We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RSPB Arne

RSPB Arne
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Arne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RSPB Arne is one of the RSPB's flagship sights. A mix of heath land, woodland and coast the reserve is packed full of wildlife and has a large events programme to enable visitors to get the most out of their visit.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We went to Arne for the birdwatching, but it has much more to offer than that too. It is a remarkable area, with beautiful views and stunning walks. Despite the windy day we visited it was a very enjoyable experience. The little visitor centre provides lots of information , as well as a welcome hot drinks machine! The warden who was there was really friendly and helpful, and you caught his enthusiasm for the wildlife of the area. Will definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    21
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The walks here are amazing. The wildlife is fantastic. Staff are helpful and always willing to help if you have seen any unknown birds. Parking is readily available, with toilets to use, there is also a place to get coffee. The views are scenic, hides are a good place to check out the different birds that are in the estuary. It is a lovely place to go for the day with the children

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great nature trails, birdlife & lots of deer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Arne has become a very popular place to visit for all age groups interested in nature.
There are several nature trails, a birdhide & lots of deer.
RSPB members are entitled to free parking.
Bring your own binoculars or you can hire them if available.
The small village also has an interesting Toy Museum open during the summer months with a cafe otherwise you need to take your own refreshments.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandMichele007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shhhh!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Ok my first review said this... "I'm not saying anything about this place, it's a secret! Shhhh!!" . However it seems that my allusion is wasted on the Tripadvisor Panel, it was removed as it was not deemed a substantive account of my experience and therefor not very helpful to other travelers.

Sometimes you find a place that is so special that you don't want every man and his dog knowing about it which kinda defeats the object of Tripadvisor I know so lets just say I liked it, it was great. BUT under no circumstances do I want you OR your dog going there. Nothing to see, (honest). ;-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldhammer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
542 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“visited twice in less than a week - and will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

With diverse habitats for a wide variety of wildlife there is always something to see - even on a bitingly cold day in February. After our first visit and delightful, helpful conversations with the onsite volunteers and ranger after our walk through woods and along the fringes of the wetlands, we came back for the Wednesday morning guided bird walk and were not disappointed with the walk into some of the normally closed to the public heathlands and wetlands - we encountered many species of bird that I'd not previously seen. Our guide was personable and full of information about the land and the life it supports and fosters. The place and the walks are highly recommended and the drive down the one-lane winding road was lovely - full of winter's colours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSPB Arne also viewed

 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to RSPB Arne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing