We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the NEC”
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Lion Inn
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here as a couple with another couple after a day at the NEC. It was close, say only about ten minutes drive away maximum. The pub was lovely, seemed like a proper little local and all the staff were lovely!

We had our evening meal there and the food was lovely, proper homemade grub!! The breakfast in the morning was great also. All cooked fresh to order.

The room we had was above the bar but surprisingly quiet, the only noise we could hear was from other guests coming and going out their rooms. It was small but had all you would need, shower was fine. The bed was extremely comfy and it had tea, coffee making facilites also. Our friends we were travelling with stayed in the cottage next to the beer garden and we had a peek in there, that room was also lovely.

All in all a lovely stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannelummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Dear Chris and Fan Fan

We all had a lovely time with you last weekend - really pleased to have found you; much nicer staying at the White Lion rather than a faceless commercial hotel and so convenient for the airport, the NEC and the city! Lovely surroundings, lovely food and friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneStammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

we (7 members of my family) have just come back for our wonderful stay at the white lion. the staff are so lovely and welcoming, we felt like we where staying with family. rooms are just beautiful, breakfast was great. i couldn't say enough good things about this place and the staff. we would deffinatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank col t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here as a cheaper alternative to the manor house whilst attending a wedding,(BIG MISTAKE). Room was rubbish,tiny damp and cold. The en-suite was little more than a cupboard,
un-useable tiny sink with glass shelf above. We asked for the heating to be put on but this dident
happen till we were about to depart. Service and breakfast were just about passable but what really made our stay was the damage to our car which occurred in thier cctv covered car park. The staff were aware of an incident even supplying us with registration and make of car but later apparently denied everything to our insurance company.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roachenpole, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are sorry you feel that our Inn is "rubbish", but also find it odd that this review was written some 3 months after your stay. You compare us with Hampton Manor as a cheaper alternative. We are a country pub charging £37.50 per person including breakfast,they are a 5 Star manor house starting at £200 per night ! An unfair comparison we think. With regards to your insurance claim, the exact same details that were given to yourself were given to your insurers, car details and registration number of the car parked next to yours. Unfortunately, the cctv coverage did not cover any incident. We answered the questionaire you insurance company sent to us in a clear and honest way. Again,we are sorry that you feel you have to review us in this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Went to a wedding just down the road and stayed here for 1 night. really enjoyed my stay here, staff were welcoming, rooms were very clean and tidy also had a really nice breakfast here. would def recommend the white lion.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash198527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a superb Inn, rooms are clean and priced well for its location near the NEC and Airport. The food is of a high quality and at a good price, if you like real ale you are also in for a treat. I have stayed here a few times now and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianfromhildenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for a Wedding at nearby Hampton Manor on 11th August.

Very impressed with the little annex which all the rooms were in; which was away from the main pub and therefore the noise of Saturday night

Liked the space-efficiency of the room which was clean & cosy at the same time

Didn't like how thin the floor was; the people below came in late an we could hear everything. I'm sure it was the same for them when we got up early in the morning.

Went over for breakfast at 09:15 on Sunday morning; it starts at 08:30. Hardly any of the buffet was out and the proprieter was apologising to some people who had had to leave early to go to the NEC and who were saying they had find the chef first thing to make their food.

Our breakfast was good when it arrived but then when we went to pay the chap taking the money tried to over charge us.

So in synopsis: Good value for the £75 B&B but clearly currently has some staffing issues to be resolved

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank mrwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roachenpole, Manager at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and may we apologise for any misunderstandings. You are quite right that we did have a staffing issue on that morning as one of our staff members had not turned up for work ,leaving us one short. Not an excuse,but an explanation. With regard to breakfast,we do not serve a buffett. All our meals,breakfast or dinner ,are individually prepared and cooked to order,and that includes freshly ground Lavazza coffee,not served buffet style,except for cereals and juices which are self serve.
With regards to our rooms,we are a 400 year old ,grade 2 listed inn,with a converted bake house annex which you stayed in. This obviously gives a great amount of charm,but can also provide constraints as to the use of modern building techniques. We can only apologise again for any noise made by other guests. On the weekend in question we were fully booked,with 7 out of our 9 rooms occupied by people attending the same wedding as yourself. On that night we did have some comments made about the noise made by certain guests returning from that wedding reception, in the early hours. A situation beyond our control,but nevertheless, we do apologise. We are glad that you found our rate of £75 for 2 people,including breakfast,good value and thank you for you valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
1.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: £95 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
The White Lion Inn Hampton-In-Arden, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing