We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harfield Guest Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great B&B villa”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location in the Cape Town area situated between the airport and the Cape Town waterfront. I had the opportunity to enjoy the "Cottage" which was spacious, clean, and very comfortable in all regards. The breakfast had many options allowing a newness each day. Common areas are well kept and very comfortable. Quite location in a nice residential area. As someone that has stayed in many of the larger hotels in Cape Town in the past, Harfield Guest Villa was a real oasis. Unquestionably my first consideration when looking for lodging in CT on the next visit. And the freshly made cookies in the room were a nice touch...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you, Thomas, for the lovely review.

Was nice having you, Ross and David here.

Hope you had a pleasant trip home and that we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    62
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
63
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were in need of a B&B near Newlands, and this seemed to be in the right place, however it is a good 20 mins+ to the ground, and other places are nearer. The room we had was dark, the ceiling fan didn't work so it was very hot during the night and so no real sleep. Also the floor standing fan didn't work, so all in all the rooms were dark and very stuffy. We had the cottage which was very large with a sitting room, kitchen and extra bedroom but it didn't work for us. Breakfast was acceptable, but no great shakes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate you taking the effort to write it.

First of all I would like to apologize for the fan in the bedroom not working, as well as the standing one. The batteries in the remote were replaced and the fan in the room is now working perfectly. We were unaware of that. As well as the standing fan. Which we since have replaced. Our cottages are normally very popular and I am sorry it didn’t work for you. If you are ever to book with us again, please request one of the luxury rooms, which is smaller and also have air conditioning.

Regarding the lightning in the cottage, I will have a look at that and see where we can improve.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the spacious, comfortable rooms with country character to the warm, attentive and generous hosts, it's hard for me to imagine better accommodations in Cape Town, especially for the price. Throw in a terrific location and meals (which I didn't get a chance to try this time but certainly looked delicious!) and you have something special. I definitely plan on staying there the next time I'm in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you for this review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and the wedding you attended.

We definitely hope to see you again soon.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned home from a whirl wind trip of cape town and surrounding area. My wife, mother in law and two children where traveling together. We stayed in 7 different hotels around Cape Town and Harfield Guest Villa was by far the best. Graham and Christel made us feel very welcome indeed. The room was amazing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, with kitchen! Great for families. Tastefully decorated and a great quiet nights sleep. The best value for money we experienced in Cape Town by far. Felt very safe and secure. Very good breakfast. The area is great too. Very easy into central cape Town, with lovely restaurants and shops nearby. Thankyou Graham And Christel once again for such a fantastic stay in your lovely guest house. We cant recommend it enough

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Joe

It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us.

And we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the service at our Guest Villa and Cape Town!
Also.. thanks for the great compliments!
We hope to see you again soon. Keep well.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 9 nights at Harfield. Graham, Christel, and the rest of the staff will make your stay so enjoyable. The rooms are comfortably furnished, and the breakfasts are amazing. If you like a quiet drink in the evening, there is a great selection from the 'honesty' bar in the lounge or your 'mini bar' in your room. Graham also made take-away breakfasts for our son who we were visiting, and lent us picnic chairs so we could watch his cricket. Nothing is too much trouble. The location is great for Newlands Cricket or Rugby grounds, only 15 mins walk at the most. There are a number of restaurants in walking distance at Harfield Village, or 5 minute drive to restaurants in Claremont/Newlands. It only takes 20 minutes to get to the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain. Camps Bay, Cape Point are also a must. This was a holiday of a lifetime, Cape Town is amazing! We look forward to returning for the England Test match Graham.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin and Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Colin and Sally

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and had such a positive experience.
We hope to see you again soon, when visiting.

Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of January and loved it. Graham is a fantastic host and is so helpful. Fantastic breakfast, great rooms and service. Would recommend to anyone!
It's located in a nice quiet neighborhood and a street away from a number of nice places to eat/drink. Great views and just a 10 min drive from the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russian_Kiwi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for this review. I am happy to hear you had a nice stay with us!

Hope your travel back was pleasant.

Please do book with us again when in Cape Town, we would love having you back.

Best Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A home away from home. I will be back, but with more friends! Neighborhood was excellent, alot of nice cafe's and restaurants within walking distance. Owner and staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Even printed out a walking map for me! Would highly recommend. .a bit far from Cape Town city center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmc5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi

Thank you for writing this review for us. We appreciate every kind word you said and we hope to see you again here soon!

Have a fantastic week.

Best Regards

Christel (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.9 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Bauer Pottery Studio and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harfield Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harfield Guest Villa

Property: Harfield Guest Villa
Address: 26 1st Avenue Harfield Village , | Claremont/Newlands, Claremont 7740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harfield Guest Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique Villa ,with a new approach to service that surpasses all others. Private entrances lead you to intimate suites decorated with love and detail. We are a Four Star Boutique Hotel situated in a very secure and safe area, walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Harfield Village. Our rooms are also equipped with Wi-Fi, Fully Stocked Mini bars, DSTV and the Luxury Rooms all have air-conditioning. Rates include a full continental breakfast as well as your choice from our cooked breakfast menu, tea, coffee and fruit juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harfield Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfield Guest Villa Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing