We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happiest dreams in CT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harfield Guest Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harfield Guest Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mabula Private Game Reserve, South Africa
1 review
“Happiest dreams in CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Harfield Guest Villas delighted as always. The combination of charming, comfortable accommodations, warm, friendly and attentive staff and great food make this my first choice of hotel when in Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Roy

Thank you so much for taking the time for the review. We hope you are well. And it's always pleasure to have you at our Guest Villa. We look forward to see you in the New Year. Have an amazing December!

Best Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
62
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We chose Harfield Guest Villa after searching the internet for somewhere convenient to Cape Town airport and to Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens.
Pre-arrival correspondence and booking was efficient and a taxi transfer from the airport was arranged for us in advance.
On arrival we were greeted by owner Graham who, together with manager Christel, were very helpful throughout our stay.
We stayed in the Classic Cottage Room which had it's own secluded outside area, a kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Whilst the fitments were perhaps a little tired, the cosmetics (towels, bedding, robes, toiletries etc) were first class.
Breakfasts were served in the main house and were fine. We also had an evening meal (ordered in advance) which was simple but wholesome and tasty.
Graham was a font of knowledge and nothing too much trouble. Taxis were sorted to take us to the botanical gardens at Kirstenbosch and back to the airport.
I recount this incident not to put people off but as a reminder of the need for vigilance wherever you are in the world. The lounge and bedroom windows were on the outside of the property. They had window bars and a metre away was an open-weave fence acting as a barrier to the side road. At 7am the lounge bedroom curtains moved as a hand and arm moved them to one side. A youth had his arm through the open transom window on a 'fishing expedition'. When challenged he squeezed under the gate and ran away. The owner was advised and Graham said he would repair the transom window which turned out to have a broken catch, and he would lower the height of the gate. Again, don't be put off but be vigilant and aware.
All in all it was a pleasant stay which suited our purposes. All the staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Alan and Anne,

Hope you are home safely. You left some of your English weather behind....I don't think it has stopped raining since you left!

Thanks for writing the review. It was really helpful and the detail with which you wrote was excellent.

We have already adjusted the gate. It was really simple and the Cottage is 100% secure.
Thanks also for pointing out the tiredness of some of the fitments. No excuse. We will certainly take action as soon as we have a gap.

The information you gave on the dragonflies and bats has been quite an inspiration to myself and our kids. I never would have believed that dragonflies could be so fascinating! Although my seven year old son did point out that they were around with the dinosaurs. Just a lot bigger.

Once again thanks for staying with us. Hopefully you are able to return one day.

Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A stay at the Harfield Guest Villa will revive and resuscitate any traveler, albeit business or pleasure. They pride themselves on service, greeting you by name, carrying luggage and catering to your every desire. I have had the pleasure in staying in almost every room of the Villa, and they are all spectacular, each with its' own charm yet all with incredibly comfortable beds and essential air-conditioning. The stunning pool and mountain view are breath-taking, the perfect setting for indulging in their delicious breakfasts, fresh coffee and morning newspaper.

Centrally located in the Southern Suburbs, the Villa is perfect for the businessman or tourist, and the city is only 30mins away (in morning traffic). WiFi available in every room, with ample work spaces. Awesome experience.

Room Tip: "The Attic" can get quite hot in summer, while "Mountain View" rooms on upper le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guy

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this amazing review. We appreciate it.
You have stayed with us for so many times you are part of the family. And we hope to see you again soon.

Have a great year and enjoy the December holidays!

Best Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We appreciated that the host stayed up until 11pm to let us in and had a breakfast pack ready to go for us as we had to leave bright and early. Was a bit surprised that there was no door separating the bathroom from the main bedroom, but we made do (just good to know for people who are weird about the bathroom like I am).


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Dana

Thank you for the review. It is such a shame that you couldn't stay with us longer and meet the whole team! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regarding the bathroom...We are sorry that you experienced it that way and we totally understand your point. This is the only room that we have that does not have a door between the bedroom and the bathroom. And we would like to keep it that way, if we can help it, as it makes the room (The Classic) so much more spacious and works well with the design. It is one of our most beautiful rooms in the Guest Villa. We will make note of it and if a couple books with us we will tell them that there is no door in that specific room. We however (normally in this case) have a guest bathroom for the guest to use for more privacy in the case such as you found yourselves in. Next time when we see you again we will make sure to put you in a room with a door and we really hope to see you again soon. Would have loved to have meet you, as I was not on duty that evening.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Harfield Guest Villa is delightful. It is quiet, the rooms are large and luxurious, and have everything you would want - real coffee, minibar, robes, desk. Graham is the perfect host. I would certainly stay here again. The location suited me because I have family in the area. It is about a 20 min drive to the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Judith

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review for us. We also apprecaite the email you send us. We hope to see you again soon in the near future! Have a great week.

Best Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Harfield Guest Villa has such an excellent atmosphere for business, the environment is quiet for a peaceful rest at night, the owners/caretakers prepare awesome breakfast and they are friendly. Love it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tshediso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Tshediso

Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!!

Warm Regards
Nevena Jablanovic (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Staying at the Harfield Guest Villa was like being welcomed home. The staff were friendly and helpful, ready with local information on the many amenities in Claremont, and ending a long day with hot water bottles in the bed, a wonderful touch on a chilly night. The trust system operated in the comfortable little lounge/bar added to the impression. In winter, when views of the pool are less appealing, an upper room with stunning views of the mountain is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth784071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Elizabeth

Thank you so much for this review. We are happy that you have experienced such a great service and atmosphere here at our Guest Villa. The Fireplace in the bar area certainly saved us during this cold winter months!

Hope you have an excellent day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.9 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harfield Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harfield Guest Villa

Property: Harfield Guest Villa
Address: 26 1st Avenue Harfield Village , | Claremont/Newlands, Claremont 7740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harfield Guest Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique Villa ,with a new approach to service that surpasses all others. Private entrances lead you to intimate suites decorated with love and detail. We are a Four Star Boutique Hotel situated in a very secure and safe area, walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Harfield Village. Our rooms are also equipped with Wi-Fi, Fully Stocked Mini bars, DSTV and the Luxury Rooms all have air-conditioning. Rates include a full continental breakfast as well as your choice from our cooked breakfast menu, tea, coffee and fruit juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harfield Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfield Guest Villa Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing