We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful and cool gite in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Manoir - the 10 x 5m pool with diving board set in huge grounds with beautiful trees.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Manoir - the 10 x 5m pool with diving board set in huge grounds with beautiful trees.
Le Manoir - The Gite - front with easy access Le Manoir - The Gite - patio with large BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Le Manoir - the 10 x 5m pool with diving board set in huge grounds with beautiful trees.
Le Manoir - The Gite - front with easy access
Le Manoir - The Gite - patio with large BBQ
Le Manoir - huge 4 acre grounds and showing layout of buildings and pool.
Le Manoir - aerial view of our huge 4 acre grounds - the pink areas are now all grass
The Gite - double bedroom - huge comfy bed
Large twin bedroom, easily space for a third bed or a cot on request.
The Gite - large open plan living area with kitchen beyond.
Le Manoir - lovely surroundings in huge grounds.
Le Manoir - The pool with wide steps and hand-rail to shallow end
Barn games area - table tennis, pool, table football, darts, pogo stick!!
Le Manoir - grounds - 14ft trampoline
Le Manoir - grounds - volley-ball & badmington net with rope swing beyond
Le Manoir - grounds - swings, trapeeze, acrobatic hoop and tree climbing ladder
The local lanes are very safe for cycling
A selection of mountain bikes for hire - many almost new - very good rates
Beautiful uninhabited Chateau just down the lane
Enjoy a meal or a stroll at one of the delightful fishing harbours nearby.
Wonderful golden beaches at Royan - arguably the best in France.
The Citadelle at Blaye, one of the many historic sites within easy reach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Sigismond de Clermont, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Phil M
1 review
“A peaceful and cool gite in a great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location is very rural and quiet, with lots of local lanes for cycling or walking and ideal as a base for exploring the region. The gite is an old building with very thick walls keeping it cool, which we really appreciated during the very hot weather during our stay. Having the large private grounds and unlimited access to the pool was also a real plus.
The kitchen is small - basic cooking is OK but not really possible to be more ambitious. But who goes on holiday to France to cook their own food?
The owner (Tony) is very helpful, particularly in providing and adjusting bicycles to suit any size. Lots to see and do in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you felt limited by the kitchen facilities, There is a large multifunction microwave / grill / oven in addition to the hob and summer is very much about cooking outside on the charcoal BBQ. With best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaullW2
1 review
“A delightful weeks holiday”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our visit to Le Manoir was delightful.
Quiet and peaceful in extensive grounds we thought the situation was beautiful.
We had excellent weather, and the well maintained large swimming pool was a fun way to cool down in the late afternoon.
Both Gites have a comprehensive barbecue set, and the owner, who lives on site, was pleased to advise where to buy the best meat and food locally.
Each gite is well equipped with TV etc and we cooked most evening meals on the barbecue.
A Super U supermarket is situated at Mirabeau only a few miles away, and the coast is about a half hours drive away.
The coastal towns and villages are very charming and picturesque with good restaurants. Tony Dearsley the owner will always point you in the right direction.
A lovely weeks holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Even though the weather was
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbear...
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and enjoyable able”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 2 weeks in the Gite - with 2 children 11 and 13.
Although the gite isn't massive it was tidy. We enjoyed cycling to the nearest Boulangerie(15 mins) and Go Kartng track(20 mins). The Manoir has all the facilities you would want to entertain with children- great pool, table tennis, table football and many other games in the grounds. It was nice to share the pool with a friendly family in the bigger gite. Tony the owner is very attentive but not too intrusive and has many good tips on the local area and what to do. Our favourites were - on site pool, Go Karting locally, Jonzac Market on Wednesday evening, Pons keep and pedaloes by the river, beach at St Georges De Didonnes with bikes along the beach. All in all we had a very enjoyable time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Many things
Liked least: Journey from/to airport
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveBD
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed a great family holiday in The Gite at Le Manoir, The accommodation is very comfortable and has everything you need. The huge grounds are just beautiful and there are so many things to do to keep the whole family entertained. Loads of sightseeing and activities within easy reach and the beaches at Royan are superb. The owner Tony is very helpful and will give you a briefing about the area so you can get the best out of your stay. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a lovely week at the gorgeous Le Manoir gite with our two boys aged 3 and 5. We loved our stay and we will have some great memories to share. The boys had an absolute ball and were very sad to go. We had a ball exploring the grounds and loved splashing about in the pool. Our 3 year old loved the ladder swing and our 5 year old loved hunting for snakes and lizards! A favourite pastime was for the boys to be cycling around the driveway whilst we could happily sip on our stock of French wine! We met some lovely people in the cottage opposite and the laid back nature and size of the grounds meant we could relax knowing all the children were playing happily and we could even have a conversation! With some great tips from Tony we explored the local area when the weather wasn't quite as hot as expected!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian w
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great just to hang out but well placed to tour the region”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a beautiful location easily accessible from Bordeaux and just a few minutes from the town of Mirambeau. The gite is part of a manoir where the owner Tony (English) lives and the setting is lovely, some times we just sat around the large pool but the location is ideal for touring the region and Tony was very helpful with ideas and helped plan our trips. Even our teenage kids enjoyed their stay!
We stayed in the gite which was fine for us, but we looked in at the newly refurbished cottage which is immaculate, maybe next time we will stay there but it does get booked quickly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacques p
Vaux-le-Penil, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Many thanks, a pleasure to have you all to stay at Le Manoir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing