We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home from home by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

johnQ3500...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful home from home by the sea”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The sound of the sea and the warmth of a woodburner. Unbeatable. Well appointed with all modern conveniences you would expect or hope for - including fast and reliable broadband. Second visit and hope there will be more.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Hello,
Thanks for the lovely review of Beach House and Walcott North Norfolk, I really appreciate it!
Hope to see you down by the beach again in the future
Kind Regards
Michael
Barn & Beach
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Your review made me think;So I went through the list;-
House fully redecorated every Autumn
Real Oak floor polished every December
New bathroom in the last two years
Modern contemporary furniture, leather sofa , ikea relaxing chair, John Lewis dining set comfortably seats five, Iron Bed company bed with memory foam mattress
New toaster Kettle and Microwave (Easter) Full height fridge/freezer, electric oven fully serviced and cleaned by the Norfolk oven company.Washing machine (no dryer?)
Hi speed BT broadband 32" flat screen freeview tv and dvd player
Well appointed and maintained South facing garden car parking space for two cars
Oil fired central heating system and a traditional log burning stove that our Autumn and Winter guests love (but it may look a little old fashioned?)
Dated?
Thanks for visiting and taking time to review The Beach House.
Michael
Barn & Beach
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Great to read your positive review of the Beach House Walcott
hope to see you again this year!
Regards
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrsderry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Priceless view”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned today from a few days at the Beach house Walcott.
Faultless accommodation, lovely and cosy with a log burning stove.
All your needs catered for and Michael the owner lives nearby so can help with any queries.
Left the bedroom French doors open all night just to hear the sea which is a few metres away . View amazing and was a perfect setting for our wedding anniversary
Will be back again one day in the warmer weather

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, we have may more reviews for this house on our own page at Barn & Beach!
Look forward to welcoming you back in the summer
Thanks Again
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thanks for the review, you can see many more o our own page at Barn & Beach.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the Beach House next year.
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy S
Cotswold
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely little house with spectacular sea views. The house is very well equipped and very comfortable. The local village shop is just a short walk away and very well stocked. There are two lovely pubs in walking distance with good food and friendly staff. The house is well located for local attractions. I would recommend this house for a peaceful, wind down holiday.

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Dear Lucy
Thanks for the review of Beach House, I hope to welcome you back again in the future
Regards
Michael
If you wish to read more reviews of the house look on our trip advisor Barn & Beach
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and comfortable house.”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Booking was easy and straightforward and all emails were answered swiftly.

The property was well equipped generally and was clean and tidy, the bed is very comfortable and the choice of cooking utensils was amongst the best I have experienced in any cottage we have rented, it was very warm and cosy. we didn't need to use the wood burner but there was plenty of logs in the outside store. The central heating worked well and there was constant hot water and plenty of it. The property also had a good selection of basic provisions which was helpful. Milk, tea, coffee, hot cross buns, butter, jam and daffodils had been left for us which was very nice. The property also has a downstairs WC.

The view from the cottage is lovely and it is very quiet and incredibly peaceful. The beach is very easily accessed from the property and the coastal footpath is directly outside the house. I have a disability and it was easily accessible for me and I was able to walk along the path and into the village with two crutches.

The rear enclosed garden is lovely and a real suntrap. It is very secure for children and pets, this is a real bonus given the close proximity to the beach. It would make a lovely spot for a barbeque as the weather gets better.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather given how awful the first week of Easter was, the sun shone for us everyday.

The nearest supermarket is in North Walsham (Sainsburys) about 5 miles away, however, the little store in the village is reasonably priced and quite well equipped, the wine was varied and well priced! I did notice a supermarket delivery van at one of the cottages in the row, so that would be a good option.

The Wifi was very limited and there were days when we couldn't access it all. We couldn't get a mobile phone signal in the house or the rear garden, but if we walked to the edge at the very front of the house we got a signal some of the time. We also had a lot of trouble with the signal on the tv, some channels more so than others. However, none of this was a big problem and we managed fine without it. Many of the properties we have visited have these issues, so we have come to accept it as part of the experience.

We went for the peace and tranquillity and we certainly got this in spades and would recommend this property to others. It would be perfect for a family with young children who are looking for a reasonably priced beach holiday away from all the commercialism of many holiday resorts. It was like stepping back in time to the childhood holidays I loved and remember.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The uncertanty around wifi, phone and tv signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.