We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth....”
Review of Areias do Seixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Areias do Seixo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth....”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

One of the most relaxing, peaceful and memorable hotel stays. My boyfriend and I recently stayed for 2 nights before travelling on to Lisbon. This was a great idea for a mini break to the area to mix city and beach.Service was great from the beginning, very friendly but never too much. Location off season is very remote but to be honest the hotel is designed that you don't want to leave. No tv but piped music was a scary thought but I loved it! Open fireplaces, candles everywhere and all there to be used. We returned from dinner one night to find our turndown had lit them all...probably 30 in total -very romantic! Bathroom was as big as the bedroom with jacuzzi baths, 2 showers, all open plan - fab! Food was delicious, breakfast buffet really generous and good wine selection. Right on the beach so lovely walks and bikes available for use at the front door. The spa was lovely too but we just hopped in steam room. Can imagine it would be gorgeous in summer with the generous outdoor pool. Parting gift of homemade tasty cookies was the icing on the cake. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing and away from the pool in high season so you have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morte1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    41
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
312
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The best of the hotel is certainly its endless efforts to think about the environment. ...and this without any negative impacts on true luxury. If you read some of the not so good reviews, most of them have to do with their concept like the limited menu. Actually I am quite surprised that nobody complained about no TV in the room. Part of the concept is simplicity, which is very obvious if you look at the design. Most of it what they bring to the table is grown in the very own garden or delivered by local farmers. And that is what makes their menus so delicious and special. Don't get me wrong no French infused modern cuisine but simple Portuguese dishes cooked to perfection with the finest ingredients. Yes compared to other 5* hotels the breakfast is limited but if you try their eggs, the cake, the juices or the bread it so delicious I never missed anything. Honestly not seeing any other tourists fighting at the buffet for food they won't eat anyway is actually a good thing (yes this happens at high class 5* as well). Additionally the staff is so friendly you even think you are at a friends home. No wonder you don't have to sign expense checks, where I never had any doubt that they get it wrong. One quick word on the room, they are amazing and so special! If you like modern architecture with a very personal touch to the interior design and - like me - have a crush on bathrooms, you are in the right place. Who cares if there is not a lot of closet space. You don't need a lot anyway as they have no formal dress code. It is all about the nature, your soul and body. A really relaxing time and exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!

Room Tip: look at the pictures and decide yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve7301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was taken to this hotel by my girlfriend ( now fiancé ) and was absolutely impressed. It was a wee bit difficult to find ( not the hotels fault ) but it was well worth the drive from Lisbon.

The hotel is a true beauty in its nature. The design is very modern but comfortable. The room was amazing. Nice big bed, a fire place, big patio looking out over the property toward the ocean. The bathroom was concrete and had a nice two person shower and a tub all built out of raw, polished concrete.

The food and drink was great and made almost entirely with product grown on the property.

We also indulged ourselves with a massage and took advantage of the steam room.

The do have other activities like a day in the gardens harvesting herbs and veggies but we did not participate.

The hotel is also near a beach that we walked to.

Although it was only two days, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at this amazing places beginning of Jan 2014.

We had the hope to get away from the Central European winter into a softer climate, not necessarily hot, but good to have long relaxing walks on the beach and enjoy the nature in the area. Unfortunately we weren't lucky, it was raining basically the whole time.

But, the hotel is one of the better places you can end up in such a situation.

The hotel follows a concept of sustainability which means they grow a lot of the vegetables they need themselves and they also source electricity and war water over solar panels. They even make a show out of it as they offer tours to their vegetable garden and so on. The entire hotel is built and designed with materials that have a raw appearance. Like a lot of wood, stone walls made of nature stone and so on. You can look at the hotel pictures they speak for themselves.
Also the overall atmosphere is very relaxed and casual and you can get very quickly the feeling that you are rather amongst friends instead of of a hotel. This can be good and bad at the same time, depending on what you expect from such a place.

This brings me straight to the overall service. As mentioned everybody is very friendly and forward coming. The downside of that "family" approach is that sometimes the level of service is every different and is not reaching the level of top notch 5 star plus hotels. But again, for some this might be good for other not. So my personal feeling is that the service is very Portuguese which is very lovely when you accommodate to it.

Coming to the accommodation itself. The hotel is an absolute design highlight as there is rarely something comparable. We spent two nights at the Mi Ma Bo room and two at the Na Cretcheu room. We felt that the Mi Ma Bo looked better on the homepage but die like better the Na Cretcheu. One reason might be the fact that we couldn't use the outdoor whirlpool on the terrace which is a key factor in the mi ma bo room. So basically I believe you can pick every room and you will love it.

One thing with the rooms is left to criticize. In every room you will find something that could be a bit better. In the Mi Ma Bo it's the free hanging chimney (which you will find in several rooms). As it has a straight tube out of the room you will have to live with wind sounds that might be quite intense, depending on the level/speed of wind. As encoded issue in this room is that it seems that a lot of the smoke of other rooms comes to the terrace of Mi Ma Bo, which might have been just bad luck in our instance.

Na Cretcheu was from our perspective the more rounded room. Bigger and cosier with an inside whirlpool and an additional outside shower. The only downside again related to wind is the room door. The recommendation is to lock the door when you go to sleep, so the the door is not moving and is not cause cracking sounds, again only if it's very windy.

But all together, the rooms are just amazing.

So what about the food? The Restaurant is placed more or self in the lobby. So it's all like a big loft/living/dining room in one, with an amazing view on the ocean and the garden.
The food itself is very good and delicious. For dinner you have all from a variety of starters, soups, salads, meat and fish. I was a bit sad that they didn't had the grilled octopus during our stay even though it was on the menu. I also can recommend the desserts, but that counts for Portugal in General. The Breakfast and Lunch Menu could have a big more variety but this only affects you if you spend like four complete days at the hotel as we did. So ask at the hotel for nearby restaurant recommendations, you will find a lot of interesting places.

So finally coming to the SPA. The SPA is oriented towards Ayurvedic treatments, which I personally appreciate a lot. We had a full body massage followed by a shirodhara and a sea salt scrub, followed by a massage. Marta who did the treatments has magic hands :)
The only missing thing is an inside pool/whirlpool as it was to cold for the outside pool. And I think a pool goes along with a sauna / steam bath. You could also argue that you don't need additional pools as some of the rooms have whirlpools but it's my personal view.

All together, amazing place, just pick a time where you can experience in its best shape - when it's warm :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank omanolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I spent five days here during the summer and it really was a perfect stay - great staff, great setting, great food and felt relaxed throughout and refreshed when we left. My only reluctance to recommend is I don't want it to become so busy that it gets difficult to book a room.

Room Tip: Mar Room was great - no noise, balcony is out of view of everyone else and stunning view out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a unique experience, something that you'll never forget, no matter what places you've been before. Would not be fair to try to describe Areias do Seixo in a few words so you'll have to go to their website to read the concept and history beyond the hotel. If you are willing to spend some money to try something unique, go to Areias do Seixo in Sta. Cruz. Don't see to many pictures if you enjoy surprises!

Room Tip: "3 Desejos" room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaorbraposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Simply the most stunning luxurious hotel and residences in a great location. Stayed in Villa 2 which has fantastic views over sea and is luxuriously fitted out ... watching the moon on the shimmering sea is an experience of a lifetime. Short walk to breathtaking beach and convenient location for golf trips/surfing as required.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTT590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near A dos Cunhados
13.7 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
649 reviews
1.9 mi away
O Hotel Golf Mar
O Hotel Golf Mar
#1 of 2 in Maceira
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Promar
Hotel Promar
#1 of 1 in Maceira
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Noiva do Mar Resort
Noiva do Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in Atalaia
112 reviews
14.1 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
336 reviews
18.6 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias do Seixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias do Seixo

Property: Areias do Seixo
Address: Praceta do Atlantico, Mexilhoeira - Povoa de Penafirme | A-dos-Cunhados, A dos Cunhados 2560-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > A dos Cunhados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in A dos Cunhados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical place in a magical setting, Areias do Seixo is a natural haven less than one hour from Lisbon. This is a special place where pine trees, dunes and sea murmur their secrets. Experience originality, sublime comfort and an unerringly sense of style that seamlessly blends in with the natural surroundings of the land, the sea and the shore. Each room tells its own intriguing story. Our restaurant transports you to a place where aroma, taste and colour come together, using raw materials sourced from a bountiful Mother Nature. Concealed behind the enigmatic wooden doors that lead into our SPA, a world of unique sensations awaits you. Leave the daily grind and the stresses of life behind you. Let yourself be transported back to an almost forgotten time when "to feel" was activity enough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Areias do Seixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Do Seixo Charm Hotel And Residences
Areias Do Seixo Portugal/A Dos Cunhados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing