We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
353
71
19
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
71
19
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peels restaurant afternoon tea michelin star tasting menu special occasion original features pure luxury beautiful room roll top bath scones finger sandwiches flight path beautiful grounds wedding breakfast birmingham airport wedding venue bridal suite
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hampton Manor is a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. I attended a wedding here recently, and was expecting big things upon my next visit. Myself and my friend went for a meal in the restuarant. The food was nice (although they were small portions), and the atmosphere was good. The only thing I will say is that the service and management really lets the place down. This is a shame as this is all that I remember from our meal. Don't think I'll be making the journey to visit again for what was such poor customer service.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Lilycar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were taken to Hampton Manor for afternoon tea by our daughter.
The setting is superb and the house elegant.
The staff were polite and attentive and the afternoon tea excellent.
We are planning to return for a weekend escape when time permits.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went to Hampton Manor Hotel for Sunday Lunch today and it was superb! Attentive staff, amazing food served in elegant surroundings and great value too. Totally lush with a good ambience. Will definitely be returning.

We were also lucky enough to get a tour of the rooms. Each room is unique and spacious. They are exquisitively decorated with great views over the grounds.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank corinnes641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We were attending a trade show at the NEC and all hotels nearby we're full - what a result !! Location perfect, 3 minute train journey direct to the NEC, excellent rooms and incredibly relaxing stay! Ate in Fred's bar, great service and make sure you have the breakfast !!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KJRNrGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Slightly reminiscent of Fawlty Towers, but on a grander scale. We booked well in advance, chose our room from their website, arrived, and ..... were shown a different room. We were taken to the correct (pre-booked) room, The Richard, which was spacious, quirky, and newly decorated. Sadly, we stayed there on the freak coldest night of the whole year (late March!!) and woke early to see our breath billowing up in clouds from under the duvet. It was +2deg C, and the "heating in that wing had failed to come on" !!! Sleeping in the car would have been more fun.
But .... after severe pressure on the stone-faced receptionist and a hurried phone call to "a manager" we were eventually re-assigned to the room we were first shown into. Fortunately this proved to be more comfortable,and warm. Sadly they still had issues with plumbing and the bathroom radiator in this room was also "non-functioning".
Despite these minor irritations, we were looked after superbly. James, the owner of this magnificent estate was always on hand. He is chatty, knowledgeable on the building's history, attentive, and aware of his customers needs. Together with his wife they have created an interesting mix of hotel, decor, style, fine dining (it really was good!!), convenience for the NEC, and with a slight flair of "Sir" Basil Fawlty.
The Peel restaurant closes on Sunday and Monday nights. Possibly a good thing as there is no way we would have survived on our diets had we eaten there on all three nights of our stay !! The food is excellent. Yes, it IS "Fine Dining" but in a good "down to earth" kind of way. The restaurant staff all seem to be be young locals, getting some very good training, are amusing with their chat, and call the clients "mate".
Bar food is served on Sunday and Monday evenings in the cosy little .... bar. The difference here is that "chef" is still actually at work, you get exactly the same quality of food, all courses, but served as a TV dinner rather than in the sumptuous surroundings or the baronial dining hall. A win-win situation.

To sum it up? The Hampton Manor is a 3 star hotel, which should be a 4 star, with 5 star food, 2 star staff (excl management) who should really be give another star for "trying", and management who really could NOT do more for their customers. Wonderful stay, and we would gladly go back there (diary note: ask if plumbing has been fixed!)

Location? That should be kept a secret. It is so close to the NEC it is a wonder that no one has found it yet. I fear that if it becomes public knowledge it will be fully booked next time I need to be in that area.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews