We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful site in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lofthouse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Studfold Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have camped here many times (years ago in tents with our children), and for the last two years in camper vans with adult friends. It is wonderful - the surrounding views are beautiful, the facilities - everything you could want (but without spoiling its simplicity). Activities for children, pubs - up the hill and down the road, within walking distance. Great walks, the dramatic gorge and lovely places to visit further afield. If you want a less crowded stay, Monday to Friday is better. The Walker family are lovely, and very helpful and efficient. We return and love it every time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

59 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We searched for a caravan site to permanently pitch our touring caravan having got fed up of touring!! We spent ages looking for a suitable site - we didn't want on site pubs, clubs or entertainment, we didn't want hoards of noisy groups, mass commercialism or feeling like we we just another face in the crowd.

Lucky for us, Studfold had 1 seasonal pitch available for 2013, so on a wintry day, we drove the 1.5 hour trip up to Upper Nidderdale to take a look at the site (which was still closed as out of season) and instantly said we would take the pitch.

After only a couple of months visiting Studfold at weekends, we were hooked, in love with the site, the location, the people, the views, the pubs, the quiet.......the list goes on, so we upgraded and bought a static caravan - not a new one, but one that we had found that we got renovated and sited onto a lovely, sunny pitch, with views that make any stress melt away.

Studfold is unlike any campsite we have ever been to in the years we have been camping and caravanning. It is run by the same family that have owned the farm for many, many years and they deeply care about the area, the site and the environment. They take great pride in the site, which is small, friendly and family orientated. Whether in a static, a touring caravan, a tent or even their camping pod, you will be warmly greeted and in for a piece of tranquility which is hard to get these days.

The site has clean toilet / shower facilities, washing facilities and a small shop, much loved by the kids as it has all sorts of pocket money toys and sweets.

There are great eating establishments nearby - breakfast or lunches at the nearby gorge are great value ( and you can use the wifi ) but our favourite for dinner is the Crown at Lofthouse - a small menu, but the portions are enormous and the food is excellent quality pub food - nothing microwaved or out of a packet here. Further down the valley, the Sportsman has very decent food in a lovely location and for a special meal, The Yorke Arms at Ramsgill is superb.

Back to Studfold though, they have a nature trail which is fantastic for kids and will keep them enthralled ( as well as tiring the, out as they run around looking for clues or making dens! ) and give parents some lovely photo opportunities - if you take a picnic the owners will take it up to the picnic area on a quad bike for when you get there! A Victorian barn and play area awaits you at the end, with tea, coffee etc for you to help yourself to (honesty box for the money) and craft facilities for the kids as well.

If you want to step out of modern day stress and hassle, there is nowhere better than Studfold, it has peace, tranquility, family values and the best that Britain has to offer - green fields, sheep grazing, hills and streams that the kids can safely explore......it really is a little piece of paradise and having just got home from a 3 week stay there, we can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frannyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in 'the pod'. Enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids, lighting and electric sockets too. Beautiful site with immaculate shower/toilet block. The pod backs on to the river that leads up to how stean gorge and provides hours of fun for the kids. 2 pubs within walking distance but meals not cheap so take plenty of food for the barbie. Lots to see and do in the area particularly scar house reservoir which is basically opposite the site. Check in took around 20 seconds with no fuss and check out isn't until 1pm. Will definitely visit this site again...DO NOT MISS OUT

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank yorksboy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a great experience for all the family fully child orientated with the nature trails we all loved it right next to the gorge beutifull Place great like minded campers safe for the children and dog friendly loads to do near by how stean gorge 2 mins walk away. Few miles from picturesque patley bridge

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeduguid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The facilities are fantastic - free lovely hot showers and really really clean toilet facilities. Tent pitches are level and spacious. Might be a bit remote and isolated if you are looking for lots of pubs on doorstep etc. But for a proper quiet, loads in an easy walking/driving distance to do, this is definitely the place to pitch your tent. Hubby and I had a great time and the owners absolutely make you welcome.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Studfold Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studfold Caravan and Camping Park

Address: | Harrogate, Lofthouse HG3 5SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Lofthouse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lofthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing