We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Goodtimes”
Review of Mongena Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mongena Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safari Goodtimes”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The safari was awesome. We actually witnessed a lion hunt attacking wildebeest. Its well worth a visit and only an hour from Joburg. The rooms are very big in a beautiful lodge setting. I recommend the evening tour. Our guide was Pieter, he was very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw antelope, Lions, warthogs, Buffalo, Blue Wilder beast and white Rhyno. Amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    44
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
52
48
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had an awesome 3 night stay here at the beginning of our SA holiday.
Could not really fault the service and super friendly staff.
The on-site restaurant here is really awesome, such good value and fantastic tasting food, plus we spotted 2 resident crocodiles in the on-site lake!

The game walk was great. Did not do the game drive.

Lovely pool area that we relaxed around.

Do stay here, it is super close to Johannesburg - ideal for families with children. You can view lion, cheetah, elephants, rhino and giraffe here as well so no need to go far to see wild animals in their natural habitat
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is a lovely massive room but to give this 10/10, I would say the addition of a mini fridge plus some attention to minor repairs in that room, would ensure a 10/10 rating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne2cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took advantage of a Valentine's Special by Mongena. This included accommodation for Friday night, a game drive (we could book any of the time slots that suited us), dinner at the Kingfisher Restaurant and breakfast on Saturday morning. Being adventurous, I booked it as a surprise for my wife, while knowing little about the venue. I am pleased to say that we had a wonderful time! I was worried after making the initial inquiries and booking, as electronic communication proved to be very slow. I raised this with the owner's wife, who explained their connectivity predicament and the fix they had just deployed. Apart from this, everything went smooth. The lodge is an an area where the "Big 5" game can be viewed, and the Friday late afternoon/early evening game drive was superb with 2 of the Big 5 sighted. The drive included a fine selection of drinks and snacks. We did lunch at Kingfisher just after our arrival, and while the restaurant service was a little slow, the food was great. The evening dinner yielded a better result, with an amazing, high end three course meal and excellent service. Our accommodation was in a unit suitable for four people, and the main room included a king size bed. The place was neat, well equipped and finding a Zebra on my portch was great! Not only can I recommend Mongena, but the greater Dinokeng area was great, and only 45 minutes out of Pretoria. Well done, I cannot wait to go back, taking my kids to enjoy the area, game and swimming pool!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent the weekend at Mongena - what a pleasure! The staff was very friendly & helpfull. We had a wonderful room and the food at the Kingfisher restaurant was excellent. Our gamedrives were fantastic. Thank you to Riaan that managed to find lion, cheeta, elephants, rhino, giraffes, etc. all within a 3 hour drive!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Staff were exceptionally friendly. The food served in the Kingfisher restaurant was extremely well presented and delicious. The lodge is beautifully laid out with high-quality fittings and finishes. Well worth the price and worth returning to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostert585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just 55Km / ½ Hours drive from my home in Pretoria you arrive at this stunning peace of earth.

Because it was a first time visit and we didn't exactly knew what to expect, I only booked one night. What I am very grateful for was the two game drives that I booked.

Our game ranger and tracker on both drives where Andries (GR) and Rexton (Tracker) and extremely well educated and very good at what they do. It is great to meet people that you can see and hear that they are loving what they do.

We had a three course dinner at the Kingfisher restaurant and what a delight.

We spotted 3 out of the Big 5!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is my second time to Mongena and my family's first trip. Often, after an excellent visit, the second visit falls seriously short. This did not happen I am very happy to say. Our game drives with Jessie and Dafnika were exceptional and we saw all of the big 5 except the leopard. We got very up close and personal with some ellies and saw hippos, lots of plain game, giraffe and even a very newly born kudu baby! The restaurant is very good and made a plan for me when I didn't eat the set menu mains so that I could still have a really nice meal. Overall - outstanding service, excellent and beautifully equipped rooms and generally a relaxing and accommodating experience. And we did this all with a 2 year old!!! Thank you so much to Jessie and Isaac specifically who were stand out staff with excellent service and attitudes!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammanskraal
20.9 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
160 reviews
21.1 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
21.9 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#8 of 73 in Pretoria
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Foreva Wild
Foreva Wild
#2 of 15 in Hammanskraal
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamboti Bush Lodge
Tamboti Bush Lodge
#4 of 15 in Hammanskraal
13 reviews
13.3 mi away
Zenzele River Lodge
Zenzele River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Rust de Winter
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mongena Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mongena Game Lodge

Property: Mongena Game Lodge
Address: JR87 Boekenhoutkloof, Rust de Winter Road D48 | Dinokeng Game Reserve, Hammanskraal 0400, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hammanskraal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hammanskraal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mongena Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 63 bed, 4 star rated, non-self catering Lodge is situated in the north-western section of the 18,500 ha free roaming big 5 Dinokeng Game Reserve and is accessible by tarred main road, 40 minutes from Tshwane/Pretoria and 1.5 hr from Johannesburg/O.R.Tambo Airport in the province of Gauteng, South Africa. The lodge boasts 25 tastefully furnished air-conditioned thatched chalets/rooms including a honeymoon suite, with private bathrooms comprising of bath and/or shower, room safes, coffee/tea stations, DSTV TV programmes and internet access. A state-of-the art conference centre, boardrooms, sparkling swimming pool, Tshukudu outdoor bar, a romantic chapel for weddings and Kingfisher a la carte Restaurant situated next to the small lake in main lodge overlooking the plains of the Game Reserve completes the offerings at the main camp. Kingfisher is well-known for its superb cuisine and is open to inhouse and day visitors 7 days a week. Mongena specializes in quality guided game drives, bushwalks and sunset cruises for inhouse guests as well as day visitors longing for an African safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mongena Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing