We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property
Juniper Gîte
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Juniper Gîte
Kitchen Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Juniper Gîte
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Al-fresco Dining
Outside Terrace
Large (10m x 5m) Pool
Games Barn
Heated, Chlorine-free Pool
South Facing Views
Hammock in the Orchard
Rural Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chatenet, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Foot0577
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our fifth year staying at this beautiful place, we can't recommend it enough. The gite, grounds and facilities are spotlessly clean, well equipped and well planned. Ruth and Neil are superb hosts. They are so lovely, friendly and kind and have given great thought to many extra details that you don't often find. There's plenty to do in the area, details are given in the other reviews so I won't repeat, or you can stay put and lounge round the wonderful pool and gardens. My point is that, here, the pressure truly is off and you can really relax and get away from it all. Can't wait to return next year, we're already booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's perfect.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinicol...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After returning from a fantastic week staying at the Juniper Gite it is only right that we inform you that Ruth and Neil who own the gites are perfect hosts and could not have done more for us.

We arrived late at night but had a lovely welcome hand made card plus a basket containing lots of essentials and goodies such as a bottle of wine, which meant that we chill and relax from the outset.

The facilities are first class and most things have been provided to make your stay here enjoyable with something for everyone. My teenage son was impressed with the Wi Fi a must for him plus the pool. But the supply of DVD's give a good end to a perfect day.

The views from the property are stunning and can be enjoyed closer up by free use of bicycles provided, another important touch.

The gite we stayed in was impeccably clean and equipped to an excellent standard including a hi fi system plus a docking paired speaker for your iphone so you can play your own music. This can provide a nice ambiance when having a evening meal.

The BBQ outside is fantastic and again Ruth & Neil help you along the way by providing a start up kit of charcoal and lighters. These small touches that you will experience here distinguish this accommodation from the crowds and go a long way to rate this vacation rental as excellent!
It is remote, but honestly you need to stay here to appreciate this is one of it's qualities. We cannot remember a holiday where we came home so refreshed and recharged.

Thank you Ruth & Neil for a wonderful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Hard sun-loungers around the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We loved having you stay with us, and so pleased that you had such a good time here. Hopefully we will see you back again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMWag
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing and stress-free week!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic week staying at the Juniper Gite. Ruth and Neil who own the gites are perfect hosts and could not have done more for us.

Everything gets off to a great start with a lovely welcome basket containing lots of essentials and goodies, which meant that we were not scrabbling around for that essential tea / coffee / milk on arrival…or even a baguette with bread and jam + loads more!

The site itself is very spacious and well kept. I really enjoyed my swims in the pool and also games of table tennis with my teenage children. There are also bikes to borrow, and we had a lovely afternoon on these, picking up a cycle trail close by and taking a picnic with us.

Other highlights included the evening market in nearby Montendre which we all went to together, including Ruth and Neil + the people staying in one of the other gites. You can buy your evening meal and wine from the street-food sellers and then watch the world go by, listening to the band play.

Each gite has its own BBQ and you are provided with charcoal and lighters etc. – again, it’s these extra thoughtful touches that make this gite experience stand out from others.

We will definitely be going back to Chatenet for another relaxing, stress-free holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome basket / well-stocked kitchen - utensils, pans etc.
Liked least: Everything was great - no grumbles
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for posting this review for us, we’re still fledging with this being our second year, so we’re really pleased that you liked what we are doing. We loved having you and your family stay with us; we really enjoyed it too! We hope very much that you will return for another visit to Chatenet one day and we look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Oakhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing location”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I recently stayed in Juniper Gite. What a beautiful location. The Gite was well equipped and the decor and personal touches made you feel like you were in someone's home rather than a holiday home which was lovely. Ruth and Neil who own the gites are great hosts making you feel welcome and extremely helpful but at the same time gave us enough privacy. Ruth was also knowledgable of the area and recommended a few places to visit. The pool area is a great space and there are plenty of sun beds arranged so you have plenty of space. The gardens are well kept and there is a games room where we enjoyed a game of table tennis. There are bicycles available to use too. The location is just perfect for a peaceful break. I would definitely recommend these gites for families and couples who enjoy a relaxing holiday. Thank you Ruth & Neil for making our stay perfect. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, quality and peace.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chatenet soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing