We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Priory
Nearby Hotels
Crofter's Hotel(Garstang)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lancaster House(Lancaster)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toll House Inn(Lancaster)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
Travelodge
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
250
63
21
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
63
21
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschunky chipshoneymoon suitesitting roomwedding venuepicturesque villagenicky nooknext morningfull englishnothing too much troubleenjoyable staybreakfast was amazingwarm welcomeyogurtjuliegarstanglancashireretreat
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite to eat on Saturday evening following a return trip from the Lake District. The area is beautiful with this little gem of a place being situated right in the middle of the picture postcard village. The exterior is lovely and once inside the charm continued. Lovely dining area and after a soaking in the Lakes due to horrendous rain the warming stoves were appreciated. Good menu..I chose the Sea Bass, which I have to say was one of the most satisfying and tasty meals I have ate in a very long time. All other members of the party were equally satisfied with their meals. First class food. Excellent service...we had a lovely girl serve us, very friendly & helpful & wonderful with my two year old girl. A great asset to this establishment in my opinion. In short, The Priory is well worth a visit if in this area - excellent all round.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ash1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Hi, Thanks for the excellent review, I will pass on your compliments and praise, it’s really nice to receive genuine praise for all of the teams hard work, we are pleased that you enjoyed The Priory and your meal so much. Thanks Julie and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

An absolute treasure. An historic classic multi function building - pub, restaurant, sleeping accomodation in a delightful village location. Unbelievably only 500 yards away from the M6 but you simply don't hear it because of the trees and relative heights . Decor very imaginative in all the three types of areas . Food good, beer good. I cannot understand how anyone could rate this at less than 5 excellent on the TA scale.
Its well located for enjoying a country walk to Nicky Nook or for visiting the historic town of Lancaster or even Morecambe. Great stopover for long North/South trips and I will definitely stay again when the need arises. Thank you to my hosts .

The only caveat I would give to anyone reading this is that access to the village is quite narrow in places and you wouldn't want to tow a caravan or campervan style vehicle around the place.

Room Tip: Didn't see the others but if mine was anything to go by, they are probably all very good
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldkaleidoscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you so much for your superb review, we are really pleased that you found everything to be superb, we look forward to your next stay we us. Thanks again Julie, Gary and all the staff at The Priory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have never visited Scorton before, but we called for lunch following a stunning walk up Nicky Nook. The Priory is lovely inside, but it was a nice dry mild day, so we sat in the beer garden, which was spotlessly clean, with well maintained planting. The menu is pleasant, and there is a soup of the day, served with a sandwich. The prices are very reasonable, and the food is nice too.
I had a pint of Nicky Nook ale, which was delicious. The toilets are clean and tidy. The Priory is at the centre of the lovely village, with the beer garden overlooking a quiet road. We loved the walk very much, and since dogs are allowed in the bar, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi, thank you for your excellent review, the local walks are indeed some of the best kept secrets around, we are really pleased that you found everything to your liking, we take great pride in being spotlessly clean (our food hygiene rating is 5 out of 5) We hope that you will call again, Julie and Gary Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely accommodation in picturesque village. comfortable clean rooms everything you need. Food of a high quality and friendly staff. Beautiful walks from your door. Dog friendly with your being allowed in the bar area. Post office/grocery store just across the road, and the Barn Garden Centre is well worth a visit. All in all a little gem we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi, thank you for leaving such a great review, we are so pleased that you found us to be so good. it was really nice to meet you and we really hope that we will see you again. Julie and Gary Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Came here for one night whilst attending a wedding at another hotel near by. Had a lovely lunch in the bar area. Our room was ready early. Bed comfy, big bathroom. They organised a taxi for us and were very helpful throughout our stay. There was a wedding on at The Priory and they informed us in advance about this. This did not get in the way of usual service and it wasn't noisy in the evening. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary A L, Owner at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review, everybody comments on the food quality and especially the breakfasts, hope to see you again. Julie and Gary Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews