We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shangrila - must be the most tranquil place I...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cravans, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

freddy74
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shangrila - must be the most tranquil place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I toured France and Spain and stayed at Chez Bouquet for two nights on our way back to UK. What a find ! We just loved the rural location and the general setting of the place.
For me (a lover of peace and quite), it was absolutely ideal. The beautiful gardens of about two acres were very well kept and a joy to stroll through. After our long drive from Spain, we enjoyed a refreshing swim in the welcoming pool.
Our bedroom was large, well equipped and nicely decorated. There was a door which lead to a conservatory that overlooked the pool. Very convenient.
Stephen (the owner) took us to his local wine and cognac producer for a tasting, followed by a visit to the local restaurant on the lake, for a very enjoyable and reasonably priced supper. This is the kind of service that is rarely encountered these days.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility and beautiful location
Liked least: leaving to go back to the UK weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terzo290
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here for a night during a tour of France and Spain with my father in June.

If you're looking for a quiet retreat in a beautiful traditional house with idyllic surroundings, this is the place for you. As other reviewers have mentioned the place is massive. I hadn't appreciated how much space there was in the house until Steve showed us around. It's not until you see upstairs that it becomes apparent how big the house is.

The gardens and pool are beautiful and there's more than enough chairs, tables and sun loungers for 3 families. The built In BBQ makes it perfect for providing a great evenings entertainment around the under light pool.

The people that own the local vin yard are great and there is no holding back on the amount of wine you can taste! We came out with more than we intended after spending around an hour there.

A few minutes drive away is a great local restaurant situated at the side of a trout lake. The setting is fantastic and I'd challenge anyone to find a better location for a chilled out evening meal with some local wine to wash it down. The food and drink is very reasonably priced and great for families. The owners are very friendly and you feel completely safe and relaxed. Shorts and T shirts are fine here. I don't remember the name of the place (sampled too much of the local wine) but am sure Steve will point you in the right direction.

If you're thinking about going here - just do it! You'll struggle to find anything better!!!

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy W
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A HAVEN OF TRANQUILITY!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend Chez Bouquet as a haven of tranquillity. I run Workshops/Courses in France and Spain, and am always on the lookout for new locations in both countries.
Chez Bouquet 's website showed excellent photos, but I would normally only choose a new location and property with a prior inspection visit.
Stephen Ford's (Owner) website was very comprehensive and Stephen himself was so helpful in answering my many questions, and his knowledge of the area convinced me that his property would make an excellent destination for my Workshop and great holiday for my clients. The clincher for me was his description of his "State of the Art" kitchen. A must for tthe type of Courses that I run.
I was certainly not disappointed and my clients absolutely loved Chez Bouquet. It's a wonderful place to relax lazing by the pool, soaking up the sun or meandering through the acres of sunflowers within walking distance of the property.. Sip the wonderful wines from the local vineyards, only 5mins. drive time away..Great beaches only 20mins drive time.
There are some very good and inexpensive restaurants in the surrounding area, especially at the Lake where they serve great steaks and if you fancy fishing you may just catch a trout which they will happily wrap and send home with you!
My first workshop in June'13 was such a huge success that I have booked another Course for 2014, A few of my clients from last year loved it so much they have signed up again!
I am so very glad that I discovered this delightful house and hope to keep returning year after year.

Dee Waters
The Organic Juicery.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of accommodation and relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Having to return to the CITY
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday home in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Chez Bouquet, a beautiful 250 year old farmhouse with character, and set in 2 acres in a quiet village in SW France, a wonderful place to visit.
The venue is very well presented and kept to a high standard, with all the amenities one requires in the farmhouse, plus a lovely outdoor pool, bikes to ride to explore the area and horses to feed.
Chez Bouquet is completely private for a great holiday with family or friends as it caters for up to 14 persons exclusively, whilst near excellent eating places.
If you wish to explore the area which has history, famous wine chateaux or the sea, nothing is far away. Or just to stay and chill out in your own exclusive farmhouse for that special holiday. I know I will return

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural environment in wonderful countryside and the warm ambience in the farmhouse
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool and barbeque
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
680sophie...
Soulge-sur-Ouette, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Aug 2021
On the day they arrived we had faced a problem never faced before. The outgoing group did not leave until 10.30(9.0am is the latest leaving time)
So the four of us had our cleaning time effectively reduced by 6 hours.
Then we discovered 31 very dirty towels, and the clean sheets for the following week had also been used.
This was an enormous logistical problem. Hours more cleaning time was lost, and some details inevitably missed.
THE NEW CLIENTS WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM.

About 20 minutes after their arrival, I went with the uncle to look at the pool which was very clean. I happened to say that earlier we had some small problem with the electronic pool robot. The uncle immediately said
That any problems with, or lack of use of equipment will result in a reduction in the price paid. He tried to get me to agree. Idid not.
I immediately realised that this was only going to get worse.
On another occasion a girl with an American accent said they had many complaints, and expected a substantial reduction in the price paid. She also mentioned that in the first three days they had up to 30 yes 30 people in the house. Not paying visitors. This contravenes our insurance policy.We can have no more than 14 people. Also extra wear and tear of the house and pool. They had initially asked if one person would be able to visit, of course I agreed.
With these constant irritations, I decided to contact Tripadvisor.I spoke to Carmine, a lovely helpful lady, and she suggested what I might do, but urged me to take things calmly. Which I did..

Regarding the old furniture etc. I refer you to the photos on our site many of which are recent.
Lack of phone contact. I use email for contact with clients, as Sophie will confirm we have had 22 contacts by email since taking the booking.

For my part I refer you to our score of an overall 5 stars in our excellent relationship with Tripadvisor, all the rest 4 stars, apart from yours

Can these all be wrong. I will let you decide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauris775...
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Sep 2019
Thank you for this lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit so much, as I did. I would love to see you all again
Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.