We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much impossible to fault”
Review of Areias do Seixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Areias do Seixo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pretty much impossible to fault”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Can only really support what many others have said. Gonçalo and Marta have built a beautiful place with wonderful touches everywhere, and the staff all completely seem to buy in to the up-market but laid-back ethos of it all. We stayed in one of the lower rooms (3 Desejos) with views from our private deck out across the lawn to the greenhouse, veggie patch, and beyond that the dunes. Room was perfect and the 'rain' shower was the piece de resistance in a wonderfully thought-out bathroom, whose sunken Jacuzzi bath sadly never got used. The rooms are massive (each of the bathroom and bedroom were roughly the footprint of our terrace house back home).

The meals use their own produce wherever possible and are simply cooked so as to emphasize the flavour. On our second night Gonçalo drove us over to Porto Dinheiro for a gorgeous fish stew by the beach as the sun set over the Atlantic horizon. And on our fifth (and last) night we discovered a 1928 bottle of dessert wine on the wine list for € 22 ! Not sure if the price was a mistake, but we had to go for it (and let the staff have a taste) !

Enjoyed the walks along the cliff to Santa Cruz, Valongo and Porto Novo while 'her indoors' enjoyed the infinity pool.

There isn't much doubt that in part you are paying for Gonçalo and Marta's eco- ambitions (which are never really pushed at their guests at all - they just happen in the background), and I can sort of see why some people might think you aren't getting as many bangs for your buck as at other places in this price range. But you only have to look at the work that's gone into the construction, and must be going into the upkeep, and think that at full capacity there will probably only be around 30 people staying, and it all has to be paid for. I'd go back like a shot !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    41
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
315
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have spent in the hotel few days with the family (all adults, I don't think the hotel policy allows children). It was one of the best "relaxing"holidays I had in Europe. The hotel is away from typical tourist attractions, so we can really enjoy the nature, food and the beautiful architecture of the hotel. The rooms are all different (I have seen 3 of them) - in ours we had an olive tree in the bathroom - loved it!
Breakfast and dinners are simple but good. After four days I have to admit I was a bit tired of
the rather repetitive side dishes to the main meal, but I am sure if I asked they would prepare sth different for me.
The staff of the hotel is very kind and helpful, we also met the gardeners (the hotel has its own garden and greenhouse) - a lovely young couple.
All in all, I would love to come back!

Room Tip: i would recommend room number three (not sure of the name anymore) - it had a huge mirror, chimney a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar_sunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parede, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel but short staffed. Second time staying and for the second time had to wait for 1 hour to get my room key. Food a bit to pretentious but ok.
The right place to scape from it all and have real piece and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calica1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

What a magnificent place in a beautiful peaceful setting near the beach at Santa Cruz in Portugal! The hotel has the most beautiful modern decor, the rooms are exquisite with fireplaces and jacuzzis and a fabulous musical sound track. They light the rooms with candles in the evening. VERY ROMANTIC! Beautiful grounds with a path to the ocean. Staff is interesting and helpful. It is a place to chill out and find peace, a little off the beaten path. There are lovely places to congregate around fireplaces or a bonfire and the crowd is very eclectic from all over Europe. I agree the food isn't wonderful although breakfast is very nice. Just as we'll, perhaps, because there are wonderful restaurants for lunch in the little Portuguese towns you will want to wander to during the day (eg monte mar in cascais). A wonderful wind down experience for these very type A American travelers. One complaint- put a door on the toilet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imabroadwaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is, hands down, one of my favorite hotels ever. The design is breathtaking and beautiful- from the furniture to the pool to the architecture of the hotel, this place is a masterpiece. We loved our room, it was so cozy with a BEAUTIFUL bathroom that we never ever wanted to leave. The breakfast layout was beautiful as well and the staff are the best part of it all! They're so friendly, so helpful, and so kind- they made our stay special. The owners were also wonderful! They had a bonfire where they played guitar and sang, and then we all ate dinner together. They were so thoughtful and accommodating.

We took the bikes they have outside and went around the area, which is truly breathtaking. If you're looking for a relaxing, laid back trip with great staff, impeccable service, good food and ambiance- look no further. This is seriously one of my favorite hotels in the world, just because the experience was so unique. You literally feel like you're vacationing at a good friend's house, which was the best part of it all! Don't hesitate, book this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The design is beautiful, the welcome is warm and genuine. from the moment you step in, you realise this is not a snobbish place, and whilst it may look like out of a magazine, you can let your hair down, and be yourself.
The staff, all the Martas, Sergio, Gilberto, the Chef, everyone is great!
And the dunes, the grounds, lovely walks, those views, the amazing bath tubs, the list of special things goes on and on.

Room Tip: Nha Cretcheu is amazing, but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realitycheck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Taunton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here earlier this year and are due to return soon....very much looking forward to it. I'd heartily endorse all the glowing reviews. However I would also agree that the cooking doesn't do justice to the produce. Vegetables were always just stir fried together so that everything tasted the same, and there was very little seasoning or garlic or onions. Steaming or roasting some veg would introduce more variety, similarly splitting salad ingredients and dressing them differently would be more interesting. This matters because there are few other places to eat nearby and the cost of dining in can be very expensive. I'd also suggest asking to sign a bill at the end of the day or the end of a meal as costs are not transparent and swiftly mount up. It would be great if hotel management could take this on board.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaythatinAleppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near A dos Cunhados
1.9 mi away
O Hotel Golf Mar
O Hotel Golf Mar
#1 of 2 in Maceira
302 reviews
13.7 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Promar
Hotel Promar
#1 of 1 in Maceira
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Noiva do Mar Resort
Noiva do Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in Atalaia
114 reviews
14.1 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
352 reviews
3.2 mi away
Praia Azul Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias do Seixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias do Seixo

Property: Areias do Seixo
Address: Praceta do Atlantico, Mexilhoeira - Povoa de Penafirme | A-dos-Cunhados, A dos Cunhados 2560-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > A dos Cunhados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical place in a magical setting, Areias do Seixo is a natural haven less than one hour from Lisbon. This is a special place where pine trees, dunes and sea murmur their secrets. Experience originality, sublime comfort and an unerringly sense of style that seamlessly blends in with the natural surroundings of the land, the sea and the shore. Each room tells its own intriguing story. Our restaurant transports you to a place where aroma, taste and colour come together, using raw materials sourced from a bountiful Mother Nature. Concealed behind the enigmatic wooden doors that lead into our SPA, a world of unique sensations awaits you. Leave the daily grind and the stresses of life behind you. Let yourself be transported back to an almost forgotten time when "to feel" was activity enough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Areias do Seixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Do Seixo Charm Hotel And Residences
Areias Do Seixo Portugal/A Dos Cunhados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing