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apcperes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Areias do Seixo is simply otherworldly. Staying there is like being in a bubble. The hotel is truly stunningly designed. Even the smallest rooms are very large and unique. The staff is cool and laid back. This is not a hotel where you should expect white glove immediate service, but rather a place where you should put your watch and phone in your bag and not take them out until you leave. The owner hosts wine tasting by the fire most nights, and like the staff she is very friendly. The hotel restaurant is very good, and serves fresh local food most of it grown at the hotel. Certainly the best in the area. If this hotel were in California, it would be $600 to $1000 a night, without doubt.

The hotel is adjacent to a large beachfront park. The beach itself is a 5 minute hike through the sand dunes, and is accessible to the public, but as long as you don't go in the high summer season it is mostly deserted.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atehec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is an architecturally stunning hotel. Designer boho chic everywhere you look. Our room was beautiful, as were all the others - yes we had a nosy! The pool and especially the spa are are great. My wife had a massage which comes highly recommended.
The stroll down to the beach was really peaceful, one day we had the beach to ourselves.

I'm the only person not to award this hotel 5 stars, for the following reasons.

The food was really disappointing, definitely not good enough and not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.
We also got frustrated by having a huge sunny deck, with only a sunbed for one person, we thought this was a real shame, as it's so close to being perfect.

In conclusion, this is a stunning hotel, iron out the issues outlined above and it could be perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, the best we saw was Nha cretcheu - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Areias do Seixo is the place where is difficult to find a definition. As their team self proclaims, is an luxurious, eco, personalized different kind of hotel.

Eco friendly, with only 13 rooms, this design hotel makes you feel at home, while aware of how beautiful life can be. Too poetic for a sentence? Go there an you will understand it....

As a young couple, we`ve spend 2 weekends there and there are no words to describe the experience: Different, luxurious through the simplicity of things, poetic, gorgeous, very nice people, very nice portuguese food and worthwhile to spend the money...

The 2 owners will receive you as if you would be their personnel guest, but they will keep all your privacy. All the service is 5 star standard, with a very special touch...

Simple but extraordinary personalized SPA.

See the web site, feel the experience, you will not regret it :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

walking into the lobby of this hotel was exciting, so many things to take in! the architecture, the sculptures, swings instead of seats at reception. due to a mix up we got to say in three of their rooms during our stay, which was fantastic as all the rooms are so different. the first night we rattled around in the penthouse, ideal for more people though. great outside area with jacuzzi and a fab view of the grounds.
then we got to stay in both of the gold rooms, outside shower or jacuzzi bath, great decor and decking area over looking the gardens.
this isn't a great place for children, (i would be annoyed if there where screaming kids on the premises) all of the people staying were couples when we were there. its a very romantic setting away from everything but just a short walk over the sand dunes to a rugged coastline and secluded beach.
the food was limited for veggies but what i got was great. the homemade fig and pumpkin jams at breakfast were delicious!
wont say anymore because i don't want to spoil the surprise! i loved our stay here and have stayed in many top hotels and can say that this one of the very best.

Room Tip: the gold rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerNDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here with my wife for 2 weeks in August.this has to have been the best hotel experience we have ever had.The location was spot on,5 minute stroll from unspoiled beach.The hotel is a gem of modern architecture and the rooms are spacious and luxurious decorated by someone with a passion for design.The facilities and food are excellent.
What puts this hotel in another league however is the atmosphere which is created by the owners and their fantastic staff.
Management in many 5star establishments could learn an awful lot from a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at this resort for a couple nights at the end of our Portugal vacation, and it was simply great -- everything from the friendly/fascinating owners, environmentally responsible themes, scenic location right on the Atlantic Ocean, solid food, and very chic designs/architecture.

The rooms are each unique, interesting, clean, and fun. Working fireplaces, outdoor jacuzzis, and private outdoor decks were put to good use by us. Everything is conveniently automated, from well remotes controlling pre-programmed room music selections, wall remotes for lighting, electronic black-out shades, etc. Take a look at the website to see these rooms. There was a lot of interior design work/planning that went into all aspects of this resort, and it clearly shows...

We had two dinners and breakfasts here, and all meals were made with fresh ingredients (including fruits/veggies from their gardens on site). Nothing too fancy, but rather simple, solid dishes.

The owners are a fascinating couple that grew up in the area but have cosmopolitan backgrounds -- they are friendly, charming, and gracious hosts. We saw them walking around the resort frequently during our visit and interacting with guests, had wine with them at the first-night welcome event, and took a beach tour walk with them. Their goal of creating a first-class resort that is environmentally responsible is unique and has been successful, all the while maintaining a homey, boutique feel.

Unfortunately, our stay was not long enough to go on one of the "experiences", but they each sounded like a unique and fun event (we wanted to spend a morning learning about farming/agriculture practices with the resort's farmers, but couldn't do it while there).

The only other thing we'd note is that the rooms do not have air conditioning. We kept the patio door open during the night to bring in fresh, cool air, which unfortunately led to a lot of bug bites. But even that was a minor blip in an otherwise wonderful stay. We may have to make a special return trip to Portugal just to stay here again...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near A dos Cunhados
1.7 mi away
Promar - Eco Beach & Spa Hotel
14.1 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 11 in Peniche
417 reviews
13.7 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 4 in Ericeira
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
O Hotel Golf Mar
O Hotel Golf Mar
#1 of 2 in Maceira
344 reviews
23.9 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
445 reviews
18.6 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias do Seixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias do Seixo

Address: Praceta do Atlantico, Mexilhoeira - Povoa de Penafirme | A-dos-Cunhados, A dos Cunhados 2560-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > A dos Cunhados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Price Range: £215 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical place in a magical setting, Areias do Seixo is a natural haven less than one hour from Lisbon. This is a special place where pine trees, dunes and sea murmur their secrets. Experience originality, sublime comfort and an unerringly sense of style that seamlessly blends in with the natural surroundings of the land, the sea and the shore. Each room tells its own intriguing story. Our restaurant transports you to a place where aroma, taste and colour come together, using raw materials sourced from a bountiful Mother Nature. Concealed behind the enigmatic wooden doors that lead into our SPA, a world of unique sensations awaits you. Leave the daily grind and the stresses of life behind you. Let yourself be transported back to an almost forgotten time when "to feel" was activity enough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Areias do Seixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Do Seixo Charm Hotel And Residences
Areias Do Seixo Portugal/A Dos Cunhados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing