We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing holiday home in outstanding location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cravans, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

keithm789
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday home in outstanding location”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A wonderful well equipped holday home in wonderful landscaped surroundings. We have stayed in many villas in France but can say le Moulin is the best by far.Clean and modern accommodation.Amazing farmland surroundings and wildlife. Solar heated pool for lazing around day or night.
Well located for visits to the coast - Royan and the cote le grand or inland trips to Cognac & Saintes.
Well served by good restaurants within half hour's journey.
Bikes provided to amble down fcountry lanes to collect the obligatory morning baguette and croissants!
We'll definately be back!!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the odd cloudy day
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Jun 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed the moulin and all the area has to offer. Thank you very much for your kind comments, which make us realise all the effort everyone puts in to ensure you have a pleasant stay, is worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margjohn
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Our holiday at this lovely property has been fabulous. The area is so quiet and very beautiful. The house was a very welcome surprise after a less than good holiday in another property earler in the year. Clive and Judy were doing a wonderful job of cleaning when we arrived much earlier than they expected us! Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome immediately.

The house is well appointed, well thought out and very user friendly. The grounds are also superb. If there has to be a negative, the only thing we hadn't thought about was as it was so late in the season, a lot of the restaurants didn't seem to be open but with Super U 10 minutes away with all the lovely cheeses and wine who needs restaurants!!

We would definitely recommend this property and indeed are already doing so!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreySaz
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really lovely place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed here with our two girls (9 and 12). The house was really clean and comfortable, with plenty of space and really well equipped with DVDs and games. The real gem is the garden. Large and great fun for exploring with a nice sized pool. We cycled to the local village to get bread and the supermarket is only a short ride away by car. The coast is less than half an hour away with wonderful beaches.
We would highly recommend staying here - especially if you are looking for somewhere that is slightly off the beaten track but with amenities not far away !

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Date of stay: October 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise032...
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic - fantastic - fantastic !!”
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010

This was our first visit to Chez Moulin (Aug ‘10) and this part of France and wanted to escape the rat race of London. We were holidaying with another family and had children of varying ages (including teenagers). Chez Moulin was perfect and lived up to our hopes and expectations. The directions were spot on and when we arrived it was exactly as had been described.

The welcome pack was much appreciated and it meant that we could immediately relax and explore without the pressure of having to think of getting the basics in.

The outside space and setting was exactly what we were looking for, with plenty of separate areas for people to enjoy the summer sun, it was an added bonus to have a running stream through the garden. The boys spent hours just playing about with the water. The inside space worked just as well and the large kitchen / dining room was where we all gathered at the end of the day. But the best thing was the heated illuminated swimming pool, with the poolside fridge, for those night time dips!

We used the bicycles to cycle to the boulangerie most mornings for a French loaf and pastries for breakfast (how very French!); the supermarket is a short drive away.

There is a local fishery a few of minutes away by car. The locals were very friendly and set our teenagers up with rods etc. We went back to collect them at midday, where we all enjoyed a great lunch. They were very happy and wanted to spend the rest of the day there. When we collected them in the evening, they had caught enough fish for us all to enjoy on the barbeque that evening. What a perfect way for teenagers to escape the modern world.

The folder with the guide to the local area proved invaluable. We visited ‘Le Poste’ which has an Australian Michelin chef which was fantastic and inexpensive. We also dined at ‘Le Cottage’ where we had delicious food and you can even have a pint of Guinness! We especially loved Tina’s Café an intimate setting right on the beach at Meschers, where they serve basic food (buffet style) with live music late into the night. Our favourite beach ‘Cote Sauvage’ was further away (approx an hour) where you can really swim in the breakers.

On a day trip to the Bordeaux region we visited St Emilion, well worth a visit. We visited many local markets and thoroughly enjoyed sampling the local produce although not sure about cheval…

This was the perfect break away, will definately return.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.