We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in the Trough of Biwland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the Trough of Biwland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night en route to see family in Fleetwood. Very helpful staff and very comfortable room/bed. Good restaurant in situ which was a big advantage for us. Would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    55
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
140
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed over the Easter weekend. Scorton is a lovely village ideal for visiting the forest of Bowland or further afield.

Very helpful owner who on learning I was planning a bit of fishing offered me a free day ticket on the local trout water. What a gent! I did not have my trout rod with me and had to turn him down. He isnt a fisherman so I'm not sure he fully understood, but what a generous offer.

Lovely staff. We ate a couple of nights in the restaurant - good food and reasonable prices.

This is a quirky little hotel, if you want all the homogenised chain hotel facilities and service then this place is probably not for you. On the other hand if you want a relaxing get away from it all, somewhere you can really recharge the batteries then place could be what you are looking for.
The beds might be a bit creaky, the shower temperature a bit variable depending on time of day but they are minor compared to the lovely restful atmosphere of the place. Bearing in mind it was Easter weekend and it was very busy in the day, but by evening all was peaceful again and some lovely local village walks before dinner made it all the more enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpooljohnMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Couldn't fault the friendliness of staff at all times. We were allowed to take both our dogs to our room with prior arrangement. We arrived at 9 p.m. and greeted by Katie who was extremely helpful, providing sandwiches even though they had stopped serving food.
Breakfast was very good, with the usual full english, cereals, juice etc. We thought it was excellent value for money and would definitely stay here again on our way to friends in Lancaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecChrisandMange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with my husband and we were both delighted with the hotel and restaurant. We arrived just before the kitchen closed but the staff were very obliging and patient and didn't rush us to order. Our meal was delicious and there was a great atmosphere in both the restaurant and bar. Our room was spacious and clean with an ensuite shower room. The breakfast was again delicious and a very generous portion! The little touch of giving us a gift bag of homemade shortbread as we left was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen_E077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Due to a change in Easter plans we booked the last room, the Grizedale, for two nights. the room was lovely, large with a sitting area and large TV. Tea, coffee and homemade biscuits. huge shower room, in all a very lovely place to stay. We had dinner there on the first night which was very good, all the staff were very welcoming and helpful. we did the Nicky Nook walk from the hotel which was excellent and will come back to do more walks as this is a great base. Morecambe and Lancaster are a short drive away. The breakfast was very good even a veggie cooked breakfast, excellent fresh coffee with complimentary papers, with a log burner roaring away a nice relaxed start to the day. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Grizedale on the ground floor could be noisy in the summer months as the beer garden/terrace is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were visiting some friends locally, made to feel really welcome, staff were very helpful and friendly. The room square view, was not over large but very comfortable. English breakfast was excellent. The village is situated on the edge of the Trough of Bowland some fabulous walk's in the area. Very good value we would definitely stay again. Nice touch given a packet of home made biscuits when we checked out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndMrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Priory with our two Border terriers. We were all made very welcome and our ground floor room , Grizedale, was huge. We had a very comfortable bed, two comfortable armchairs and a large tv as well as quirky furnishings. Huge bathroom with a shower. Coffee, tea and home made biscuits in the room was much appreciated. We had a good meal in the restaurant and an excellent English breakfast in the morning. Good walks round Scorton and ideally situated for exploring the Trough of Bowland. Although Scorton is very near to the M6 and you can hear the traffic noise in the village we couldn't hear it at all in the hotel.

Room Tip: We like Grizedale -it's on the ground floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
7.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
15.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
14.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Property: The Priory
Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing