We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fab day out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scorton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fab day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Visited the apple store cafe and as usual great food,in a fab location,After lunch had a walk round the grounds and was met by jimmy who gave us a guided tour round the house,once again a great interesting day had by all

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnstez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park. The trip exceeded all our expectations. We were two families with six children ranging from 4 to 12 who were delighted with the setting. We hired a rowing boat from James and the children were in clover, rowing across the lake to the 'island' and exploring, a real Swallows and Amazons experience.

The tents are wonderfully comfortable and cosy, even in cold weather and torrential rain which had no effect on our enjoyment. The children loved the park, the walk up and over the fells, the woods and the sense of adventure. They loved filling the wood burner with logs, lighting a fire and cooking sausages and bread over the flames and singing in the hot tub in the evening.

We loved Sally's Apple Store Cafe which was a true delight - the most delicious cakes baked by Sally herself - we loved wandering up the lane from the tents to the lovely walled garden and the cafe. A real treat, particulaly in bad weather.

Sally and James are wonderful hosts and the staf at the cafe were delightful.

We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the frills tents and these were both beautifully located and prvate - I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

2 adults 2 fifteen year olds, an eleven year old and Martha the westie,all loved our first trip to a featherdown with frills. We have stayed at a featherdown farm previously,which was also a big hit. But this time the dog could come too! Dad loved his fire building and cooking alfresco. Hot tub after a hard bike ride was much appreciated. My favourite was the wonderful outdoor shower..bliss. There was a socket for a hair dryer hidden away in the 'store'. The slight noise from the M6 at night was only heard in the double bedroom, we wonder if the wood cladding of the bunk and wonderfully cupboard bed could be extended to the double room, it certainly wasn't a big problem and is outweighed by the camp's position.Each camp is very spacious and private without any feeling of isolation. Sally and James work so hard to make your stay special.the Apple store cafe was spot on and the children loved their trips for hearty breakfasts.we would love to return.

Room Tip: All tents are in super positions but 3 have slightly newer hot tubs which look nicer but maybe not q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

After a walk up and around from Scorton I called in at the Apple Store Cafe Wyresdale Park for coffee and scones. It is over a year since I was last here and the cafe has extended into the glass buildings attached. We managed to get a table in the original section which is cosier. The service is very good and the food was delivered with generous portions and was delicious. Good to see the place thriving and I will be back in the summer to enjoy the walk around the grounds and down the lane to the lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are amazing, can not belive I didnt know this was here. The surround is worth the visit its self.
Boating on the lake. . . Marvelous
Food. . Local and tasty
Definitely worth a visit
Top marks from me, will definitely be going there for coffee and cake again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

last visit yesterday.wonderfull place.had chicken soup and hot roll in the apple café.delicious,and very filling.took carrot cake home for later.walked round the lake,saw abundance of wildlife.keen to hire a rowing boat,unfortunately it was too windy on the lake.didnt stop us exploring the woods and checking out thewooden lodges.a must for a back to nature experience.the owners are lovely people.very hands on and helpful.you will enjoy this estate whatever the weather.do give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamin187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic weekend with friends.The owners are so welcoming and we were made to feel very comfortable and any help needed was available with a smile.The surrounding areas beautiful and overlooking a large lake which we were able to hire a boat for reasonable price and very much enjoyed.Our hut was comfortable and were now experts in fire making and cooking food on top of the log burner.The hot tub was magical,light a few candles and open the bubbly.We did not want to leave.Thoroughly enjoyed by all!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
5.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory
The Priory
#1 of 1 in Scorton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
1.2 mi away
Middle Holly Cottage
Middle Holly Cottage
#1 of 2 in Forton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park

Property: Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park
Address: Snow Hill Lane, Scorton PR3 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Scorton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is what you'll find at your Country House Hideout: Tented luxury - A plumbed-in loo, luxurious bed and a hot-tub to call your own, all form part of your personal encampment.Bags of space - With room for up to eight, why not invite your best friends or favourite family?Discover nature - Your family will be off exploring the flora and fauna to get a closer look with the scientific instruments in the discovery tent. Carbon neutral - Save fossil fuels, pedal a bike to power up the lights in your tent. Our hearts leapt when we saw Wyresdale Park for the first time - this is surely the original setting for Swallows and Amazons. A lake for boating and swimming, a fell rising up from its shore and countryside characters just like Arthur Ransome described them. The estate is on the doorstep of the Lake District but better than that, it is private. Forget the traffic and crowds of Windermere - this is all yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country House Hideout At Wyresdale Park Scorton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing