We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect gite for families with young children”
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Extensive mature gardens The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Extensive mature gardens
The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas
The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas and private terrace
The Grange - master king size bedroom
The Grange - family bathroom
The Grange - private terrace area
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fully fenced
The Grange - views from the master bedroom
The Farmhouse - fully equipped kitchen and dining
The Farmhouse - master king size bedroom
The Farmhouse - family bathroom
Well Cottage
Well Cottage - master king size bedroom
Well Cottage - fully equipped kitchen and dining
Well Cottage - large children's room, sleeping four plus cot
Well Cottage - spacious living area
Plenty of space for children to play
The Stables - open plan kitchen and living area
The Stables - fully equipped kitchen
The Stables - secluded terrace area
Open play area, with trampoline, table tennis and lots of outdoor toys
Children's swings and slide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Germain du Seudre, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LucyCrabt...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect gite for families with young children”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the ultimate family friendly gite holiday for families with young children. Everything has been thought of, especially for children under 6. We went with three children under 6 yrs - and I never thought it was possibly to have a relaxing holiday with this age group. The whole area is so safe - the pool is alarmed and gated with a key system. There is a lovely open playbarn with seating for adults and loads of toys / kitchen / ride-on-tractors etc etc so children entertained. They have great bikes, including chariots and seats, and there are lovely flat bike rides from the front door. Lots to do in the region too for lovely days out. The ONLY downsides were 1) the horseflies at that time of yr - but they had an ingeneous horse-fly catcher by the pool, so it wasn't too bad at all and 2) no boulangerie in biking distance, but there is a bread dispenser so you can get fresh bread out of a machine for a euro!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! It was so nice to meet you all; we're glad you had a good holiday and weren't put off by the horseflies! We hope to see you again at La Bigorre in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent one week at La Bigorre in August - two adults, a 7 year old and 4 year old.

Fantastic facilities to entertain us all, including sports, games, bikes, and of course swimming.

Our gite was extremely comfortable and very well stocked with everything we needed already there.

Paula and Rob were great hosts, really friendly, helpful and relaxed, and put on a great BBQ for us all.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area too - beaches, chateaux, zoos etc.

Highly recommended for a relaxing, fun family holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Many thanks for such a lovely review. It was so nice to meet you all and glad to hear you had a good holiday. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leedschic...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great child friendly accommodation in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a lovely week away staying in The Grange - the newest gite on the site. There is everything that you could imagine here for kids. Enough bikes/ride-ons/tractors to keep my three entertained, beautiful walks and flat cycle-friendly roads. As the gites are so close together, the children make new friendls very easily and spent a very happy week running between the three other gites in the evening, which made for a very relaxed holiday.

A week was not long enough to enjoy the delights that this area has to offer. Highlight was body bording on the Coast Sauvage. Brilliant! Great vineyards within spitting distance. You can go to a different beach each day, if you can drag your kids away from La Bigorre. Paula and Rob are very welcoming hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Many thanks for the lovely review. It was really nice to meet you all and we're so glad you all had a good holiday. We hope to be able to welcome you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our second holiday at La Bigorre and another huge success. Relaxing for me, loads to do for my 8 year old son. We flew and hired a car but the cottages are so well equipped that we had everything we needed. Especially appreciated being able to borrow bikes and that there are so many toys and loads of sports equipment for the kids to play with. We enjoyed lazy days around the pool and also got out and about exploring the surrounding area and the coast. Particular highlights this year were the cycle path on the côte sauvage near La Palmyre, the ropes course at St Georges de Dideronne and the beautiful beach with big waves on the Atlantic coast of the Ile d'Oléron so I guess it was a pretty active holiday after all! Thanks to Paula, Rob and family for being such excellent hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was great to see you again and glad you had a good holiday. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrymsco...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great place for a family holiday. Extremely well set up for kids. There is so much for them to do that parents can really relax. We will definitely be going back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we're glad you had a good holiday and look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday, wonderful memories”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We visited La Bigorre for the first time in July and spent a fortnight there. We have 4 young children and it was our first time abroad since having our 5 year old twins.

The complex is so well set up. The kids divided their time between the outdoor pool, tree house, play barn and craft shed. The houses were surrounded by fields of sunflowers. There is a well stocked bike shed with bikes for all ages, trailers etc. The kids made friends from the other properties and enjoyed playing together, football, bird watching etc.

The hosts, Paula and Rob, are amongst the nicest folk you will meet. What a warm welcome we received.

There are plenty of places nearby fit day trips e.g. the zoo at La Palmyre, Planet Exotica, beach at St Palais. We had some great days out but we're just as happy pottering about and relaxing.

All in all, it was a wonderful holiday and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was so nice to meet you all and we're happy you had such a good holiday. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil s
1 review
“The best place in all of France for a family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just returned from another fantastic fortnight at La Bigorre and once again we've had an excellent time with Rob and Paula. This time we shared The Farmhouse with our good friends, plenty big enough for the eight of us (four adults and four kids under eight).

We cannot recommend La Bigorre enough for a relaxing break in the glorious French countryside - all Sunflowers, vineyards and miles of quiet country lanes to cycle, walk and run along.

The beaches are near by, there are some lovely old towns to visit in the immediate area and best of all there is the pool, games, sports and crafts to entertain everyone - right there, as you walk out of the door.

The best place for families in the whole of the Charente. Fact.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
It was lovely to see you all again, and meet your friends, and we're so glad you all had a great holiday. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing