We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, healthy breakfast”
Review of Starlings Cafe

Starlings Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, healthy breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Really enjoyed the poached eggs with smoked salmon and 'Banting' bread. Service was great. Portion was generous and well presented. Altogether a very satisfying experience. My friend was very happy with her food too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    57
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in plain sight”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The food is simply delightful.
Good crowd of people.
Menu not too big.
Great coffee.
Always busy.
Try it for breakfast or lunch.
Parking sometimes difficult.

Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect little breakfast spot!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Starlings has been my go to coffee / breakfast spot for a number of years now. The menu is small but covers the basics - eggs, bacon, fruit with muesli, benedict, florentine, souffle, etc. Bacon always crispy, poached eggs soft and melty! But honestly we keep going back for the origin coffee - always a winner. They also do lunches with a twist - thai curries, soups in winter, home made tarts, melty brie sarmies... oh and the babychinos are free and there is a garden area at the back where kids can toddle and explore the water feature - just be warned, sitting under the pear trees in season comes with a warning!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyCapeTownSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Secret Garden of deliciousness”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Starlings has been my favourite coffee shop since it opened. Now that I live out in the country, it is the first place I head for when back in "civilization". The fact that it doesn't need a signboard or any kind of advertising speaks volumes. One feels like a very knowledgable local who knows secrets that others don't when you go to Starlings.
The welcome is always warm and sincere, the setting couldn't be better - looking our over a lovely garden or inside with interesting and whimsical decor. I would be happy just to sit there - but the food and coffee takes to to a whole other level.
The best coffee (with a much-appreciated soya milk option) and cakes to please the most discerning palate. I was there with a friend for breakfast and relished the Spinach and feta muffin with tomato chillie jam. It was warm, fresh, well seasoned and packed with feta. The jam added a piquancy that satisfied all the tastes.
I have enjoyed every meal at Starlings, whether coffee and a cake or a full on meal. The chef know what he/she is doing, the delightful and competent owner has her finger on the pulse of her very healthy restaurant and we can only wish her the very best. She deserves it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamakalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Treasure between the trees!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had heard so much about Starlings before making our trip from Plett to CT.
What a lovely little treasure chest of great food, super chilled vibe, lovely atmosphere and Super tasty food! We were in CT for a week, visited twice, on return our kids admitted to returning to you without us for breakfast and this week my sister-in-law Trish was treated to lunch with you by her to kids... say no more - this place is the best little find in CT, although it gets really busy - we will continue to spread the word, and regards to the red-headed waiter we nick named Tintin.
Thank you for a great highlight to our time out in CT.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starlings Cafe also viewed

 
Claremont, Cape Town
Claremont, Cape Town
 

Been to Starlings Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing