We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sir James Resort Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Muak Lek
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Sir James is a dream escape for golfers. From the clean spacious rooms, the clean swimming pool overlooking the 18th hole, the large dining room with full buffet breakfast, to the immaculate golf course, this is truly a wonderful place to stay. Sheldy, the public relations manager is well spoken in English and very helpful. The dining room staff are good with English and the food is nice and fresh. The golf course is in awesome shape, well looked after and the caddies are great. We hope to be back here next year!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank IslandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Approx 1.5hr drive from downtown Bangkok, this course is often overshadowed by more well known courses in the Khao Yai area because its older and less swanky. However, for golf fanatics, its definitely worth a visit.The clubhouse is somewhat non-descript and has a slightly sullen feel. But if you are like the average golfer, the clubhouse is only for a quick bite ( food is decent actually ) and a post game shower.
Played off tips, the opening hole is a harbinger of things to come. Its a long par 4 that requires an approach with a hefty fairway wood. This is a course that will make you pull out almost every club in your bag through 18 holes, with a slight preponderance on the longer clubs. However, the long holes are compensated for with relatively larger landing areas.
Be prepared to carry water for a few of your drives and on your final approach shots. On the 12th hole, the carry is at least 200yds from the tips. Some of the par 3s play in excess of 210 yds in wind plus the obligatory island type green thrown in just to test the nerves.
Precisely because it is not one of the top rated courses around, SJGC has a very unharried pace of play . Nestled among the hills, the pleasing scenery coupled with the cooler year end weather makes this a great warm up course for the tougher courses that you will get to in this region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DemonDawg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

"A golfer's paradise" is stated on their brochure and we fully agree. Having enjoyed a round of golf on our first visit we were determined to spend a night in the Lodge and 2 rounds of golf on this delightful but challenging golf course. I was able to secure the services of caddy #144 on my first visit and booked him for my subsequent 2 rounds. A very competent reader of the greens. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate with a choice of Continental or full American. We ate downtown in Muaklek so were not able to partake of the restaurant food.
Our room, and I believe all others overlook fairways and the distant mountain ranges. Quite a beautiful setting. The weather was perfect - quite cool and extremely pleasant for golf.

Room Tip: Room #315 overlooked the Clubhouse and near golf holes with mountain range in the background. Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Great:
1. Huge, huge sprawling resort, with a golf club within the premises
2. Large number of rooms, and the rooms are very very spacious
3. Good service for a place so cheap (compared to city hotels)

Not so great:
1. Dining options limited for vegetarians

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatmanwalking175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

It's a wonderfull place for relaxing, golfing and swimming. Also you can play tennis, football and have a drink at the bar ;-)

The golf area is perfect. Beautifull fairways and greens. Wonderfull roundview. Greenfee 900-1200 Bath(depending on season)!!

Restaurant with super good asia/western food!
Stuff: Like Thailand: very simphatic and helpfull.

The rooms have a balkoon and you can enjoy the view.

No cars, no motorway... just jungle!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlye_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: เลือกโซนห้องพักส่วนตึกใหม่ห้องจะใหม่กว่า. ขอวิวภูเขาหรือห้องโซน pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank warang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petcharat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muak Lek
16.9 mi away
Muaklek Paradise Resort
Muaklek Paradise Resort
#2 of 7 in Sara Buri
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Khaoyai Fahsai Resort
Khaoyai Fahsai Resort
#29 of 38 in Pak Chong
15 reviews
7.1 mi away
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
#5 of 38 in Pak Chong
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Juldis Khao Yai Resort & Spa
Juldis Khao Yai Resort & Spa
#23 of 38 in Pak Chong
25 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Piano Resort
The Piano Resort
#22 of 38 in Pak Chong
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valley Garden Resort
Valley Garden Resort
#3 of 7 in Muak Lek
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir James Resort Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir James Resort Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 195 Moo 3 | Mitraphab, Muak Lek 18180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Saraburi Province > Muak Lek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Muak Lek
Price Range: £40 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sir James Resort Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir James Resort Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing