We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”
Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

An absolute treasure. An historic classic multi function building - pub, restaurant, sleeping accomodation in a delightful village location. Unbelievably only 500 yards away from the M6 but you simply don't hear it because of the trees and relative heights . Decor very imaginative in all the three types of areas . Food good, beer good. I cannot understand how anyone could rate this at less than 5 excellent on the TA scale.
Its well located for enjoying a country walk to Nicky Nook or for visiting the historic town of Lancaster or even Morecambe. Great stopover for long North/South trips and I will definitely stay again when the need arises. Thank you to my hosts .

The only caveat I would give to anyone reading this is that access to the village is quite narrow in places and you wouldn't want to tow a caravan or campervan style vehicle around the place.

Room Tip: Didn't see the others but if mine was anything to go by, they are probably all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldkaleidoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you so much for your superb review, we are really pleased that you found everything to be superb, we look forward to your next stay we us. Thanks again Julie, Gary and all the staff at The Priory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    59
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
147
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have never visited Scorton before, but we called for lunch following a stunning walk up Nicky Nook. The Priory is lovely inside, but it was a nice dry mild day, so we sat in the beer garden, which was spotlessly clean, with well maintained planting. The menu is pleasant, and there is a soup of the day, served with a sandwich. The prices are very reasonable, and the food is nice too.
I had a pint of Nicky Nook ale, which was delicious. The toilets are clean and tidy. The Priory is at the centre of the lovely village, with the beer garden overlooking a quiet road. We loved the walk very much, and since dogs are allowed in the bar, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, thank you for your excellent review, the local walks are indeed some of the best kept secrets around, we are really pleased that you found everything to your liking, we take great pride in being spotlessly clean (our food hygiene rating is 5 out of 5) We hope that you will call again, Julie and Gary Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely accommodation in picturesque village. comfortable clean rooms everything you need. Food of a high quality and friendly staff. Beautiful walks from your door. Dog friendly with your being allowed in the bar area. Post office/grocery store just across the road, and the Barn Garden Centre is well worth a visit. All in all a little gem we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, thank you for leaving such a great review, we are so pleased that you found us to be so good. it was really nice to meet you and we really hope that we will see you again. Julie and Gary Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Came here for one night whilst attending a wedding at another hotel near by. Had a lovely lunch in the bar area. Our room was ready early. Bed comfy, big bathroom. They organised a taxi for us and were very helpful throughout our stay. There was a wedding on at The Priory and they informed us in advance about this. This did not get in the way of usual service and it wasn't noisy in the evening. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review, everybody comments on the food quality and especially the breakfasts, hope to see you again. Julie and Gary Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We only stayed one night but found the room spotlessly clean with a lovely clean bathroom with a decent shower.
The room itself wasn't huge but comfortable enough with a nice view over the villiage and a nice comfortable bed.
The breakfast was possibly one of the best I have ever eaten in a hotel served by a friendly waitress It included Chilled Orange juice, assorted Organic yogurts, assorted breakfast cereals, and a nicely fresh cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection with excellent quality sausages and bacon,eggs.black pud, mushrooms and beans with a choice of toasts and a pot of tea or coffee....The evening meal in the pub was delicious for both me and my wife and reasonably priced although I have to be truthful and say that the chips were frozen and not fresh, but this shouldn't put you off as the rest was delicious....I will definitely stay here again and would definitely eat here again when I am visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, Thanks for such a really great review, We are really pleased that you have taken the time to note the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the food, we will pass on your compliments to Liz and Gill, hope to see you again, thanks Julie and Gary Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sadly only booked for the one night but will definitely be returning. The hotel is in a lovely small village which we were unable to explore due to the inclement weather!

The hotel is very old and full of lovely features, our room was pleasant and comfortable. All the staff were most helpful and we enjoyed a very good vegetarian meal in the evening. The breakfast was plentiful and again vegetarians well catered for, and I echo the previous reviewer who said the fruit salad was particularly good.

Lots of options for walking and touring so will be looking to visit again hopefully later this year

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, Thank you for your excellent review, We are really pleased that you found the food so good and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, look forward to seeing you again. Julie & Gary Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is the 2nd time my partner and I have stayed. The 1st was October 2012 where the only room available was the family room. We were so impressed we phoned and booked the same room again for a week with our children. Staff so helpful and friendly our little boy had his 5th birthday whilst we were there and thought it was great he got balloons at the breakfast table (we didnt tell him we asked them to be put there) very family friendly and our room brilliantly situated straight in front door looking onto the beer garden so kids could stay playing indoors or come and join us. Each morning staff members asked our plans and offered advice on local attractions and each night asked where we had been and if we had enjoyed it. Simple gestures that made us feel very welcome and cares for. Thanks again priory staff we will be back although knowing how tired we are we may make it a quiet weekend away without our boys x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylminto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi, Thank you for such a nice review, we are really pleased that you came back for a second visit. We hope that we will see you again soon. Best Regards Julie & Gary Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
619 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
1.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
629 reviews
9.5 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Property: The Priory
Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing