We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond discovered!!”
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Lion Inn
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

After hours of searching for hotels close to the NEC for Beauty UK my company was exhibiting at I started to panic a little, everything was full.
Thankfully I found this gem!
Our stay was very positive, it made such a nice change not to be staying in a chain hotel in the middle of an industrial area where the windows don't even open!
The surrounding village is beautiful. Chris and FanFan made a conscious effect to interact and make us feel welcome.
Readers wanting to stay here do need to realistic about staying in a grade 2 listed building, each room is unique, floors aren't even and might creek. The bathrooms may not all be spacious however it's lovely to stay somewhere non conventional, you can see how much work has been put into this property to bring up to modern day standards. Ask them about their journey, we did and it was very interesting.
Great job guys! :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank DanWheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The White Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Chris & Fanfan made us feel very welcome on our 3 night stay. Had a nice stay. Good food, nice breakfast, pleasant rooms.

Will stay again when I next visit the Birmingham NEC.

Most of the rooms are in the old pub, should expect some unique quirks with old buildings, like low ceilings, wonky floors and the occasional bit of noise from downstairs when the locals are in high spirits. But things quieten down after closing time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank 5277RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A couple of us stayed here recently while working about 10 miles away in Birmingham. Our company normally stays in the mainstream branded hotels but when we looked up the prices they were asking crazy amounts in the city! A bit of Googling found The White Lion and it was much better than staying somewhere large and impersonal.

The couple running the Inn were friendly and helpful throughout our two night stay. There are rooms above the pub and more the other side of the car park. If you want a quiet early night then ask for the ones that aren't part of the main building.

It is a very old building but does seem to mix modern with old and retain the charm of period features. Both rooms were well equipped and more than suitable for a couple of overnight stops. Given the inn is over 400 years old expect creaky floorboards and a slightly uneven floors - but this all adds to the character!

We had an evening meal there and the choice was varied enough to give you a reasonable selection but if you're staying there for more than a few days and are a fussy eater you might be repeating some of the meals. The quality and taste was really good and the restaurant area service was very attentive too so we were pleased about that. The custard with the crumble managed to be lumpy and runny at the same time and wasn't that nice but otherwise the whole meal was faultless.

We also had a couple of breakfasts there and the full English was great and really sets you up for the day. All the different parts had really good flavours and you could tell that decent ingredients had been used.

There's free wifi in the Inn and it just about reaches over to the outside building.

There's plenty of car parking out the back and a good selection of beers (it is a pub after all) and we'd definitely stay here again next time we're working in the area.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms in the building by the car park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesthamWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went to the White Lion Inn for Sunday lunch. Sunday's aren't the best for vegetarians as many restaurants tend to go for roast menus, this was no exception. Pasta again. Yawn. This time with a Stilton and Parmesan sauce (were these cheeses made with vegetarian rennet?). For £9.50, I expected a salad, and perhaps even some garlic bread. All I was served was a medium sized portion of penne pasta swimming in sauce. Nothing else. The mark up on this was horrific. No effort was made to make the meal look value for money. In fact, I did complain and the waitress kindly got me a salad gratis. This was needed as otherwise the cheesy sauce would have been too over-powering.

Even the weekday menu choice for vegetarians - vegetable noodles - looked uninspiring and unappetising.

My friends commented that the meat roasts were also very average for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

First visit. Parked in the car park,10min walk to station, one stop to NEC....so convenient.
Good atmosphere to bar and restaurant and wide selection of beers.
Evening meal was surprisingly disheartening..One main course was a big mistake but was sorted out quickly to our satisfaction.We made our choices from the dessert menu, but the waitress returned from the kitchen to say neither were available! Rhubarb and peach crumble had turned into apple and raspberry crumble, which seemed to be apple and v sweet n sticky raspberry jam crumble ....chef having an off day?
Breakfast was fine, with proper individual coffees (Lavazza?) though missed not having a menu to choose from.
Very friendly owner and efficient waitresses redeemed what could have been a disappointing stay.
We got the feeling that a some of the guests had stayed before....always a good sign. I hope we just had a bit of bad luck with the evening meal and so will book again for the next visit to NEC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed whist visiting the NEC and found the staff and owners charming. The food was excellent and the accommodation in the main building quaint, clean and comfortable. We liked it so much we went back for dinner the night after we checked out, even though it was a large detour on our way home . Thoroughly recommend, if you want something other than a standard boring hotel! Thank you to all that we met...

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I did stay in room 1 but then I am only 5,6”, the room took you back into history very quirky, Stopping over on business I wanted to stay at a real Inn and that is what I got.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable, as to the inn the bar was well stocked with real ales and the restaurant was great, the mushroom and stilton starter is to dies for.
The staff very helpful and friendly, lots of locals, location great for Midlands and met my requirement to be close to Birmingham airport.
When booking to stay at an Inn I always check the bar and ales a good busy Inn will have good but quirky accommodation but don’t expect 5 stars, clean and comfortable yes.

Room Tip: If you are tall then room 1 is not for you, as shower may be a problem, but don't let this put y...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
1.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: £92 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
The White Lion Inn Hampton-In-Arden, Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing