We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and lovely walk.”
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

The Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Walcott
Price range: US$6 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The nearest larger town is North Walsham, we are located on the Coast Road between Stalham and Bacton - you cant miss us! Steve, the landlord has been the owner here for 25 years - and the Lighthouse is known for great food is cooked on our premises, and as many of the ingredients as we can we source from local farmers and businesses. Our freshly cooked Steak and Ale or Steak and Kidney pies are simply the best in the area, served with either fresh vegetables or chips and loads of gravy the choice is yours. Car Parking and outside tables make this a must visit place. In the summer we have a large marquee, which caterers for weddings and parties along with family entertainment nights at the weekend.
Reviewed 31 October 2020

Had a great meal here yesterday followed by a six mile walk to work it off. Service was friendly and helpful. Quite busy but we felt safe and the rules that are currently in force were being followed by the pub. Really good choice on the menu. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G1387GTgarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2020

It’s such a shame that I was so impressed by the food, and then thoroughly distressed by this establishments COVID 19 measures. My family were seated and we had a considerable wait for the meal. High quality food and very much enjoyed. Until the end of our meal when the owner willingly let a waitress seat a gathering of 6 less than a foot away from us.

Our family has 3 vulnerable people and rarely takes the risk of eating out. We thought we’d stay safe and eat locally. Didn’t know we’d have to risk our safety so that the owner could accommodate and please the regulars. When brought to his attention he barely apologised and seemed oblivious.

Social distancing was not maintained by them, breaking COVID restrictions. More responsibility should be taken in the future, to make sure people are actually safe.

My apologies as this was not meant to cause offence but I can only speak truthfully of my experience and express my upset.

Date of visit: October 2020
5  Thank G5587BTkateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation and managed to get a table, it felt clean and safe and most of us had the excellent fish basket which had chunks of cod, monkfish and prawns in a good batter. Very reasonable and excellent quality

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank sparky_112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Fantastic food amazing, was so good we went back a second time only to have the same amazing experience food first class presentation exceptional, keep up the good work. Barry and Jan 24/10/2020

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janetsM48EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Visited for my husbands 81st birthday . Very pleasant Staff and a warm welcome, a very good selection of proper food on the menu with local seafood a speciality. The portions are quite large as are the Chunky Chips. Husbands Mixed Grill was excellent as was my Hunter Chicken cooked to perfection.
The staff were very Covid aware and repeated sanitisation was carried out throughout the evening. A very pleasant visit indeed

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DY200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.