We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$311
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
US$352
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Raha Beach Hotel(Abu Dhabi)
US$237
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveller rating
583
197
79
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
197
79
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabu dhabipalm restaurantwildlife drivedesert islands resortkids clublong drivehorse ridingboat tripinfinity poolget awayoutdoor activitiespool sidelate checkseafoodal shamswild animalslong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Lat week myself and family visited this Desert Island. This was a new experience for us as we had never thought that in Middle East we can have a place like this.We arrived by 9.30 AM and took us for a guided safari ride through he wild life park, which spread across 85 Square kilo meters. The kids had a wonderful time and saw various animals up close and earned more knowledge about them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajkumarManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P, Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest
May I thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review subsequent to your visit with us. It is through receiving these comments, both of a positive and negative nature that we can praise, where praise is due and also identify and act on any shortcomings where appropriate to do so.
It was fantastic to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and that in particular you and your family enjoyed the Wild Life Drive
From January next year we are adding a further dimension to the activities we provide with the opening of our brand new Water Sports Centre. This will include PADI 5 Star Scuba Diving followed shortly thereafter by Sailing and Wind Surfing.
Thank you once again for helping us to understand our level of quality provided at the resort and we very much hope look forward to welcoming you back to Desert Island Resort and Spa by Anantara
Yours sincerely
Steven
Steven Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for three nights over Eid al Adha. Although it was a busy time, the resort wasn't crowded, lots of space at the lovely pool, and in the restaurant. The activities were great - we enjoyed archery, kayaking and the nature drive and walk with friendly and knowledgeable guides. We saw lots of animals, but did feel the Scottish deer would be better off at home on a wind swept moor, not baking in the desert. The beach is small and there are barriers to stop erosion, which means you can't really swim in the sea, so it's not the place for a full on beach holiday. Snorkelling was off due to jellyfish as well ( though I would rather be told, than find out for myself!). The resort is quite small by local standards, and with this and the island location, it feels very laid back and relaxed. We found the transfers well organised, but you do need to book the day before when leaving. Only downside is a very long and boring drive from Dubai to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest
May I thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review subsequent to your visit with us. It is through receiving these comments, both of a positive and negative nature that we can praise, where praise is due and also identify and act on any shortcomings where appropriate to do so.
It was fantastic to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and that in particular you enjoyed the many activities that we have on offer. As I have previously mentioned when responding to other guests, we are looking forward to our new Water Sports Centre which will open shortly. This will ensure that we have even more activities for you to enjoy.
You may be pleased to tread that the owning company are currently looking at removing the barriers which as you rightly stated are there to protect the Island. They are investigating into more visually acceptable and equally as effective solutions.
I was sorry to read that you had an unfortunate encounter with a Jelly Fish. We have since put up notices on the beach and since then the numbers have reduced quite considerably.
When you mention the “Scottish” Deer, if you were referring to the dappled brown one’s, these are in fact Axis Deer and they from Sri Lanka. Being a Brit myself, the first time I saw them I felt the same way but was informed that that they are perfectly comfortable living in our Climate.
Thank you once again for helping us to understand our level of quality provided at the resort and we very much hope look forward to welcoming you back to Desert Island Resort and Spa by Anantara
Yours sincerely
Steven
Steven Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A similar experience to PureNZPA below. We stayed over the Eid holiday for 3 days, 2 nights with my mother and son. We were given interconnecting rooms, one a twin the other a King size. The rooms were massive, with great views over the pool and Gulf.

Out trip got off to a bad start. After checking in on the mainland, we expected to go to the hotel have lunch, and get our rooms. The reality was we didn't get our rooms for 4 1/2 hours, and I collected our luggage myself, as I was fed up waiting. When we eventually got our rooms, we didn't have a stocked minibar or any toiletries. We received and apology and some complimentary champagne the next day.

Saying that; the staff are extremely friendly, although they could be trained a bit better. The difference between a 4 star and 5 star facility is in the service, and this was lacking. A simple example is staff not refilling drinks, or asking if you want any more. 

I was also disappointed that water wasn't complementary at the pool, like some of their competitors. 

We enjoyed the trips we went on which were archery, kayaking and the safari. We were lucky enough to see three of the cheetahs. This is the strong point of the resort, and the guides seem to really enjoy their jobs. 

As others have mentioned they need to repair the tiles in the swimming pool as my son cut his foot on the sharp edges. Admittedly his feet were soft with being in the water for a long time. 

In summing up it was an enjoyable break, but expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

+ves:
- Friendly Staff and amazing treatment (we were welcomed with Juice, got complementary cookies, they were happy to bring us bowls of water and lemon slice with towels for each one of us to wash our hands because they ran out of wet napkins!)
- Room size and decoration
- Cleanliness (room, bathroom, towels, sheets, pillows)
- AMAZING GREAT quality of bed, pillows and sheets
- toiletries and fluffy slippers
- Wifi at room
- Complementary late checkout at 4:00 pm!!
- Pool and beach access
- Beach towels and pool area
- Complementary massage at the pool!!
- Variety of activities (Kayaking, hiking, wild safari, horse back-riding, ... etc)
- Graffias and Cheetahs at the wild safari activity!
- Well prepared Jeep for wild safari
- Breakfast! quality food and variety
- Open air mini movie theater


-ves:
- Location! Its about 2:30 hours away from AD
- Over priced activities
- Jelly fishes!!!! but this is not the resort problem!!


All in all:
Nice place for romantic escape, weekend getaway or family activities!

Would recommend it as a one time experience.

Room Tip: Families: Ask for a Villa and make sure they keep the door to the pool opened. Couples: Make sure you get rooms at second floor or higher to enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zainab-AlHussainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest
May I thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review subsequent to your visit with us. It is through receiving these comments, both of a positive and negative nature that we can praise, where praise is due and also identify and act on any shortcomings where appropriate to do so.
I was very happy to tread that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular you felt that the quality of our beds are amazing. The Anantara standards on this have been well thought though and the majority of our resorts have similar mattresses. You may be pleased to hear that we will shortly be introducing a sleep bulter service which will only add to the enjoyment and comfort
You did mention that we are situated 2 ½ hours from Abu Dhabi; I am not sure if you area ware but we now have a 3 days a week flight from Al Bateen Airport and the flight time is 30 minutes. The flights presently fly on Tuesdays, Thursday an Saturdays
Many thanks once again for helping us to understand our level of quality provided at the resort and we very much hope look forward to welcoming you back to Desert Island Resort and Spa by Anantara.
Yours sincerely
Steven
Steven Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Having stayed at other Anantara's we expected something else... something more exclusive and relaxing.
Unfortunately, we ended up visiting Desert Island during the holidays and got off to a wrong start: a packed boat ride (with prams menacing to crush our feet at any moment), a long wait for the bus ride to go to the hotel (again, the bus was packed to the max), then a lunch at the pool with very loud children and crying babies), the impossibility to stay around the pool because of the very numerous young and noisy kids, and the little insonorisation provided by the rooms (wake up is provided by the songs of the many children chanting in the halls).
Well, we asked to transfer to the Qasr Al Sarab, and the very understanding and kind General Manager arranged for everything....
We might return at a more quiet moment when the other Anantara lodges are built...
Keep in mind that activities must be done with at least one adult: our children are 13 and 15, and either my husband or I had to accompany them for the activities (desert walk, mountain biking, game drives....).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007EMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest
May I thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review subsequent to your visit with us. It is through receiving these comments, both of a positive and negative nature that we can praise, where praise is due and also identify and act on any shortcomings where appropriate to do so.
I was sorry to read that you were unable to gain the tranquility and peace that you were looking forward to over the Eid weekend. This time of celebration is very family orientated and yes we did have many children in house. I was though pleased that we were able to transfer you to our sister hotel and that Wael, the General Manager there was able to look after you. He and I liaised closely over this.
I was pleased to read that you would consider coming back at less hectic weekends, of which there are many at our resort
Thank you once again for helping us to understand our level of quality provided at the resort and we very much hope look forward to welcoming you back to Desert Island Resort and Spa by Anantara
Yours sincerely
Steven
Steven Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews