We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage in lovely Devon village”
other travellers have booked this property
lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge
lounge kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
lounge
lounge
kitchen/diner
kitchen area
kitchen
hall/landing
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
view from lounge to garden
bathroom
fully enclosed garden
clematis in flower
enclosed garden
Dining al fresco In the sunny south facing garden
Village shop and post office
Village pub - The Wyndham Arms
River at Topsham
The Cobb at Lyme Regis
Exeter Quays
Exeter cathdral
The Seaton Tramway
Broadhembury - a very pretty village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kentisbeare, Cullompton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sellarz
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in lovely Devon village”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We chose this accommodation based on proximity to friends in Uffculme, and on arrival yesterday we were so delighted to find it is just so lovely and perfect for our family of four. The cottage is cute but spacious and my daughter was so happy to get outside into the small garden in bare feet after two weeks in hotels and apartments. It's spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you could want including dishwasher, microwave, fridge and freezer and washer/dryer. I'm so delighted I can finally catch up on our family's washing! Jan the owner's communication has been superb and even though she wasn't here to greet us on arrival we were warmly greeted by the shopkeeper across the road and found scones with jam and clotted cream awaiting us. We had just travelled from Paris where we were confronted by police with guns every ten feet and we feel like the stress is now just melting away in this lovely haven. Only wish we were staying longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our cottage. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope maybe you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith A...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great in village location”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Able to walk to pub and small store, parking available but not always convenient. House was comfy and a good size for two. Nice enclosed garden we did not get to use. Handy for cullompton and regional explores. Welcoming owners and plenty of privacy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A wonderful cottage in a beautiful setting.
We had a lovely long weekend, staying very comfortably in Nightingales Cottage. The rooms are large, the kitchen well stocked and the enclosed garden an added bonus. The cream tea left for us went down well too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are always pleased to hear that guests have enjoyed their holiday, and liked the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susaninwo...
Woodstock, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday Cottage for Touring”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Simply put, we loved Nightingales Cottage and Kentisbeare so much that we are still missing it days after departing.
Our first trip to the UK couldn't have been happier, as the cottage is spectacularly cute, homely, and comfortable. We were welcomed with a cream tea and immediately felt at home. The cottage is sparklingly clear, furnished well and the little private garden out back was lovely. My favorite spot was at the bedroom skylight, which overlooks the church tower.
Kentisbeare has a great little market and a pub where we were made so welcome that we wish we really were locals so we could go again. We meant to cook meals but the food was so good we ate there three nights instead.
That freed us up to spend long days touring Cornwall, Bath, Stonehenge...just marvelous.
Not only would I go back to nightingales, I'd like to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I really couldn't choose...too many good things.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage, Kentisbeare, and touring the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalkerLau...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage at the heart of a bustling friendly village”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Comfortable cottage, well equiped and clean. Welcoming, friendly and attentive landlords and inhabitants of the village. Bustling pub with good food, local grocery with fresh local products, bread delivered every morning and if you would like to enjoy again one of the best scones of Devon you must book them in advance !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying here for 2 weeks, and visiting the village shop and the pub, and many of the attractions of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Charming cottage, spotlessly clean with everything anyone could wish for. A welcoming Cream Tea which was fabulous. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I wish our shower at home was as powerful as the one at Nightingales Cottage. Local shop across the road and a friendly pub selling Real Ales next door. Lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spotless, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was absolutely spotless on arrival and a delicious cream tea was awaiting us. The owner was welcoming and helpful. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed.
For our visit te located was ideal for visiting relatives but there were also lovely walks nearby and many places to visit within easy travelling distance.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing