We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hale Kitchen and Bar - CLOSED

The Hale Kitchen and Bar
Cuisines: European, British, Pub
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

6 adults and 2 kids and we felt very welcome indeed on a very busy sat night. All the food was great. Everyone really enjoyed their starters, mains and desserts. We had a groupon voucher too so it was a fantastic deal also. Would go back again without or without voucher.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StBeesKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    136
    88
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Been before and the chicken was really dry, thought id give it another go, I took my boyfriend there, service was quick, there was two girls there (didn't really smile a lot) polite though, has a goats cheese tart received it and it was just pastry with literally no cheese in it and it was so bland and cold it was just awful, boyfriend had wood pigeon breast and it was over cooked and cold, mains i had salmon and veg it hot hot but again so bland and tasteless, the partner for mains had King scallops, tiger prawn & Green lip mussel linguine he also said it was tasteless and just not seasoned. Bottle of wine was average, wouldnt go back, very quiet and loads of fly's about too, paid and left very unhappy,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful Chateaubriand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic steak meal for two. Me & the girlfriend had the chateaubriand and there was so much steak! It was quite superb.

Good service throughout the meal. Decent wine selection, the Malbec we had was really nice. Good cocktail selection as well, I had a lovely Old Fashioned, and my girlfriend had a "Rum Refashioned", which is the Dark Rum version of and Old Fashioned.

Very good, would recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Recent visitp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We attended the restaurant courtesy of a group on voucher for £25 per couple. This voucher entitled a chateaubriand meal with a side dish and 25 per cent off a bottle of wine. The four of us shared three starters of olives,humours and pitta bread. The food was excellent and we were made to feel welcome. A good night was had by one and all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pluto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Faultless food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked in here early Saturday evening with a voucher we had bought online for a cost of £25 which entitled 4 people to share £90 of credit off the final bill. Lovely wine and friendly service. I had Salmon which was beautifully cooked and of a good size... the best I have had in a long time! My husband had the fish and chips which was amazing, our friends had seafood linguine and chicken with chorizo and they were as impressed as us .. we will definately return!

Helpful?
Thank Laurajane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hale Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 
Hale, Greater Manchester
Hale, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing