We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodation we experienced in Europe.”
Review of Le Clos de Venes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos de Venes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this accommodation based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews on tripadvisor and we are so glad we did.
We stayed here for two nights and had an incredible time.
The house is located in the Minervois wine region. Beautiful scenery with vineyards amongst small French towns. It is exactly what we hoped for.
Couat d'Aude is one of these small towns. The house itself looks over the town church and onto the vineyards. It is probably the most beautiful house we have ever seen. A room that must be about for times the size of a hotel room. Perfectly clean. Decorated in the French style.
There is a communal lounge area and terrace where breakfast is served. Sylvie, the host, served breakfasts on the terrace - crepes, pastries, homemade jams, yoghurt etc. her husband Christophe showed us the wine that they make in a cellar in a nearby town and gave us a tasting and demonstration of the winemaking process.
The hosts were both so welcoming and kind. Nothing was too difficult. They helped us book the best local restaurants and helped with all our trip planning questions. They made our stay an absolute pleasure.
Also, the house has fast wifi.
We recommend staying longer than two nights. There are so many interesting towns, the canal etc to visit. Ideally 5 nights would be best but unfortunately we have to keep moving.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretsdaude, Propriétaire at Le Clos de Venes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you very for your wonderful kindness, we are very happy that our home were what your expected for your stay in our beautiful region. We loved the moments we spent together and love to share our every day life with our guests specially when it is about to make you discover how to make wine...we wish we will see you again at home...kind regards. Sylvie & Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos de Venes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Friendly and helpful owners that made us feel welcome. The place was clean, the room spacious. Nice surroundings. Sylvie was a fantastic host and provided a good breakfast and helped us to make a dinner reservation for a restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emisv595W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed four nights in this delightful 19th century house in utter peace and calm. Very handy for Carcasonne, Les Corbieres and Narbonne. Half an hour away you can swim from Gruisson beach. There are several restaurants at nearby Homps by the Canal du Midi. Sylvie provided delicious breakfasts and was the perfect host, so helpful, she made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Other reviewers have written extensively about this B&B, encouraging me to choose it to begin with. We were not disappointed in any way. Charming and helpful Sylvie and Christoph made our stay extra nice with reservations at a nice little restaurant not far away. If you want a city experience, go elsewhere. If you want a lovely get-away in a warm and comfortable environment, consider this place. We stayed only one night on our way through the area but wish we had stayed longer. Wifi works, parking is free, breakfast is good, bed is comfortable (firm), hosts are accommodating and friendly. We loved the bottle of red wine we bought - very reasonably priced and sooo good. No credit cards at this time; be prepared to pay cash.

Room Tip: We liked Amandier, on the front of the house, can't speak to the others.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at Secret d'Aude for 4 nights. The mansion is full of charm with very nice interior decor. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and very spacious. We particularly like the Jardin d'Hiver, which was where we had breakfast. This is a double height garden room bathed in natural light. Breakfast was generous with croissants, pain au chocolat, fresh fruits, selection of yoghurt, cereal and Sylvie's home-made cake. Their croissants and pain au chocolat are the best that we have ever had. We also appreciate the good wi-fi signal throughout which is not necessarily the norm in our experience. Sylvie and Christoph are both very charming and helpful hosts. They are both proficient in English, which made things a lot easier for us, as our French is very limited.

For us the location of Secret d"Aude is ideal as we did not want to change base too often, and from Secret d'Aude places like Carcassonne, Canal du Midi, Abbaye de Fontfroide, Collioure, etc. are easily accessible.

We had a very pleasant stay at Secret d'Aude. Sylvie gave us useful advice on where to go, how to get there and always made sure that we got a table at a good restaurant every evening.

During our stay, we took a day trip to Girona in Spain. Unfortunately, our car broke down in Spain on our way back, and we did not get back to Secret d'Aude until after midnight. When we got back, we found that Sylvie had stayed up to wait for us. She was worried about us, knowing that we had with us an 83 year old grandmother. Throughout our stay, we felt that we were being treated by Sylvie and Christoph not just as guests, but also as friends, and for this we are very grateful.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Liliane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A beautiful house , in a very quite little village.Our room was huge,clean,lovely furnishing,and the bed was very comfortable .We had a very nice meal with our hosts Cristoph and Sylvie and their other guests. The food and wine were beautiful and we were made very welcome.We only stayed one night as we were traveling through , but it would make a great base to explore the area.Wonderful place with wonderful people.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed in one of the beautiful attic rooms. Very spacious, tasteful and comfortable. Pretty village and good location for exploring the surrounding area by car, including Carcassonne. Sylvie was a lovely and helpful host, cannot fault her! Provided lots of information about the area and made my father and I feel welcome. Would highly recommend this gorgeous B&B.

Room Tip: Would recommend an attic room, however I would guess that all of the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Couat-d'Aude
18.7 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
24.5 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 22 in Narbonne
174 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Residence du Chateau de Jouarres
4.6 mi away
Auberge Cote Jardin
Auberge Cote Jardin
#1 of 1 in Conilhac-Corbieres
207 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sainte-Helene Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de Venes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de Venes

Address: 1 Place de l Eglise | The Big House in Front of the Church !, 11700 Saint-Couat-d'Aude, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint-Couat-d'Aude
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Couat-d'Aude
Price Range: £75 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvie and Christophe Jacquel, your French host and Wine Growers welcome you in their large 19th century mansion in a picturesque village in the Languedoc region, surrounded by vineyards, bordered by the Aude river. Our B&B is ideally located between Narbonne and Carcassonne, a few steps from the Midi Canal and a few kilometres from the Mediterranean, right in Cathars country. 4 Large bedrooms (Florentine, Celestine, Eudolie, Amandine) and the large family suite (Capucine) are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos de Venes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De Venes Aude, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing