We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Dalton Pottery Art Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Dalton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dalton Pottery is a unique business; we pride ourselves on providing individual customer service to make your visit special for everyone. Our exclusive designs are available to buy in the gift shop or you can paint your own! We offer special commissions,and also hand painted one-offs. Children's hand prints make a beautiful keepsake, the possibilities are endless, just ask one of our friendly staff to help you choose. We have everything you need to create a special piece of pottery to take home with you, in less than an hour. Choose from a wide range of glazed pots, and get painting with our special ceramic colours, which when baked, are food and dishwasher safe. Anyone who can hold a paint brush can paint a pot!Free use of workshop, all materials and baking , all you pay for is the pot. (Baking takes just 35 minutes).Prices start at £7. No need to book.Why not try our fab Spin Art...There’s no skill required, fun and suitable for everyone from 2 to 102!
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Lovely little cafe very relaxing.Food was good.Our Son made himself some spinning art which he enjoyed doing & didn't get into to much of a mess the art is now hanging up pride of place in his room.Nice little play area out the back.There is allsorts for the kids to do from painting a plate to painting a duck plus the spinning art aswell.The place looks brilliant as soon as you pull into the car park with 2 very colourful cows & a VW Beetle very badly parked in a tree!! but looks great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJTANDS, Owner at Dalton Pottery Art Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I've visited here several times over many years. The children love creating their own works of art. the owners Jenny and Geoff are readily available for a chat and make you feel really welcome. Try geoffs scones they are lovely. Prices vary on the pottery making it available to all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJTANDS, Owner at Dalton Pottery Art Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank for the kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place but owner could be better”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I really liked visiting this special little place but the owner lady's attitude was quite offish which I found very disappointing. As its so nice for children to paint & mould.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Venue”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stopped at this Cafe on a cycle ride, and what a fantastic place.... lots to do for children and some wonderful pottery, clothes and art to buy as well. I was not able to sample the cakes as J am a coeliac, however Jenny supplied me with Rice Cakes and Peanut butter from her own house..... now that is what I call service.... thank you so much for looking after us so well. We will certainly be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TCAAppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We went yestarday,the staff were very helpful from the min we walked in the door,the kids were asked to choose what they wanted to paint (all clearly priced) after they made there choice they were kitted out with long sleeve aprons.The woman then explained what to do and left them to it,when finished the pottery was put in the oven for half an hour,time passed quickly as they played outside on the slide and see-saw.The items were then packed into boxes. Lovely staff and there are lots of choice of items to paint from piggy banks to butterflys, also you can get baby's foot and hand prints done a lovely keep sake.Couple of hours well spent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalton Pottery Art Cafe also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dalton Pottery Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing