We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosnac
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel should have everything going for it. An idyllic setting, a good reputation and a chef who seems to know what he is doing. Sadly the totality failed on our visit there. On this occasion I think it was let down by the dining room staff. My son is 15 and those of you who have been through this phase will know that children do not develop sophisticated adult tastes just overnight. How disappointing then when the only thing he really wanted was on the children's menu. I explained this to the waitress and said I was happy to pay an adult price for a dish of something they obviously had in-house but were offering on the menu only to under-10s. She disappeared and was away for a long time, eventually returning with a simple 'non'.

It was going to be difficult for matters to recover well from that point. After the order was taken there was a long delay before any food appeared (though once the courses started coming they came thick and fast); this delay was punctuated only by a visite from Madame - charming enough - but not by refills of bread or any other mitigating attention. The waitresses spent most of their time huddling around a computer console (so much so that whan I was identifying the place to my children for the purpose of writing the review, my son said 'Oh, do you mean the one with the computer?') which made service seem inattentive even though the dining room was only half filled.

The 'Haute Saintonge' menu was of high quality and the dishes tasty and well presented though none memorable enough for me to wish to recreate at home. Overall a mediocre experience in a place which I felt knew how to do better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrowningCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

A hotel of contrasts.

The restaurant seems to specialize in the nouveau cuisine idea of serving beautifully cooked food in tiny portions hidden in the corner of a square plate. The taster wine option was very disappointing, three average wines ( actually my red was undrinkable) for 22 Euros. Other wines expensive. Better cheaper food and wines in nearby villages.

On the other hand the rooms are vast, well equipped and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. Very relaxing

Room Tip: Eat in a local restaurants but check your change in the Locomotive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0lidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A wondeful and tranquil situation in a building which was an old mill near Mosnac. Not far from the A26. A great overnight stop if traveling from the Brittany ports to the Languedoc region. The hotel has large and comfortable rooms. A wonderful restaurant overlooks the mill stream. The restaurant does the most wonderful steaks and is highly recommended. The old mill wheel is still on view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 38Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel/ restaurant 45 minutes north of Bordeaux is in a beautiful diet with a working water mill. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed.
The fine dining restaurant have the same chef for 11 years although the owner in place one week!
The 6 course menu at 49 euros was great although wines expensive. Big range of cognacs.
The place empty but winter. ? Better in summer. Worthy of succeeding.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: côté "rivière" (en fait un petit cours d'eau)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank babvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bonvivant974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xavpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosnac
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
8.7 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
287 reviews
19 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
104 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne

Address: Marcouze, 17240 Mosnac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Mosnac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosnac
Price Range: £104 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Jonzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing