We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowside Castle B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowside Castle B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Longton B&B and Inns
N Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First class place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

All I can say about Meadowbank Castle is that is it a great place to stay - from the warm greeting from Lisa (the owner) on our arrival to the beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms to the best breakfast ever. Lisa is such a natural, warm person who made us feel very much at home. If you are in this area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Jan 2011 while we were on a short visit to Preston to see my family after Christmas - and as I have been to the B&B once before this was a no-brainer repeat booking. A joy to go back to - as Lisa and her husband who own and run the place are really doing a fantastic job and are the quintessential B&B hosts... The full English breakfast is legendary too and didn't disappoint! Private, clean, tidy and well-appointed in all respects we both agreed that this is outstanding value for money. Here's our best recommendation: we're going back for a third time in 8 days time... Nothing to criticise, except the bathroom towels could be a little bigger? Now I'm being picky though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChangeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Newly furnished very clean rooms. Excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful host. Interesting garden and Spanish style courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Lisa greeted us with a friendly welcome and a pot of tea and her attentiveness continued throughout our stay. She was a mine of information on local activities and attractions and her full english breakfast was the best we've had anywhere. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and was an ideal place for either couples or larger groups as the accommodation is separate from the main house making it feel like your own home. The bathrooms were a good size and the towels changed daily and the bed linen was a lovely quality. The exterior was also lovely including the gardens which we were encouraged to make full use of. Only stayed for 2 nights but would have loved longer. Many thanks Lisa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geriatricbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

All I can say is this place is FANTASTIC. Wonderful welcome from Lisa - very easy to talk to, helpful and very accommodating. Rooms are brilliant well, designed and comfortable. Best nights sleep and excellent breakfast options to wake up to. Had a feeling of being secluded in the country side with nature views from our room, but well located to fascilities. This place is a must stay. Just wish we had stayed longer than the one night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

If in the area it is a definite "must place to stay" everything about the guesthouse is 5 star, from the welcome to rooms to breakfast. In a lovely location two minutes walk from a nature reserve and 15 minutes from pubs, restaurants etc.

When we are next up north will stay again.

Only disappointment no black pudding for breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piethatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Not going to write much, excellent place to stay, affordable, welcoming and above average standards. Couldn't be bettered in the area and not happy when I needed to come back to Preston the following week and you were ful!!!! :)

Highly recommended! You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
4.0 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.2 mi away
Farington Lodge Hotel
Farington Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Farington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#9 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowside Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowside Castle B&B

Property: Meadowside Castle B&B
Address: Meadowside Drumacre Lane West, Longton PR4 4SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Longton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Meadowside Castle B&B Longton/Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing