We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub with good food”
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Lion Inn
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is a proper village pub with a choice of well kept interesting real ales.The food was exellent and the service and friendliness of the staff was of the highest order.I stayed on a Tuesday evening expecting the atmosphere to be on the quiet side but it was busy with local customers. I was given a double room of a good standard which was fine for one person but would be on the small side for two.
Chris from cardiff

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seren99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here after a friends wedding in the same village on friday evening. When we arrived we were booked into a basic room with a tiny shower above the pub itself. Early in the evening there was noise from the pub but nothing too disturbing on our return from the wedding at approx 11pm there was very loud music and singing to the point where u couldn't hear the tv in the bedroom this continued to past 2am. the later it got the louder the noises became!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethysharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I visited the restaurant with my husband, my mother and step-father for an evening meal. My husband and I had been before and enjoyed the experience. Out of the 4 of us, my husbands meal was less enjoyable. He politely made a comment to a female member of staff who offered an apology but did not acknowledge the fact he had not enjoyed his dinner and walked off. My husband proceeded to speak to the manager as he was not fully satisfied with the response. The manager was insincere and patronising and did not offer any sort of acknowledment (a gesture of good will i.e a coffee or drink on the house or discounted meal). Instead he became defensive, condescending and at one point downright obnoxious!
If you want to eat here and the meal is good you will enjoy your experience. If you dare to make any comments or complaints then be prepared for a very defensive, dismissesive manager who obviously cares more about his opinion and profit than retaining good customers. We will not be returning to the White Lion Inn due to this incident and neither will we recommend it to friends. The manager needs to reflect on his actions and to go on a customer service course and gain some people skills, which he clearly does not have. I cannot see that whilst he is manager that the restuarant will sustain it's customers long term.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank right-to-reply79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roachenpole, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

The problem for the reviewer seemed to stem from the fact that the meal served was for shell on Tiger Prawns,which we failed to deliver with a finger bowl and shell bowl at the time of serving. The problem was spotted by our manager before a complaint had been made ,the bowls were served and apologies were made ,by both waiter and manager. Unfortunately the customer was not satisfied with this,and made their views known to the proprietor.Once more apologies were made, but the customer turned the subject to total dissatisfaction of their evening,talk of free drinks and compensation and discounted meals. I must mention that all the meals had been eaten in their entirety and the plates on the table were clean. Again ,we are sorry that the reviewers night,or "Karma at the dining experience",as the reviewer said on the evening,had been spoiled by the absence of a finger bowl. A genuine omission had been made,and it is our belief that apologies were sufficient for the situation.We do not have a specific blanket discount policy for all complaints ,but take all comments and feedback very seriously,and treat each issue on it's own merits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Booked into here as a solo traveller after searching the internet and good beer guide.

The pub is exactly what I look for with bags of character but having a modern feel. There were plenty of good quality real ales to choose from and a decent menu selection. I only had the club sandwich but it came almost immediately and was well presented.

The rooms are part of a separate building in what looks like converted outhouses. Again, they were relatively modern but were very basic, ok for just me but would normally go for a more boutique feel if with my girlfriend.

A couple of things I would change would be carpet instead of wood floor in the bedroom and there does need to be curtains as well as a blind as the room was very light from about 4am.

Finished off with a great breakfast in the morning, perfect poached eggs.

All in all an enjoyable stay and I will definitely be back if I am working in that area again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DamonandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sub270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sub270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
1.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: £95 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
The White Lion Inn Hampton-In-Arden, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing