We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay en route to Scotland!”
Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay en route to Scotland!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Found The Priory by chance on the internet and will definitely be going back. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was comfortable and we had a delicious meal with the best potted shrimps I have ever had! The waitress very kindly arranged for us to have some to take home with us! For anyone wanting to break their journey to or from Scotland, this is a lovely place to stay, very reasonably priced and only 10 minutes from the M6. Very dog friendly too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    61
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
149
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our second visit here as just halfway to Scotland for us. Convenient for M6. Friendly staff. Dinner and breakfast both good and overall good value for overnight stay. Will visit again and recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandKim2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This place is definitely worth a look...
It's clean, good service, great food ... All in all cheap and cheerful.... And happily situated in the sleepy village of Scorton.
Good access to the M6.
There is a country clothing boutique adjacent to the hotel ... Great sales to be had ....
We loved our stay here and will definitely return ....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5BellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As soon as,my now husband and, I walked in the Priory we fell in love with it and knew this was the wedding venue for us. Our style was vintage tea party and it could not have looked more beautiful on the day.I cannot thank the amazing staff at the priory enough! They were organised and accomodating, taking all the pressure off me on
the big day. The locally sourced food for the lancastrian buffet was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccieg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Priory last night with our 5 year old daughter. We were able to book a room with a small second bedroom/lounge area so our daughter could go to sleep before us! The rooms were lovely and the shower very powerful!
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent with a good choice menu both for us and our daughter. Breakfast was also delicious!
The staff were extremely friendly, we couldn't fault them or the service they provided.
We stay in a lot of hotels as we travel to and from Scotland regularly and every one we have stayed at has had the most uncomfortable bed in! The Priory bed had a perfect mattress, our only minor comment would be the wooden bed end which made the bed a little short (my fiancé is over 6ft!!) and the bed being a little squeaky!
All in all brilliant and we will definitely stay again.
Thank you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending his graduation ceremony at Myerscough College. This was a great choice - the accommodation was spacious and staff very friendly. Lovely outside area to eat or drink - we had two very good evening meals + breakfast next day. Hotel is easy to find and very convenient being just off M6. This would make a good base for exploring the beautiful Lancashire countryside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The wife and I were heading for a business come pleasure trip to various locations in England and decided to break the journey. We chose the Priory simply because it was near the M6 and had the facilities we wanted.

Absolutely brilliant hotel, good food, good service, the room was quirky and excellent. I haven't a bad word to say about it, and now we've found it, we will be back for a longer stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
1.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,339 reviews
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Property: The Priory
Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing