We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to relax”

Review of Vacheroy Gite

Our Gite in the heart of the French countryside, sleeps  6 people. Relax in French sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Gite in the heart of the French countryside, sleeps  6 people. Relax in French sunshine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our Gite in the heart of the French countryside, sleeps  6 people. Relax in French sunshine
Light & airy lounge diner with old Elm beams & mezzanine area above
The countryside & rear garden view from the kitchen window
Moroccan influence lanterns above the outside dining terrace & BBQ area
Bunk beds (Downstairs opposite family bathroom) Curtain for privacy
Outdoor Table Tennis and pool table
Shaded outdoor lounge area with views over the pool & garden
Private, fenced, child & pet friendly, secure garden area with swing set & Tiny Tots slide.
The iconic sunflower fields of rural France
The village church across the fields in front of Vacheroy Gite
Sunset over the securely covered swimming pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sousmoulins, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Judeandwo...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for ten days at the end of August. The sun shone everyday so we made full use of the amazing pool and terrace. The kitchen is very well equipped and our hosts even got some shopping in for us before we arrived, which meant we could just get straight on with enjoying ourselves. Mark and Sandra are a fun, friendly couple who work hard to make this a home from home in this most beautiful part of France. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Hi Jude, Thanks for a lovely review, glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay & hopefully you'll come back to this beautiful part of France & stay with us again. Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJH_M...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay at Vacheroy”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Vacheroy for a week and had an excellent stay. Mark and Sandra were perfect hosts, lovely gite with a pool to match.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review & glad you enjoyed your stay Steve. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location in the countryside, surrounded by many sunflower fields, it was picturesque! The Gite had everything we needed and was very comfortable and homely. The girls particularly loved the Den!
The garden had plenty of space to run around. Swings and hammocks for us to enjoy, and of course the beautiful pool. It was all one depth which meant the grown ups could swim comfortably, and the kids could play safely on the floats etc. There were also other games/puzzles/books provided inside the house, as well as outside games like table tennis etc.
There was also an Ostrich farm nearby. The owner was very proud to show off her Ostriches and to tell you everything you needed to know about them.
Also, another restaurant called GIGI'S was close by, we went on a Saturday evening and enjoyed a lovely meal, and it had a great atmosphere.
Mark and Sandra couldn't have made us feel any more welcome, they really made our holiday. Our girls were really taken with their dogs, Ruby and Daisy, who were so gently and friendly.
All in all, it was a great Gite, and not too far away from the beaches and places of interest. Mark and Sandra were great hosts, and we all had a very relaxing holiday!
Thank you from the Meekums family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and welcoming!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks Andrea, we loved having you & your family stay here & look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallynia
1 review
“What a treat!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a lovely gite, with lovely sized rooms, well furnished and clean. The gardens are beautiful and has wonderful swimming pool. The location is perfect for exploring the lovely places such as Cognac, Bordeaux and Royan.
Sandra and Mark were great hosts, doing all they could to make your stay comfortable, we also enjoyed the frequent visit from Ruby and Daisy! We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. M & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vtwinjame...
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“superb, an amazing holiday.....”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We came over and stayed for a week in April as a family of two adults and two young children, and it was the perfect stay. The property itself is amazing, SO cozy and homely, we really felt at home. The bedrooms and all very spacious and well equipped, and the mezzanine room is incredible. The kitchen is perfect and has everything you need and more, as is the bathroom, however the highlight for me is the livingroom, its amazing, with a lovely fire, comfy suites and lovely and cozy, perfect. The grounds are incredible, and well maintained with plenty to entertain the little one or adults alike. The surrounding area is lovely and peaceful, even has Ostriches just down the road, and the main town with all you need just a 5 minute drive and bigger town all within 45 minutes or so. All in all an amazing place, and with the welcome recieved by Mark and Sandra it just made it feel even more special...... please dont hesitate, a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy feel
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your very kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family staying with us. We look forward to you returning with us very soon M & S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lajieve C
1 review
Reviewed yesterday for a stay in July 2018
NEW
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing