We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Off The Wall Backpackers
1 review
“Very good but noisy!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This place is very modern and very clean and staff are extremely helpful and make you feel at home. Its in a good location next to the train station and is just off a bustling high street with shopping centres,restaurants and bars galore! Only negative is that the walls are paper thin and it can become noisy in the evenings when everyone is around. Other than this I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aaron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've been to a few backpackers in and around Cape Town, and South Africa, normally the accommodation is acceptable but nothing to write home about. Off The Wall backpackers has raised the bar in every way possible - admittedly it is a bit more expensive than most backpackers but definitely worth it.

The rooms are spacious and come with a full length and fairly large locker to place and lock all your valuables away. The beds are comfy and bedding clean and new. There are many showers and hot water was never a problem -all kept spotless. The kitchen area upstairs is great place to chill and the hammock was a complete bonus.

Everything is kept very clean, the staff friendly , and they keep a security guard at night to let you in and out . The backpackers is 100m away from Cavendish Square so your choice in terms of shops and restaurants is pretty large.

Truly the best backpacking experience I've ever had. Keep up the great work guys!

Room Tip: The rooms backing onto the road have a bit of road noise at night but it's not bad at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

perfect area, nice location, staff and the owners are such great people. the place is brand new with everything inside is beautiful designed and arranged for your comfort. you will know everything the mint you walk in, i just felt like home. there is lots of space and the rooms, bathrooms are very comfortable. all the furniture is new,tv,wifi and lots on entertainment. the best price i found in town, very humble compare to other place. i love it i had the best time there and i met a lot of nice people. love it.. thanks guys for everything..

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice. i loved the single ones..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoNagib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Wow - what a great place - I have stayed in many backpackers and have inspected a lot without staying - this is one of the best I have seen.
the surprise is after you arrive down the very grey and unimpressive side street is the entrance - it absolutely blows you away. It is much better than a B&B as you are completely private and it is like a self-catering hotel with its well-appointed central kitchen that doubles as TV room with ample seating - so you can kook and eat whilst watching TV!!
The staff are brilliant starting with the security guy at the front door, the owners and staff - all fantastic. There are great eateries all within a minute or two walk as well as a huge mall (Cavendish Square)
the rooms are very well designed and have excellent linen (the towels are normal size though) and the colour scheme is absolutely super.
I will find and excuse to stay there again.
well done, Guys, you give the backpackers a better image!

Room Tip: the room next to the 'smoking' deck may become noisy if there are a lot of people having a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First time @ a backpackers pretty cool vibes, clean,safe, comfortable........only three words to describe this place OFF THE WALL
Great great experience will definitely try this again. Was a bit skeptical about staying at a backpackers but it's not ur typical packers people should check it it out.....cool staff and it is clean clean clean most important thing for me

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreysbaai, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

They may be "Off the Wall" but they are definitely on the map!! Beautifully furnished, clean and cosy. Situated in the heart of Claremont - there no shoratge of things to do all in walking distance (including the metro!). Although the place itself doesn't have many activity facilities it is in no way lacking!! We took a school tour down and this meant no drunk, crazy people we needed to shelter them from. They LOVED IT! For anyone keen on nightlife - 200m and you're at the entrance of Tiger Tiger. Cool, friendly staff and a chilled atmosphere accommadating to all types of travellors - this backpackers is off the wall man!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suiyen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.8 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
John Bauer Pottery Studio and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Town City Accommodation – The Quadrant
0.8 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Wall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Backpackers

Property: Off The Wall Backpackers
Address: 117 Roscommon Street, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jam packed with funkiness, good vibes and great rooms, Off The Wall Backpackers Hotel is located in the urban hub of Claremont, which is brimming with shops, night life and restaurants. - Centrally located between the city centre, Muizenberg beach and Constantia Winelands- A few minutes away from Cavendish Centre, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground- A selection of dorms, and private rooms with shared and en suite bathrooms- Self-catering communal kitchen with DSTV - Heavenly spring mattresses and percale linen- Free wi-fi in all the rooms- Digital safes in the private rooms and lockers in the dorms- Travel & tourist information and bookings- Close to the train and bus station, taxi rank and Jammie Shuttle bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Off The Wall Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Backpackers Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing