We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stopped at The Priory on the way to Scotland. Set in a quaint village, the Priory is a delight, friendly staff, lovely food and the accommodation is second to none. We will be back, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

My husband found The Priory by chance whilst looking for a hotel to celebrate my birthday. The service is very friendly and the room was comfortable, if a little hot as we were over the kitchen.
We stayed in the hotel for dinner and the food was excellent and breakfast could not have been better.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I happened to find this hotel on Google maps while plotting a route back from Scotland. I booked directly through their website after having a quick look at their room availability. I was pleasantly surprised to be escorted to my room and shown the facilities inside. The room itself was tastefully decorated and very clean. I stayed for dinner and had an incredibly flavourful and well cooked meal at a very reasonable price. The staff are so friendly, polite and helpful. One member has worked there for 12 years and lives very locally which says a lot about the quality of service you can expect. I believe this hotel deserves a recommendation as it is not far from the M6 and if I had more time, the nearby surroundings would have provided a lovely walk and some stunning views. Local shop just opposite the hotel, amazing full english breakfast included in price which was only £49. A truly beautiful and well run hotel with a long family run heritage that deserves your money in return for good food and a comfortably pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TelMcCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I wanted to stay somewhere in the North of England on route to my two week tour of Scotland. By chance this hotel was exactly half way between my house in Essex and my first Scottish hotel I was staying, so I booked up for two nights.


The Pro's

- Great characterful bedrooms
- Very nice bar and meals
- Extremely friendly staff
- Excellent breakfast (one of the best I have had in years!)
- Free parking
- Situated in a sweet little village and church opposite


Cons

- I have to say I couldn't find fault with the hotel, I guess if I was being very picky then the only issue was poor wi-fi and phone signal. However some may find that a positive.


I will certainly stay again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We needed somewhere to stay within reach of the ferry at Heysham. We found this on the internet and read the good reviews. The people are so friendly and helpful and it is a village of quiet charm yet close to the M6 and A6. We had a good, comfortable room. The dinner was excellent and delicious and breakfast brilliant. Would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Late booking through hotels dot com on the morning of staying. Arrived late evening, very pleasant and efficient staff. Good, warm room. Comfortable bed and peacefully quiet. Good breakfast too. We will come again :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NigeStrawbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Found The Priory by chance on the internet and will definitely be going back. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was comfortable and we had a delicious meal with the best potted shrimps I have ever had! The waitress very kindly arranged for us to have some to take home with us! For anyone wanting to break their journey to or from Scotland, this is a lovely place to stay, very reasonably priced and only 10 minutes from the M6. Very dog friendly too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Verity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
1.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
223 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
2 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing