We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Wedding Venue and Weekend Accommodation”
Review of Silk Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silk Pavilions
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Wedding Venue and Weekend Accommodation”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I held our wedding reception and ceremony here in November 2013 and absolutely loved everything about this venue! We looked at about a dozen wedding venues from Sunshine Coast to Byron Bay, the freedom of choice, the setting and also the hosts Sue and John is what led us to choose Silk Pavilions as the spot we wanted to hold this special day.

Silk Pavilions is not your average wedding venue and should not be confused with a Hotel chain wedding complete with round tables and chair sashes. It’s not the kind of venue where a wedding coordinator will prepare everything and you literally turn up. My husband and I were involved every step of the way (including setting up the morning of the wedding) which made it that much more special.

Like I said Silk Pavilions as a wedding venue or a B&B style accommodation should not be confused with a hotel, it is set in the middle of lush sub-tropical rainforest and national parks. You simply cannot expect to have the peacefulness and views on offer without sharing it with the creatures that live here. Yes – you will have spiders and mozzies in your room and even see wallabies! IF A HOTEL IS WHAT YOU ARE AFTER THEN BOOK ONE!

John and Sue were fantastic hosts, right from the first time we visited the venue, their relaxed nature is what drew us to Silk Pavilions as a wedding venue. They gave us the freedom to have the wedding we wanted and never once told us we had to have canapés at this time, or cut the cake at this time. Nothing was a problem for them and they always went out of their way to make not only my husband and I feel welcome, but also our extended family and friends. They are the type of hosts you hug before you leave! They are so passionate about what they do and I think people sometimes forget that this is their home. They open up their lives to guests and should always be respected for doing so.

The accommodation at Silk Pavilions is simply magical; the Thai Villa was our room for the weekend. We loved its rustic charm and amazing views. Our bridal party (from the UK and Dubai) stayed in the Eco Villas and absolutely loved them! It is something different that not many people have seen before. We also had the chance to utilize extra accommodation onsite which is usually home to Silk Pavilions caretaker Tony. This was fantastic for us as we had over 100 people needing accommodation in the surrounding areas! The ‘Hilton’ as it is known was obviously not as luxurious as the villas, but served a wonderful purpose of us being able to have the special people stay onsite with us for the weekend. We were extremely grateful for him to give up his room!

The food was simply to die for – as a bride I am only upset I couldn’t sit there all night eating! We had a cocktail reception with noodle boxes and fish and chip cones. Sue and the chef Hussein were extremely flexible in menu choices and sourced the best local produce for our special day.

I could rattle on forever about Silk Pavilions as a wedding venue and a B&B. Many guests have told us that this was the best wedding they have ever been to and we owe a huge part of that to Sue and John and the wonderful place they have at Mt Burrell. Simply amazing people with a passion to show others this amazing part of the world. We are so lucky to have been able to hold our special day at Silk Pavilions, a memory that will never be forgotten!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    14
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Silk pavilions are set in a truly stunning location but with that comes wildlife... The villas at first glance are beautiful and well equipped however we soon found out that it was dusty and the roof design allows all wildlife to enjoy your villa too. We are from the city so we are not exposed to many spiders, cockroaches, wasps, moths and nice... But when you pay for a beautiful luxury villa we thought that this would mean we wouldn't be too exposed to these animals and bugs within our villa. We spent most of the time worried not relaxed. We even had an antichinus (looks like a mouse) join us for our stay and break into a bag of chips we had (unopened!) on our table. Spiders were everywhere and the mosquito net over the bed was dusty and covered in dead spiders, moths and wasps. We couldn't keep the doors or windows open because there was no fly screens.. Although not a way to finish off a Thai villa, it would have eased the anxiety that ruined our stay. The mouse found it's way into our villa under the main door. So we put the door and bath mat up against it to avoid more joining us.

We did have a very enjoyable romantic dinner on our private gazebo and we thank the owners for this. Breakfast was nice because we could prepare and have on our deck at a time that suited us.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Sorry to hear Nuala, that you had a few problems with our COUNTRY creatures!! Sometimes coming from the city to the country is a little overwhelming. As hard as we try each and every day to make our Villa and our Eco Pavilions – "creature free" it is often just out of our control. So we do apologise and shall most definitely have a word with the creatures!! No amount of spraying/traps or cobweb brooms keeps them out all of the time. We find most guests love the nature/wallabies/rare birds/and natural wildlife, even if they have to share! Our pavilions are fully enclosed and very rare for Nuala's experience to happen. Apologies again. Glad to hear you loved the dinner and the location. We do try our very hardest to get it all right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My now husband and I have stayed at Silks a couple of times - in an Eco cabin and in the Thai villa. It's great to have two very different options with unique luxury feels on the one well-kept and beautiful property. If you are interested, you can experience a personal feel by getting to know Sue and John, you'll feel right at home on their property.
Our last visit was also our wedding ceremony. We highly recommend Silks for a beautiful location to get away, a romantic weekend, or a wedding with a fabulous panarama!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katjoydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words and the trust you showed in allowing us to host your wedding. Once again please accept our congratulation and our hope for a long and happy married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

John and Sue Done were wonderful hosts. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne so we could sit down and view the most amazing northern NSW border ranges. We opted to dine in each evening and were served fabulous meals with huge portions.
Our glam ping experience was fabulous. Besides beautiful surroundings our King Size bed was really comfortable, and our tent was gorgeous. We were woken by the sounds of different birds singing. During the day kangaroos relaxed around the property ... It was tranquil. No phones, TV, brings you back to grass roots.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness centre, so there was no other option to choose. It was 36 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Really enjoyed our Glamping experience at Silk Pavilions. It is a unique concept and the owners have set the Eco Pavilions (tents) fantastically well.
Our Eco tent had a super comfortable bed, chandelier, ensuite with flushing toilet and the best shower ever! A hooded bbq, huge daybed, coffee table and comfy chairs were on the front verandah. There is also an adequately sized bar fridge on rear verandah. Lovely to sit here and take in the beautiful scenery. Unfortunately the weather wasn't that kind to us and it was quite wet on the verandah. The owners may need to consider installing 'clears' to protect their new furniture coverings which got a drenching. Inside the tent it was cosy and dry.
We cooked our own bbq on the first night and ordered pizzas the second night. Absolutely delicious! Breakfasts were great. The quirky 'camping' containers and implements it was served in, added to the atmosphere.
Our hosts Sue and John were friendly and helpful making our first glamping experience a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe Eco Pavilion. It has a bath and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The tents where brilliant with a super comfy bed lovely outdoor furniture with plenty of cushions and snug throws as all the amenities you need including a powerful shower and flushing toilet. The most special thing about Silk Pavilions was the view, it was breathtaking and so private! We bought an esky with bbq food which meant we could cook on the privacy of our deck! Sue was lovely greeting us as we arrived and seamlessly sorting out the bill when we left in between she respected our privacy and we were able to chill out and enjoy the surroundings. I have recommended Silk Pavilions to all of my friends and we will defiantly be arranging another visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Absolutely loved it ! Tents are so cool. I have travelled a lot of the world and this is the coolest place iv stayed yet. So beautiful and relaxing. Love the BBQ on the balcony and having all the luxuries as well as the feeling of being in nature ! Would stay again and highly recommend.
Just a couple of notes. We took a bowl to mix salad in and a chopping board.....makes it even easier !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Burrell
19.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
9.6 mi away
Havan's Eco Tourist Retreat
Havan's Eco Tourist Retreat
#1 of 2 in The Channon
30 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
11.2 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
4.0 mi away
Crofton's Retreat
Crofton's Retreat
#3 of 6 in Nimbin
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Pavilions

Property: Silk Pavilions
Address: 274 Mount Burrell Rd, Mount Burrell, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Burrell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Burrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silk Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing