We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, lovely staff: highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Andros Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My girlfriend and I had the most amazing time here; if you're looking to relax in style whilst enjoying some tranquility this should be your destination. We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by a lovely receptionist who took outstanding care in making sure we were at home and completely at ease.

The room had everything we needed and more; I never had to call reception for anything because there was nothing that had not already been taken care of upon our arrival.

Before arriving I called to have a bottle of sparkling wine on ice waiting in the room; this was seen to fashionably and the stay was sweeter than the Brut from that first moment.

The hotel has a homey-feel to it, yet I can imagine paying a visit to this place on any type of trip - be it to set a romantic mood, to stop-off for a business trip and to bring the family together for the weekend.

Having slept in a little bit late, we were accommodated for breakfast later than the scheduled time that breakfast is prescribed for. This was done without a hassle and we didn't have to hurry or entertain anything but welcoming faces when we stepped into the garden to have a pleasant buffet under a warm sun.

A wonderful experience from start to finish. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Staying at the Andros is a very strange experience. I have sympathy with those who found this hotel somehow unmanaged. We booked in in August into the only room available for a 10 day stay in February 2013, so, clearly popular - or in possession of a booking system which did not work properly. We arrived, checked in and asked for a porter to deal with our bags. A very slim young lady appeared and attempted to carry our bags ( around 25kg each) to the room. Not a "porter" in sight. We were staying in a room at around $300 per night - pricey for Cape Town. Very nicely appointed with a private plunge pool.
The facilities were superficially OK but the ablution arrangements were not. The shower was a mere dribble and the toilet did not fully flush on first attempt and took an absolute age to refill the cistern. New knobs on old plumbing! The hot water was so hot as to be dangerous.
In the room, the tv - a flat screen which took ages to boot was totally unreliable. It needed attention nearly every day and was, it transpired, controlled from an adjacent room in which the occupant unplugged our tv feed to charge his/her cell phone.
The staff servicing the room came and went frequently, so that no peace was assured. Average number of "intrusions (sorry I forgot the towels)" was around 4 per day. The strange thing was that everyone on site tried very hard to be charming and constantly enquired whether everything was OK. Well, it wasn't. There was lots of charm but a total absence of management or ownership.
The spa - an attraction for my wife - was closed. "it's being renovated". Why was it still advertised? "Well, we told them to take it off the web-site, but they have not done so...." And so it went on. It would not be overstating the situation to observe that the most competent person on site seemed at times to be the African night security man. Charming, helpful and proactive.
I hope this review causes potential guests to think twice before booking. We will certainly never stay again. 5 stars simply denoted a check list of facilities - certainly not a well-managed hotel. Finally, don't blame the staff - blame the owners!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fixitfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Andros hotel is located in a nice part of town and has a lovely garden and good rooms- the ones outside are spacious and each with a nice seating outside. The pool was a little cold, beauty salon under renovation yet a sauna will be heated at your request. Reading the other reviews one would expect that all is run fine- unfortunately we had a higher demand and a totally different experience- we see it as a lack of accountability from the owners.

We were for 7 days with a group and experienced all that you do not wish for... One person wasn't able to enter the venue because there was no pick up at the airport, no one from security to open the gate once arrived and then no one at reception to pick up the phone. In the evenings, only one person runs the venue and since they are running around to check rooms, kitchen etc- the reception desk is often empty- plus as they explained "the phone cannot be forwarded" because the manager's office is closed- so many times when we needed to speak to reception no one answered.

The cook is a little unpredictable and so it can happen that you will find out that the kitchen is closed right when it is closed- with them ordering Mc Donald's for you instead (no good restaurant-take aways available).
At the same time the laundry was not fully functioning during some days, meaning that some items were not fully available from there either. Staff did the best they could but with a lack of hands (due to people called in sick and no replacement)
When explaining or complaining about something the common response is that we did something wrong... eg we announced too late that there were going to be more people (just 5 days in advance), the lady arriving late wouldn't have made enough noise at the gate so that they clearly didn't hear her; (nothing about unanswered phone); Apologies weren't made. According to the owner "not my responsibility". Extra cost not at all properly taken care of (eg for the lady having to stay in the nearby hotel).

It is because of the lovely staff that I haven't rated this as "poor". We are clearly not returning.

Room Tip: outdoor rooms have a nice patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at the Andros for the final few days of our holiday in South Africa. It is an excellent small hotel set in beautiful gardens with a lovely pool. Our room was very spacious with a sitting area and a veranda. The bathroom was superb. There were several communal sitting areas that were very well furnished and good wi-fi service. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was served in the spacious airy dining room and was excellent.
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but sampled the bar snacks which were good. There were plenty of places to eat in nearby Claremont and Newlands. It was also handy for the cricket ground.
Only downside was a bit of traffic noise.
Overall impression is of a small intimate 5* star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have a terrace and a view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My mother and I stayed in the Andros for 10 days whilst visiting South Africa for the first time. The room we stayed in was large, spacious, beautifully decorated and opened onto the beautiful garden and pool. We enjoyed use of the gym, the spa and the pool, all of which were superbly maintained, with the spa offering a wide range of treatments in a relaxing atmosphere. The reception rooms in the hotel were beyond gorgeous, with the option to enjoy lunch in the serene champagne bar, or relax into the old world luxury of the library, guests really are spoilt for choice. The sumptuous breakfast buffet, which we enjoyed on the terrace whilst taking in the beautiful garden and views, was marvelous and enough on its own to persuade us that there is no other hotel in Cape Town we would want to stay at. The staff were unfailingly helpful, courteous and hospitable. Overall an absolutely 5* experience, quite simply a stunning place to stay. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here for business and was very conducive. Well sized rooms, comfortable, great shower, good room service. Whilst not close to CBd, that's not a bad thing sometimes. Will return for pleasure. Not great to get out of in school terms but manageable.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank tnick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My family and I experienced luxury beyond expectation. Unbelievable service was mixed with stunning vistas and beautiful furnishings. Even before we arrived, the concierge emailed to find out if we wanted to book special arrangements such as dinners and New Years eve parties as places booked out in advance. We were given large rooms for my 2 girls 16 and 19 and myself and my wife. With only 12 guest rooms, this is truely a boutique hotel and although the outside pool are was not serviced, we were thrilled not to have someone there at all as we wanted a peaceful environment. The hotel is nestled under the mountain and views in the morning are spectacular. Although somewhat away from the commercial tourist areas of Cape Town, we were happy to be in the suburbs which was more central to both coasts. Do hire a car as you will need it. It is worth it. We have traveled a lot and yet to find such a gem. I feel like keeping this one a secret!

Room Tip: Try for the "main house". Rooms are a little larger than "outside" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishfan90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town
1,307 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,800 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andros Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andros Boutique Hotel

Address: Corner Newlands & Phyllis Road, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range: £91 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Andros Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Claremont, one of Cape Town's beautiful southern suburbs, The Andros is close to Kirstenbosch, Constantia winelands, and 10 minutes from the city. Furnished in elegant and traditional style, complementing the original features of this beautiful and graceful residence. Enjoy alfresco meals in summer on the terrace or enjoy gourmet breakfasts, light lunches and delicious dinners in the new restaurant, DINE. Relax in the stylish Champagne room or the Drawing room. Four tranquil, luxury rooms in the manor house are stylishly furnished and have garden or mountain views. Set in the gardens are eight beautiful, spacious luxury bedrooms, each with a separate entrance and patio and one executive suite with its own pool. Relax at the pool or spoil yourself with a treatment or a workout in the spa wellness centre with fully equipped gym and sauna. This idyllic setting is the perfect venue for any occasion. The Andros is a TGCSA 5-Star establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Andros Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andros Boutique Hotel Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing