We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Father's Day Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knot Inn

The Knot Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Father's Day Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited this pub on Father's Day with the family and were surprised to find that there was no "Sunday Lunch Menu" and all choices were from the A La Carte. Although the food was very good it was a bit expensive for Sunday Lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollygreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    42
    23
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reasonable Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Called on a Saturday evening it was pleasant to be somewhere without football and loud music the menu choice for a small pub was very reasonable not too expensive fast service all in all a very pleasant evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davros97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Pub in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a lovely pub! Cannot understand some of the snippy remarks by other reviewers here. The Knot Inn has a lovely atmosphere, serves great food and is good value. The Landlady and her husband are cheerful and welcoming. You won't be disappointed when you visit. PS Meat and potato pie -yummy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bestbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So disappointing !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have passed this pub several times and thought it looked lovely. Some friends were visiting with their grandchildren and as we also had ours it's seemed the perfect choice. The children's menu was £5.95 which seemed a tad expensive and then they had a specials board for adults at £6. When ordering we asked if we could have the specials but a child's portion and the young lady said yes but it would be £5.95 for half which seemed ridiculous. I personally had the home cooked chicken and mushroom pie which judging by the soggy pastry must had been reheated in the microwave. Others had the sausage and mash and said the sausages tasted cheap and horrid. We were extremely disappointed with our choices. The only redeeming feature were the home made chips which were yummy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aidlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent lamb chops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Called in here one evening on the way back to my hotel. The place is quite large and a huge garden out the back with nice views. I would imagine it would be very popular on a sunny day.

Inside the pub has a lot of nice character, good size room at the rear for larger groups, and it was quite busy on a Tuesday night, so imagine popular with locals.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a really nice dish of lamb chops with a gorgeous leak and potato mash. Highly recommended. Beer also good with a reasonable selection.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Knot Inn also viewed

Rushton Spencer, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Kerridge, Bollington
 
Hapton, Lancashire
 

Been to The Knot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing