We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Hilton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The service was good ,staff friendly, the food was fine, Hotel was clean but looked a little tired, rather bare could do with some pictures on the walls and a few ornaments and flowers about the place. Nothing exceptional but we have certainly had worse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferlJ6322OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Hilton House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review regarding our Sunday Carvery. Its a shame there was little mention about the choice and variety of food on offer on our carvery.

Indulge me if you will, we are a small village hotel, built 150 years ago as a family home with a function room added about 50 years ago.

Over the last 2 years we have redecorated reception, re-carpeted the ground floor, purchased new furniture in the lounge/meeting area and refurbished the function room.

We have pictures throughout the ground floor, but have elected to keep the function room neutral so that it does not look out of place at weddings, christenings, funerals, annual dinners and Sunday lunch. There are however tall vases with decorations in, in the windows that complement the Roman Blinds.

Tired suggests we have done nothing to keep on top of the decor, and this is anything but the truth.

I accept that we are not modern, but you wouldn't blame your elders for not being modern.

Thank you once again for your your review

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
31
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have just spent one night at this hotel which I thoroughly enjoyed. Reception and waiting / breakfast staff are all very friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooms are a little dated but the rooms are clean and the beds are really comfy! The breakfast was very enjoyable with a good choice. The cost of the hotel may be priced slightly too high as I have stayed in five star hotels in London for almost the same price. However, I would return again. Thank you to all the excellent staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaT23WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Hilton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are an old building which gives us our own certain character. You will find steps up and down, the rooms are not purpose built, but we are comfy cosy.

Our staff and our breakfast we hope provide the value that you look for when spending your hard earnt money.

Our price is cheaper than 2 of our nearest competitors, and yes its possible to get some really great deals at expensive hotels when they are really quiet.

We look forward to your next visit at the Hilton House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

beautiful relaxing place! I really enjoyed my stay and I am sure to recommend this to my friends and I will return as soon as I can! Lovely Place! Beautiful helpful staff. Amazing swimming pool, amazing people amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Hilton House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Whilst I love that you loved us, sadly this review is not about my lovely little hotel as we do not have a swimming pool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consett
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We visited friends who live nearby. Unfortunately the family room was just too small. The bathroom was simply a walk in cupboard. There was a sign telling you to keep shower door closed, but no where to put shampoo.so every time you bent over to pick stuff up the door opened. Also lots of damp. The TV was too small and we rolled into each other due to a very worn mattress. I asked to be moved to a room with a bath, which was great, if not a little dated. Definitely the most we've ever paid to stay anywhere, and the worst.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1972louisejewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Hilton House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Hilton House Hotel. I must advise though that the worn out mattress you refer to was new with the bed earlier this year, so its nowhere near worn out, it is only a double but maybe you are more familiar with a King-sized bed.

We are an old family home converted to a hotel some 50 years ago where all rooms shared a bathroom along the corridor. At some point en-suites were installed as best as possible, yes its a little on the small side but perfectly functional.

It would appear that the soap dish in the shower has become loose and was removed, this I do agree is a failing that needs to be rectified.

As to the price, you had booked a room for 3 guests all with breakfast, and we have bought new furniture to accommodate 3 persons in that room at a price that including VAT we feel is not too unreasonable.

Thank you
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was extremely surprised by this little gem. I booked because a group of us were going racing at Uttoxeter but would stay if I was going to Alton towers or anywhere else local, the staff and locals gave us a very warm welcome and breakfast was excellent. I can not praise the staff enough, one of our party was fortunate enough to win a couple of thousand of pounds at the races and stupidly left it in the room, on our way home I received a call to say that housekeeping had found it:- we were stunned, in this day and age it is an absolute breath of fresh air to find GOOD HONEST people. Would definitely stay again. Also Kirsty does the best chocolate orange cheesecake ever ( she is going to send me the recipe), definitely worth a trip.

Room Tip: If you are quite tall then the outside rooms are probably not for you, otherwise all the other rooms...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank londonbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Wonderful place, glad I went and would definitely recommend it for everyone. The Carvery is awesome.

The staff at this place are mega friendly and really only have you in mind. If I ever come back to the UK, this place will certainly be on my list once more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touring_planets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I visited the Hilton for a sunday carvery and decided to take both our parents. The carvery menu was good with options for starters and desserts too. The staff were warm and welcoming. Attentive but not intrusive. The carvery selection was good and well stocked. We subsequently decided to hold our wedding here in July 2012 and can say that thanks to Zoe, Colin and all their staff, our wedding day was amazing. Zoe is the master of ceremonies and throughout all our pre-wedding meetings was very organised and helpful and ensured our wedding went without a hitch and on schedule. The wedding breakfast options were very good. We decided to opt for the pate,Lamb Shank and cheesecake and every guest commented as to how nice it was. Thanks to the chefs! the staff worked so hard to cater to us and our guests and we couldn’t have asked for a better venue. The hotel itself has 10 rooms all of which are standard and tastefully decorated. The restaurant/ reception room is spacious and has patio doors which open onto the lovely maintained gardens.

After our wedding, we also purchased a Groupon deal for a steak meal for 2, we went along in Feb 2013 whereby the restaurant had undergone a makeover. The room was nice before but even nicer after. The steak meal was gorgeous and faultless with a very generous portion of chips, peas, onion rings and selection of side sauces etc. All the staff are friendly and accommodating and a real asset to Zoe and Colin. The Hilton also offer pub grub and a variety of real ales and will also allow small dogs in the pub area. We love coming here and find it a very romantic place for us that hold special memories. Thanks again to all the staff.

Having read some other reviews, I can honestly say I love this place and not too sure how people can find any fault with it. Zoe and Colin work very hard and do their best to ensure your visit (in any way) is enjoyable. My husband and I will visit as often as we can in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Hilton House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Laura

I don't know where to start, all I can say is a big thank you from Zoe and myself and the staff.

We try our utmost best to make the customer happy, we know we do not get it right all the time but we believe we get it more than right most of the time.

We look forward to your next visit

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilton
2.2 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
417 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
7.9 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House Hotel

Property: Hilton House Hotel
Address: 1 Mill Lane, Hilton DE65 5GP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton House is a small family run independent Hotel with 10 letting bedrooms, all redecorated between Jan - June 2017 The building is over 150 years old and has been converted from an old family home producing a quirky layout with later additions including a 100-seated function room with dance floor. We are old, we have decorated bedrooms in a more modern style but the main building does have an older feel about its decor, which has all been redecorated at least twice in the last 6 years. Food is available in the evenings Monday to Friday only. We do not serve food on a Saturday or Sunday night, but do have a Sunday Carvery from 12 - 2pm. The hotel is very popular for family events on Friday and Saturday evenings which means disco music will be audible until midnight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing