We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleddy 'ansome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfallteg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stones Throw bed and breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanfallteg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived a touch early and were greeted by a very excited pooch! As we pulled into the driveway Sarah came out to greet us. We removed our shoes very gladly as the cream carpet looked so fresh and welcoming it really was a treat on the feet!

Sarah offered us a drink and showed us to our room. We were both amazed at how little justice the photos offer (and the photos are pretty darn good!) The bed was lovely and comfy and the pillows were the heaviest pillows ive ever felt. Just oozing quality, a theme that pleasently carried on throughout our two night stay.

Our bathroom had everything we needed. We didnt touch the towels as the big fluffy dressing gowns were just too nice! I could have spent all day in the shower; it was just superb.

We went out on an exploration bimble in the car and quickly discovered that the Peaceful Retreat is in a sublime central location for exploring West Wales. Everywhere was 20-25 minuites away!

We wanted to find somewhere to eat but couldnt find anywhere on our travel. So we returned to the PR and asked Sarah and Derrick, who directed us to a litle Indian, you guessed it, 20 minuites away! Sarah even booked us a table.

We returned and stopped off in the village pub and were felt welcomed and the locals told us about some nice placest to visit. A quick pint later we went back and jumped straight into our lovely beds and had a wonderful, peaceful sleep.

Breakfast was served at 0900 sharp and we really wasnt dissapointed! The food was delicious. It kept us going all day untill we returned and had an evening meal. The evening meal was simply amazing. Sarah has a real passion for cooking and it shines through in her food. The presentation, the smells and the flavours are all wonderfully satisfying. Sarah really has put many restraunts to shame. All the ingreadiants are either from the garden or from Sarahs vast collection!

We are looking forward to going back to the peaceful retreat and hope to stay longer this time. Sarah is a fantastic host and we cannot wait to spend more time swapping stories!

PS Thanks for telling Tara she looked younger than i did! I didnt hear the end of it all the way home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

From the moment we arrived we were looked after and spoilt rotten by our lovely hosts Sarah & Derrick, who welcomed us into their immaculate home. Sarah, who amongst her many other talents, had baked light as air fairy cakes to offer with a cup of tea on our arrival after a long journey, also the delicious welsh cakes found on the well stocked tea/coffee tray in our room were a delight. We were lucky enough with the weather to sit outside on the covered verandah with a glass of wine, enjoying the view, before going out for the evening and Sarah surprised us with a selection of nibbles to enjoy with our drinks. Nothing was too much trouble and Sarah kindly kept our bottles cold in the fridge for the next day. We were encouraged to use the comfy lounge whenever we wished and at times took over, relaxing in our fluffy white dressing gowns, before retiring to our room. The Peaceful Retreat is well named, it's location on the outskirts of a little village, within walking distance of an award winning real ale pub, with stunning country views and the only noise that of birds - what more could you wish for. Although we didn't sample the evening menu, if breakfast is anything to go by, the standard of food is superb. Has to be the best breakfast I've ever had, with everything either locally sourced or home made and a vast selection of yummy 'courses' to fill even the hungriest of traveller. Our room was spacious and comfy and because we travelled with friends, we got to see each of the rooms - all were beautifully appointed, however to really spoil yourself it is worth the extra to have the wonderful honeymoon suite - a must for next time we come. Thank you Sarah for our amusing chats, hope you enjoyed your well earned Sunday lunch with your family and good luck with your male voice choir Derrick. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Goodness me!! We've just read the review below and cannot believe how horrible some people can be. We were staying at the P R and witnessed the arrival and departure of these two obnoxious people. They were rude, complaining and demanding from the minute they arrived which, in spite of their claim that they didn't see the sign, was half an hour before the advertised check in time so had plenty of time to find the B&B which incidentally is clearly sign posted. Who doesn't remove their shoes when going into someone else's house? This retreat is in the countryside with immaculate grounds and stunning views. Taking the countryside into the house on the bottom of your shoes is something we would never dream of!

Forget this review, it's the opinion of a sour couple who clearly want to cause trouble and lower the review ratings for these people. No one should be expected to be treated in this way in their own home! We can only tell you that we have never had a better holiday with two wonderful hosts who cook the best breakfasts and evening meals. They welcomed us into their home which sparkled with character and a cleanliness, ordinarily reserved for five star hotels!

This was our third stay in Bwlchmelyn and not only will we be returning for a weekend break before Christmas, but will continue to recommend it to all our friends and family who have the same standards as us as well as the good manners to respect the beautiful home of Sarah and Derrick, hosts who will go out of their way to make your stay a special one!

Room Tip: Any...they're all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked at the last minute, very much influenced by the reviews. We are in our 70's, golden wedding coming up. But somehow we managed to upset the proprietors in our first half hour that we were asked to leave. Our crimes? We could not find the place and suggested a sign might be nice; we expressed surprise that shoes were not allowed in the house, but willingly complied.
We were escorted out by 6.30 p.m. And had to go home. We asked for a refund via the bookings website, but it has been refused

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Stones Throw bed and breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We will always endeavour to treat our customers needs as top priority and will continue to strive to go above and beyond the call of duty in an attempt to make their holiday a memorable one for all the right reasons. We welcome people from all over the world into our home, one in which we take great pride and in return all we ask is that people respect it as such. Having never been in a situation where we've had to request that someone vacate our property this was not a decision that we undertook lightly. We do, in fact, have a significant sign at the entrance to our property and slippers are of course provided to walk on our luxurious and spotlessly clean carpets. We're sorry that you feel that these were the reasons you were asked to leave. Of course, they were not. For our comfort and that of other guests, we will not tolerate rude, ill mannered or beligerent behaviour. We will always cater for polite requests. Condescending comments and aggressive demands will be treated accordingly. We apologise for being unable to allow you to fully enjoy the experience others have enjoyed at The Peaceful Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

a g8 getaway just for you staff r friendly and helpful a gud location to venture out and so cozy to come bk to after a hard days shopping and site seeing,the gardens r superb 2 chill and relax in away rom everyday hustle ideal for couples who don't want 2 rush about

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragoness05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for one night only and wished we had booked for the whole weekend. Our room was stunning and immaculate, we enjoyed wine on the balcony watching the sun go down, taking in the stunning view. Food was scrumptious! Sarah and Derrick were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend and we have every intention of returning very soon.

Room Tip: Superior suite, beautiful room with a balcony overlooking rural pastures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is not a big, multi-star hotel but if you want a warm welcome from both the owners and their dogs, super cleanliness, comfortable rooms, brilliant food, relaxation, country silence, great views, birdsong and a reasonable price tag then look no further. We arrived to be greeted with an immediate pot of tea and were shown to a neat and spotlessly clean room. The home cooked welsh cakes in the room were welcome and very tasty. After a very good night's sleep, breakfast was made up of local produce and very good indeed. Sadly, we didn't get an opportunity to try an evening meal. It is clear that the owner's are very proud of what they offer and work very hard to maintain their own high standards. All we need now is the smallest excuse to go back.

Room Tip: Don't try to choose! There are only 3 rooms and any will do nicely thank you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R and I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stones Throw bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Throw bed and breakfast

Address: Bwlchmelyn | Whitland, Llanfallteg SA34 0UJ, Wales (Formerly The Peaceful Retreat)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanfallteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfallteg
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Throw bed and breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in peaceful, picturesque countryside on the border of Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire, contemporary meets olde worlde in this 19th century traditional Welsh farmhouse which offers cosy, comfortable and relaxing Bed and Breakfast in stylish, yet slightly rustic, characterful accommodation amid an oasis of calm and tranquility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stones Throw Bed And Breakfast Llanfallteg, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing