We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petebeava...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in August 2017

3 adults and 2 kids stayed here very nicely last august. lots of room and a beautiful setting just yards from the stunning bacton Beach.
Everything we needed for a comfortable week stay. We are retuning this year and all of as are very much looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler6...
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a wonderful surprise this cottage was! The pictures do not do it justice!!! Booked for a short getaway to celebrate my mums 60th Birthday and Mothers Day.
Really clean and beautifully decorated. Bottle of wine, milk, biscuits and a loaf of bread to welcome us. We had my small terrier with us and it was a really lovely touch to have doggy towels, food and water bowls already (we had brought all this with with us as we didn't realise!) The garden was totally secure and its great theres a second entrance close to the bathroom for muddy paws! The whole cottage was above and beyond - lovely touches throughout - even had hot water bottles on our beds!
The ONLY downside with the cottage is the access road - Mill Lane - which was very potholed - thankfully we had a HRV and we just took it really slowly.

Nothing to do with the cottage itself really but more the location - Bacton beach - very inaccessible when we were there - don't know if it's because it was March and not the summer but as there is the big concrete barrier/promenade and groynes there weren't many steps down onto the beach and those that were there left a massive gap to jump down onto the sand and then hope you can climb back up. Perhaps the tide is out further in the summer and you can walk around the groynes at low tide, also 'The Beast From The East' storm had been through just a week earlier so may have washed sand away?
We found Sea Palling, Mundesley and Winterton-on-Sea brilliant for long beach walks - mostly groyne free or steps over them.

Overall - wonderful holiday and made memories to last a lifetime and would totally recommend. Thank you!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieholt...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“3rd in a row”
Reviewed 14 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We absolutely love it here and will be making our 3rd booking in a row for 2018. It's ideal for our group. Great to taking the dog on long walks with a lovely fry up breakfast at the end in Walcott. So close to the beach that we take a morning cup of coffee to the beach and let the kids enjoy playing in the morning surf.
House has all we need to keep everyone happy and love the little treats we are left to greet us on arrival. Also enjoy a large piece cake at the tea room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Best weekend lovely place to be
For relaxing very peaceful stay
Great welcome pack in cottage
Fantastic walk with the dog
By the sea

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo2003
england
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in August with my husband, nineteen year old daughter and dog. The cottage is in an ideal location, just a short stroll from the beach, which is dog friendly and nice and quiet. The cottage itself is pretty basic but has everything you need and the garden is enclosed which is ideal if you're taking a dog on holiday with you. I'd say this place is ideal for a beach holiday, but you'd need a car if you want to explore further afield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan855
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in ideal surroundings”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Cottage by the Sea is a very nice comfortable home and we spent 5 happy days with our 2 young dogs. The beach is just metres away and you alight onto miles of sand. The property is very well equipped, everything we needed had been provided. Nearby are dog friendly cafes and pub eateries. I hope we shall return as we did not venture further than Cromer and there is so much else to see and do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing