We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos des Pierres Rouges
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Maryland
2 reviews
“Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

In August my wife and I spent a night at Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges as part of a two week vacation in France. Though the location was a bit hard to find (we had a GPS, and were happy we did), and the access road was a bit narrow, the accommodations were great. This B&B has recently had an extensive make-over; so all of the amenities are very much up to date. Communicating in English is no problem - unlike many other establishments in the surrounding area. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating; and the continental breakfast was nice - featuring a variety of homemade breads and jams.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhaines01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
134
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
366 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Sylvie and Thierry couldn't have been better hosts! Their little hotel is modern, comfortable and the food offered delicious. Thierry makes his own breads, while Sylvie makes her own preserves and is the primary chef in the kitchen. This is a charming place to spend a night or more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We walked a portion of the Chemin in September and selected to stay at Le Clos des Pierres Rouge. We booked the hotel, by chance, using booking.com. The experience was absolutely wonderful. Our room was spacious, spotless and a pilgrim's dream. We opted to dine with Sylvie and Thierry and what a wonderful choice that was. Gourmet food. Wow. We didn't want to leave. Ever. The river rock shower floor massaged our weary feet and we were completely refreshed after a single overnight. This gem is also featured in Karen Brown's France guidebook. What a discovery!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were walking the Chemin de St Jacques in September and went a little off-route to visit this chambre d'hote. It was the most enjoyable stop on our route. Our charming hosts took the greatest trouble to make us comfortable and served a delightful gourmet meal. The house is modern and in a lovely rural setting - our bedroom had its own terrace giving access to the garden. We could not have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The chambre d'hote is an excellent stay over night, in a competely renovated farm with red stones. It is located just outside the small village. Sylvie and Tierry Grumelat are very frinedly hosts. Our wives just the spot by car, but we were on the bike and it was a bit difficult for us to find it. Thierry offered to go and pick us up, but it was not necessary. Outside we had a few drinks and later we had inside the dinner of excellent quality ( with typical local ingredients, especially the local cheese was really nice). The rooms were roomy and well equipped. It was the best chmabre d'hote of our trip and we would advise everybody to go there.

Thanks Sylvie and Thierry!!!y

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recco, Italia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at Le Clos des Pierre Rouges over night on our way back to home. The atmosphere was warm and frendly, the room was magnificent, and the cuisine was superb, focused on regional products and recipes. Everything was perfect, even in the minute details. An excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttaviaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I greatly enjoyed a one night stay. I was walking the Chemin de
St Jacques and I was picked by the o owner at a nearby town on the trail and returned to it the new A.M. The accommodation is absolutely first rate and the 5 or so course dinner was magnificent.

Simply put, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Privat-d'Allier
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
#1 of 1 in Monistrol-d'Allier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Centre
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Cent...
#1 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Alize
Hotel Alize
#12 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Le Haut Allier
Le Haut Allier
#1 of 1 in Alleyras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
9.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Le Puy En Velay
B&B Hotel Le Puy En Velay
#5 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cabourne
La Cabourne
#1 of 5 in Saint-Privat-d'Allier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Pierres Rouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Pierres Rouges

Property: Le Clos des Pierres Rouges
Address: Place Called "Rougeac", 43580 Saint-Privat-d'Allier, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Loire > Saint-Privat-d'Allier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Privat-d'Allier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stalled on a mountainside in a authentic small village of 35 souls in auvergne,le clos des pierres rouges is an old farm completly renovated 2009, wich offers confortable guest rooms.The marriage of the old with the contemporary givesgreat elegance and refinement. At the crossroad of the road to st james de compostele,the picturesques gorges of the allier river and the road to the beast of gevaudan the location of le clos des pierres rouges promisse youunforgettables moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos des Pierres Rouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing